We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #93 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Dursley
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect ”
Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

We recently spent a two night stay at the Haymarket Premier inn. The first thing you notice from booking inn is just how fabulous & friendly the staff are. They couldn't have done more for us, they were charming everytime we spoke to someone or even passed s memeber of staff in the hallways. The hotel itself was exactly what you expect from a Premier inn, it was very clean & well presented. The on site restaurant was just fantastic, we ended up having both our evening meals there as the food was just fabulous. There was a lot of choice, & everything was really well presented. The staff once again were lovely & very attentive. The hotel is situated in an ideal positstion for both the train station & the airport bus. All in all we had a lovely stay & are planning on coming back next year with the children.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KatIves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolDickson, Operations Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Katlves,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at the Premier Inn Edinburgh Haymarket. My team & I as so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us & we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind regards
Carol Dickson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,819 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,054
    1,134
    418
    147
    66
See reviews for
705
1,055
148
321
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (422)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We took advantage of a great deal and stayed for three nights at £29 per night, which is brilliant.
From entering the front door we were greeted by very pleasant young staff who had obviously been well trained. They didn't give just a 'list' of things to say to customers but seemed natural and interested. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet, which is what we have come to expect from Premier Inn. It was great to find that we could leave our car at the back of the hotel for £8 a day and walk. To try and drive anywhere in Edinburgh now is just daft.
The restaurant meal in the evening was ok, but I would suggest that there are plenty of places to eat within a 15 minutes walk.
On the down side, the lifts were unpredictable - felt a bit concerned about getting stuck! Also for the 3 nights we were there, the car parking ticket machine, the drinks machine and the ice cream machine were all out of use. However, we didn't want to use any of them so we were fine.
I would definitely come here again. There are so many places at this end of the city to get to know e.g. The Scottish Galleries of Modern Art and Dean Village. Fabulous!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geogteacher01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolDickson, Operations Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Geogteacher01,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback about your stay with us. We take all feedback seriously and the concerns with the lifts & vending machines have been addressed with our maintenance department.

Geogteacher01, thank you so much & we at Premier Inn Edinburgh Haymarket wish you all the very best & hope to see you again.

Many thanks
Carol Dickson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wick, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Spent three nights in this hotel last week. staff were courteous and helpful. food was good but not spectacular; hotel and room were both clean though it was hard to get the room temperature to regulate. hotel is convenient for everything that we wanted to do and we would stay here again without question.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billferguson51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolDickson, Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear billferguson51,

Thank you for your kind review of our Premier Inn. Its great to hear such good feedback regarding you our team, we work very hard to ensure that all our guests are well looked after. I'm sorry to hear you where unable to control the heating with ease; our team are on hand 24-hours and will be happy to help should you have any further situations.

We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

PP John Boswell
Carol Dickson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

My wife and I stayed on the recommendation of a friend. We were only there one night to have dinner with some friends. Location is great for the city centre and just a short walk from Haymarket station.
The staff were excellent, much better than a lot of more expensive hotels. They could not do enough for you and recommended a great pub before we had our meal.
Rooms are large and very clean. Bar was good enough for a final night cap.
Breakfast was very good and again great service.
This hotel is excellent value but more so for a city centre.
The manager should be very proud of his staff.

Room Tip: Try to get a room at the back away from the main road. It is a late night city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marktbu711n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolDickson, Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Marktbu711n,

Thank you so much for your lovely review of our Premier Inn. Its great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us, It was a pleasure to have you as our guests during your visit to Edinburgh.
I will ensure that your kind words regarding our team are well shared.

We hope to see you again next time you are in Edinburgh.

Kind regards,

PP John Boswell
Carol Dickson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Second time I have stayed at this hotel. It is easy to find if you use the Airport link bus and get off at the haymarket station. The room was quiet, comfortable and well equipped as you come to expect at Premier Inns but the outstanding thing at this one was the genuinely helpful and friendly staff. They must see thousands of guests but treat everyone as an individual and even better they were all local people with plenty of local knowledge. They helped us to use the local buses and helped with printing our flight boarding passes, all with a smile! Very refreshing.

Room Tip: Higher rooms at the front have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolDickson, Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Claridgediane,

Thank you for your review of our Premier Inn. It’s so good to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Its so refreshing to hear how the team treated you. We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

PP John Boswell
Carol Dickson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millom, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

From the minute we entered to the time we left everything was excellent! the staff were excellent from requests for more pillows, to where to catch buses from, nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was excellent, plenty of choice as much as u wanted and extended times ( up til 10-30am!!) the bed was extremely comfortable and lovely pillows( the best ever in a hotel) and lovely crisp bed linen!
Although this hotel is big and in a busy area the lack of noise was amazing.
The room was big and even had a sofa , the bathroom was a decent size, and the shower was second to none, the only downer and this is not a complaint , the fan in the bathroom was a trifle noisy.
Location was superb, 10-15 mins walk from Princes street and all the buses!
All in all a most pleasing and pleasant stay and wont hesitate to use a premier Inn again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolDickson, Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Anita,

Thank you for your kind review of our Premier Inn. Its great to hear such good feedback regarding our team. I am so pleased to hear that you found our beds to be so comfortable.
Thank you for raising the issues with the fan in your room, this has now been resolved.

Hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

PP John Boswell
Carol Dickson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

I booked the Premier Inn, Haymarket because it was one of the hotels available on their £29 a night room promotion. We stayed four nights - one night at the £29 rate and three at £35 per night.
I have to say that at that price, my expectations were not high.
How wrong I was. From the moment we arrived the reception staff were friendly, courteous, helpful and efficient.
Our room (305) on the third floor was spacious, comfortable and clean. I couldn't believe how little we had paid for such quality. The view was over a car park but it was quiet. The bed and bed linen were absolutely top notch. Tea and coffee making facilities were very welcome. If you needed an iron and ironing board there was a communal one available on each floor in a cupboard by the lifts.
The en-suite was a good size and also clean. The shower pressure wasn't the best but it was perfectly acceptable. The toilet was sometimes difficult to flush - on occasions requiring two or three flushes to clear it.
Two very minor issues were reported to reception - light bulb failed in en-suite and room not serviced when we returned to it at 3.30pm on our last day.
These issues were dealt with promptly, efficiently and courteously on both occasions. I have stayed in Hotels of all grades and the staff at this Premier Inn are up there with the best of them.
We first arrived at the hotel at about 6.30pm after a total of about 6 hours on a train. We were very tired and so we decided to eat at the Premier Inn restaurant.
The food and service was really good. We had the Chicken Makhani curry and a New Yorker Pizza. The food and wine was very reasonably priced.
The location of the hotel was very good. Although not right in the City centre, you could walk to the main shopping area of Princes Street within a 10 minute stroll. The Castle and Royal Mile were about a 20-25 minute walk. There are lots of restaurants within a 1- 5 minute walk of the hotel.
The all you can eat cooked buffet breakfast was good value at £8.25 each. Unlimited tea and coffee of a good quality from a Costa freshly ground coffee machine. Unlimited fresh fruit juice was also good quality. The back bacon and sausages were good and there were mushrooms beans, tinned and fresh fried tomatoes and hash browns. The fried eggs suffered by not being freshly cooked - they are never at their best from a buffet. However, if you wished, when you were being seated, you were given the option to have freshly poached or boiled eggs. Freshly made porridge was also offered.
Having read previous reviews about queues for the breakfast - I was pleased to see that in the lift there was a colour coded time chart to indicate which were the busiest times - what a good idea. We utilised that information and went for breakfast at 9.30am each day and never had to queue or wait for a table.
My only criticism of the breakfast is that the hot food items were just lukewarm, but I know it's difficult to keep food hot on a buffet without spoiling it.
That said, we enjoyed our breakfast experience - by the time we had had 2-3 mugs of coffee each and a couple of juices - we wouldn't be far off the £8.25 price at nearby cafe's. When you add on a full cooked breakfast price with toast on top of that you realise just what good value the Premier breakfast is. A cheaper Premier continental breakfast option was also available.

Well done Premier Inn Haymarket - you have won-over two customers who would heartily recommend you to others. If these standards are typical of Premier Inn nationally - I shall certainly look to book with them in future.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthur_Tash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolDickson, Operations Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear Grubens,

Thank you for you kind review of our Premier Inn. Its great to hear such great feedback, I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and found us to be such good value. Please let me apologise for the few small issues you had, our team try very hard to ensure any unexpected issues that arise are dealt with as promptly and as smoothly as possible. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed the food from our onsite restaurant, The Makhani Curry is also one on my favourites.

I will ensure your kind words are passed back on to the team.

Kind regards,

PP John Boswell
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#69 of 149 in Edinburgh
574 reviews
Old Town
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
#76 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Old Town
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
#115 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,921 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#35 of 149 in Edinburgh
4,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh

Property: Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 1 Morrison Street Link | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH3 8DN, Scotland (Formerly Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket))
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#36 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#40 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#50 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arts or culture? Sports, shopping, or famous festivals? It's all on offer at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh. Set in the heart of historic Edinburgh, you're just minutes from all the sights and sounds of this lively city. And if you're here to work, we're close to key business destinations like Edinburgh International Conference Centre, too. Be king of the hill at Edinburgh Castle. Let out your wild side at Edinburgh Zoo. Cheer on your team at Murrayfield stadium. And, if it's the right time of year, seek out the strange at the Fringe Festival, or join the party at Hogmanay. And when you're ready to recharge, our tasty restaurant, spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds will be ready to welcome you. We offer 15 accessible rooms for people with disabilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket) Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Premier Inn
Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing