We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short weekday stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #98 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Excellent staff, Firm bed, Excellent food- splendid sirloin steak cooked just right. Super breakfast - tremendous choice- eat as much as you like. Good coffee too. I have mobility problems and the staff took a great deal of trouble to ensure that I had a very suitable room

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolDickson, Operations Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear Tom M,

Thank you for your kind review of our Premier Inn. Its always great to hear about our guests experiences.
I am so glad that the team took good care of you during your stay; I must agree our breakfast is superb.

We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

PP John Boswell

Carol Dickson
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,988)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,716 - 1,722 of 2,988 reviews

Reviewed 13 November 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights. Good location, we walked to Princess street easily a couple of times and there are a number of nice restaurants and pubs just around the corner.

Parking is available for £8 a day and there is a decent sized bar area which seemed to be open til 1 most nights and food being served til around 10.

The rooms were clean and a good size and the staff were very helpful.

Only negative i would have is the lifts.
They didnt seem to work properly and we had to press the buttons 5 or 6 times before the lift actually went anywhere.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nottsgirl87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolDickson, Operations Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear Nottsgirl87,

Thank you for your kind review of our Premier Inn. Its great to hear such positive feedback regarding our team. I'm glad you enjoyed our late night bar area.
Let me take this time to apologise about our lifts, they are used allot due to the amount of guests we have in our hotel. This issue was raised and is has now been sorted. Thank you once again for brining it to my attention.

Kind regards,

PP John Boswell
Carol Dickson
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Stayed for 2 nights, rooms nice although a bit to warm. Staff nice on check in, We were going to the Usher hall so it was handy as it was just round the corner. Not to far to walk into the main town centre.

Room Tip: our room faced the road so there was a little noise on a morning, we were on floor 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Northernlass13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolDickson, Operations Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear Northernlass13,

Thank you for your kind review of our Premier Inn. Its great to hear such positive feedback regarding the team as they all do work very hard to ensure that every guest is well looked after.

I hope you enjoyed the concert at the Usher hall.

Kind regards,

PP John Boswell
Carol Dickson
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Stayed from Friday until Monday, Checking was good and the young man that dealt with us was very professional and welcoming.(sorry cant remember his name) the room we were given was on the 3rd floor looking over the car park at the rear so no real view but that was fine. The room itself was the usual premier standard, very clean.
the location of the Hotel is fairly good about a 15 minute walk to Princess Street and about 10 minutes to Grassmarket.
the only reason I have chosen to give 4 stars instead of 5 is due to t he restaurant.
we had a meal on the Saturday early evening and was not very good. I had a Pizza and that was very good, but my other half had a Sirloin Steak and this was very poor. Not only was it a very thin cut and probably was not the advertised weight, but we asked for it cooked rare and it was served well done. We did call the waitress and explain it was overcooked and of a poor quality but she said ok I will let the kitchen know. but no offer to change it or a reduction in the cost.
Breakfast on the other hand was very good and service was good even on a Sunday morning when the restaurant was full the staff coped really well.
If we return to Edinburgh we would defiantly use this Hotel again but would give the restaurant a miss.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baddy95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolDickson, Operations Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear Baddy95,

Thank you for your review of our Premier Inn. Its great to hear about your experience during your recent stay. We value your feedback and thank you for taking the time to let us know how you feel.

I would like to apologise about the service that you received from our restaurant, this is not the usual standard we strive for however I'm glad you enjoyed your pizza and our Premier Breakfast in the morning.

I will ensure your kind words are passed back on to the team.

Kind regards,

PP John Boswell

Carol Dickson
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Very clean & quiet. 15 minute walk to the Royal mile, so not a bad location. Breakfast was nice, I'm not mad on the sausages though! Evening meal was decent. I would recommend if staying in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KenOB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolDickson, Operations Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear KenOB2013,

Thank you for your kind review of our Premier Inn. I am glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and it was a pleasure to have you staying with us.

Our sausages are not to everyone’s liking, but we also have a veggie sausage on request, which I think you might enjoy more.

Kind regards,

PP John Boswell

Carol Dickson
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

What can you say that's not been said about Premier Inns - They offer really good quality accommodation at a reasonable price. The food is plentiful and adequate and the staff are very helpful and friendly. It's location means it's only a 20 minute walk into Princes Street. If you want a better quality Hotel you would be paying significantly more for not any better facilities.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoffwilz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolDickson, Operations Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear Geoffwilz,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Premier Inn. It really matters to us that our guests give us open and honest feedback. I am glad you enjoyed your time with us here in Edinburgh and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

PP John Boswell

Carol Dickson
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Me and my girlfriend had a very comfortable stay here. The majority of the staff were very friendly, the room was a very good size (along with the bed!!!) and the food was decent (breakfast especially)


  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jasminenewby95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolDickson, Operations Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear Jasminenewby95,

Thank you for your lovely review of our Premier Inn. It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your time in Edinburgh. We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

PP John Boswell

Carol Disckson
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#18 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,317 reviews
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#74 of 151 in Edinburgh
634 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
#96 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,248 reviews
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#88 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,613 reviews
Old Town
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
#70 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh

Address: 1 Morrison Street Link | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH3 8DN, Scotland (Formerly Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket))
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#36 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#40 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#51 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £55 - £220 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arts or culture? Sports, shopping, or famous festivals? It's all on offer at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh. Set in the heart of historic Edinburgh, you're just minutes from all the sights and sounds of this lively city. And if you're here to work, we're close to key business destinations like Edinburgh International Conference Centre, too. Be king of the hill at Edinburgh Castle. Let out your wild side at Edinburgh Zoo. Cheer on your team at Murrayfield stadium. And, if it's the right time of year, seek out the strange at the Fringe Festival, or join the party at Hogmanay. And when you're ready to recharge, our tasty restaurant, spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds will be ready to welcome you. We offer 15 accessible rooms for people with disabilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket) Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Premier Inn
Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing