We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What's not to like”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #93 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“What's not to like”
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here whilst we were in Edinburgh to go to murrayfield for the rugby. All premier inns are comfy and great value and thus is no different. Breakfast is good value but there are other good looking cafés nearby which offer the same choices. It's really well positioned and east to get to, will stay here again definitely.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank nursepete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolDickson, Operations Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Nursepete,

Thank you so much for your review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us & you had a good time at the rugby. We do hope that you will come back and stay with us soon.

Many thanks
Carol Dickson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,748 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,038
    1,109
    400
    140
    61
See reviews for
686
1,037
146
304
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Booked for two nights. Good value for money. Clean and had no problems.
Staff friendly. Food fine for family dining and average price. Would definitely stay here again.
Easy to walk into centre of Edinburgh so no need to take car or bus.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaW436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolDickson, Operations Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear LindaW436,

Thank you so much for telling us about your recent stay with us at Premier Edinburgh Haymarket. It remains our main objective to provide a high standard of service and we’re so pleased you feel we achieved this. We look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn very soon. Thanks once again for taking the time to review your stay.

Many thanks
Carol Dickson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 November 2013

recently stayed in here for a mid week 2 night stay. The location is ideal to roam the city center. The staff on reception where all I had interactions with and were very friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. I never normally stay in large branded hotels as I find them faceless but was very pleasantly surprised while here. Room was bright and well light with and very comfortable.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank haboybert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolDickson, Operations Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear haboybert,

Thanks for taking the time to review your stay with. Your feedback is very important to us and we are delighted that you had a comfortable stay. Your comments will be very well received by all our team members as they are committed to giving our guests the best possible service. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Many thanks
Carol Dickson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Good location short walk from the bus stop from the airport,( Bus stops at Haymarket Station) Check in efficient, Room ok but basic as usual, Dinner was ok but basic, the price did reflect this. Breakfast was Ok and plenty there, the fruit was tinned and slightly sour in taste. All in all good value for money

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dlhdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolDickson, Operations Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear dihdon,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay at the Premier Inn Edinburgh Haymarket. Your feedback is very much appreciated & your comments have been noted and will be followed up by the management team.

Kind regards
Carol Dickson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We stayed here for a few days in November. The staff were polite, the food nice but could have been more choice on the menu..would have liked fillet steak but they only did Sirloin and Rump.. (they have Fillet in the Premier inn Switch Island which is to die for).
A pleasant stay but I could not sleep.. the room was way to warm and this was November.. there was fan in the room which I switched on but the noise then kept me awake.. We only stayed two nights but we were too tired the first day (after being tossing and turning all night) to go on the Ghost tour so gave it a miss. This let it down a bit and would put me off staying again Im afraid..

Room Tip: Dont think it had swimming pool?
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronniekelly222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolDickson, Operations Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear ronniekelly 22,

Thanks for your feedback. At Premier Inn we endeavour to offer the best value quality stay. All feedback both positive and negative is investigated and acted upon to ensure we are offering our customers the best possible service. We are sorry that your room was hot and you did not have a comfortable nights sleep. At Premier Inn it really matters to us that you enjoy your stay and that is why we guarantee your comfort. Your comments have been noted and will be duly followed up with the Management Team. Once again thank you for your review.

Thank you
Carol Dickson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
292 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed here for my sisters hen do, the room was nice and big and the hotel was clean and well maintained with good facilities and the staff were helpful and very friendly. The breakfast buffet is quite reasonably priced (compared to most other hotels) and the standard of food is quite good considering the price.

A few negatives, the wifi is only free for a limited amount of time (about 30 mins( and then you have to pay which is pretty shocking in this day and age, there were only 2 plug sockets in our entire twin room (in an inconvenient location) which was annoying and is blatantly a ploy to reduce electricity use by guests and the imperial leather dispenser stuck to the the shower dispensed barely enough shower gel to wash one arm pit, leaving me ramming it like mad to get the teensiest bits of gel out. I know the Premier Inn is a budget chain but to be honest the price of our room wasn't particularly "budget" so I expect a decent amount of soap to wash myself with! Things like that make me feel like the company are rinsing its customers for maximum profit!

The hotel is a pretty decent walk to the city centre's main attractions (about 20-30 mins to the Royal Mile) so you may end up spending a fair bit of money on cabs if you don't walking which is something to take into account.

All in all we had a lovely stay however if I was booking a room myself I probably would choose an independent hotel as the cost saving measures employed by Premier inn are thinly veiled and give the brand a "cheap" feel. This however is not a reflection on the staff at this hotel as they were wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_Ramjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolDickson, Operations Manger at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Mrs_Ramjam

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay. At Premier Inn it remains our main objective to offer a high standard of quality and service, and we do apologise that on this occasion we failed to do this. Please be assured that your feedback is much valued by us as we endeavour to improve standards and meet all our customer’s needs. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Many thanks
Carol Dickson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochford, Essex, UK
Level Contributor
51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

A last minute business trip to Edinburgh in August is always going to find limited choice and despite working outside the City the Premier Inn Haymarket was the only option. The hotel is a standard Premier Inn - has been open for a number of year and so the rooms could be viewed as "dated" but are clean and comfortable. The only compliant about the room was it was a bit too warm and the small windows did not let much air in. The Hotel attracts coach parties so 2 of the 3 mornings I was there when I went to breakfast at 6.30 to get to work the breakfast room was mobbed by coach parties. The final day when they were not there the service was much quicker - maybe they should be told to wait until later say 7am so those who want to get in and out quickly can do. That said the breakfast was very nice and good value - especially on a meal deal.

Well placed for transport - albeit not when I stayed as the tram works were going on but these are now cleared. Haymarket station is a few mins away with buses and trains and soon to be trams to all parts of the city and beyond.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UK_Yankee_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolDickson, operations manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear UK_Yankee_fan,

Thank you for your review. At Premier Inn Edinburgh Haymarket it remains our main objective to deliver a high level of service in all our establishments, and we do apologise that on this occasion we failed to do this. Please be assured that we take all feedback seriously and on receipt of your details, the issues raised will be fully investigated and duly followed up by the Management Team at the hotel. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Many thanks
Carol Dickson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#83 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 779 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
West End
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Apex Haymarket Hotel
#72 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,020 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh

Property: Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 1 Morrison Street Link | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH3 8DN, Scotland (Formerly Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket))
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#36 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#40 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arts or culture? Sports, shopping, or famous festivals? It's all on offer at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh. Set in the heart of historic Edinburgh, you're just minutes from all the sights and sounds of this lively city. And if you're here to work, we're close to key business destinations like Edinburgh International Conference Centre, too. Be king of the hill at Edinburgh Castle. Let out your wild side at Edinburgh Zoo. Cheer on your team at Murrayfield stadium. And, if it's the right time of year, seek out the strange at the Fringe Festival, or join the party at Hogmanay. And when you're ready to recharge, our tasty restaurant, spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds will be ready to welcome you. We offer 15 accessible rooms for people with disabilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket) Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Premier Inn
Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing