We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #92 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great value, great location”
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Predictable, good standard, quiet rooms (top floor/at the back especially), good breakfast, really near Haymarket Station. Some good restaurants nearby and good parking right at the hotel. Obliging staff if there's a problem


  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fionahun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolDickson, Operations Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Fionahun,

Thank you for your review of our Premier Inn, it really means allot to us that you took the time to share your experiences with us. I am so glad to hear that your enjoyed your stay with us, it was a pleasure to have you as our guests and we do hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

PP John Boswell

Carol Dickson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,042
    1,113
    404
    140
    63
See reviews for
688
1,042
146
307
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Stayed here after attending a function. Price was cheaper than a taxi and for that got a lovely, big, clean, room with no worries about getting home late at night. I would definitely consider staying here again after nights out.


  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agatha88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolDickson, Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear Agatha88,

Thank you for your lovely review of our Premier Inn, it was a pleasure having you as our guests. We would love to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

John Boswell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 February 2014

Arrived at hotel from airport on Airlink 100 bus, 25 minutes, and £7.00 each for open return.Bus stops at Haymarket Rail Station 5 minutes walk to Premier Inn. Too early to check in, so receptionist offered us a secure baggage storage room, which meant we could set off to look around the city centre. We were able to use it again on the day of check out which gave us another full day to look around, as we had a latish flight.
We decided to walk to the castle, easy flat walk in around 20 minutes, easy access from hotel to all city sights. Day ticket for the plentiful Lothian buses was £3.50 and we travelled to Leith and Portobello using this.
We didn't eat in the evenings in the hotel, the Haymarket pub on the corner by the station served good food at reasonable prices, £8.50 - £13.95 for good portion size main course.Cask ales kept really well and good variety. Bar staff very pleasant. and welcoming.
Another pub Ryries on opposite corner serves Full Breakfast for £4.50, quite good, but the hotels all you can eat buffet breakfast at £8.25 is a good deal for second helpings of food and beverages.
Bed was extremely comfortable, our room 417 faced out over a temporary car park/building site, this did not present any problems, small bit of noise in hotel on the first night Sunday, but as it is a large hotel it is to be expected. Room was clean and well maintained. I would have no hesitation in recommending it to friends/family and would definitely stay again.
The staff in reception, and the restaurant were the most friendly, cheerful and helpful people you could wish to meet, we have used Premier Inns in lots of places, but the staff in the Haymarket Premier deserve a very big thank you for making our stay so pleasant. Well done Haymarket Premier Inn.

Room Tip: 417 is to the front, on the top floor overlooking what is to become a building project. We had no co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank catwoman220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolDickson, Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 16 February 2014
Dear catwoman220,

Thank you for taking the time to review our Premier Inn, it really means allot to us that you could share your thoughts. I am so glad your enjoyed your stay with us and I will be sure to pass on your kind comments back on to the team.

Edinburgh really is a fantastic city and we are glad you shared your time with us, it was a pleasure to have you as our guests and we do hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

John Boswell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2014

Premier Inn at Haymarket provided everything for a comfortable stay in Edinburgh. Great room, great value, clean, good food and bar facilities. Adjacent to Haymarket station with regular trains to Waverley station

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AFS1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolDickson, Team Leader at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kind review of our Premier Inn, its great to hear such good feedback regarding out team. I will ensure your kind comments are passed on.

We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

John Boswell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed two nights in this big Premier Inn. Short queue to book in. Cheerful attentive staff. The room was spotlessly clean and a very good size including sofa and Kingsize bed. Since the hotel was full to capacity there were a few times overnight when we heard noisy tipsy guests returning to their rooms. This is to be expected in such a large budget hotel though so nothing to bad. Didn't sample food as we used Cafe Station over the road for a better value breakfast

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cooper1258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolDickson, Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear Cooper1258,

Thank you for your kind review of our Premier Inn, It was a pleasure to have you as our guests and I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Please accept my apologise regarding the slight noise issues you experienced during the night, as you said this can happen enjoy themselves a bit too much.

We hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

PP

John Boswell

Carol Dickson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bingley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

One of the better looking, larger PI's, modern and close enough to Edinburgh touristy bits without being right in the mix. I would have to stay again to give a more accurate review as I only stayed the one night on business and didn't get back to the room til 5am (business, certainly not pleasure :-) ). I checked in at mid-day prior to my mega shift, and check in was pleasant given that I was early (she went out of her way to make sure my room was ready). Room was nice and would have sufficed if I had stayed there longer. Morning staff were friendly and breakfast was a pleasant buffet affair in nice surroundings. Would definitely stay again and this is the type of place I would like to take the wife and sprogs if we ever did the touristy thing. Close to financial district.

Room Tip: recommended - 15 mins walk from Princes St.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndyMac1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolDickson, Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear AndyMac1965 ,

Thank you for your kind review of our Premier Inn, I am so glad to hear your enjoyed your stay with us.

Its lovely to hear that you would bring the family next time; we would love to have them. Hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

PP

John Boswell

Carol Dickson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

This hotel was perfectly functional, spotlessly clean and the staff were all very warm and welcoming. The hotel is in good location, only a few minutes walk from the train station and very close to the bars and restraunts. The reason we wouldn't return was the noise we experienced from the street. We stayed a Thursday and Friday night, the Thurs was fine but the Friday night was a nightmare. The hotel is very convenient for the bars which I assume is why it attracts groups of stag and hen party's. We were in room 431 which is a huge room right on the corner of the very busy street. We were kept awake by seriously noisy people outside shouting and screaching till after 4am. We also heard bins being moved about around 2am but I think this was probably just the drunk stag party messing about outside. I know this was just bad timing and not the fault of the hotel, but there are small steps could be taken such as double glazing to keep out street noise.
It really is a shame that we had such a bad night otherwise the review would have been very different.

I can't stress enough that the hotel staff were great and the location. Our stay was only spoiled by the lack of sleep.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Missglobetrotter860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolDickson, Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear Missglobetrotter860,

Thank you for your kind review, I am sorry you feel like you would not return as it was a pleasure having you as our guests.
Please let me apologise for the noise experienced during your stay, our reception team do all they can to ensure all noise issues are dealt with as best as possible. As this was external noise from the hotel, this can be an issue, as we do not have complete control over this.

Premier Inn do operate a good night guarantee policy, where we will ensure all our guests you feel brilliant through a great nights sleep. I would like to talk to you about this matter in more detail if you would be so kind to contact me direct.

We do hope you come back and stay with us again, where our team will be sure to allocate you a quite room.

Kind regards,

John Boswell
TeamLeader.EdinburghHaymarket@Whitbread.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Haymarket Hub Hotel
Haymarket Hub Hotel
#141 of 148 in Edinburgh
22 reviews
West End
Fountain Court Apartments - Grove Executive
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
#114 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,821 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#34 of 148 in Edinburgh
4,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh

Property: Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 1 Morrison Street Link | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH3 8DN, Scotland (Formerly Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket))
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#36 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#40 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#50 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arts or culture? Sports, shopping, or famous festivals? It's all on offer at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh. Set in the heart of historic Edinburgh, you're just minutes from all the sights and sounds of this lively city. And if you're here to work, we're close to key business destinations like Edinburgh International Conference Centre, too. Be king of the hill at Edinburgh Castle. Let out your wild side at Edinburgh Zoo. Cheer on your team at Murrayfield stadium. And, if it's the right time of year, seek out the strange at the Fringe Festival, or join the party at Hogmanay. And when you're ready to recharge, our tasty restaurant, spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds will be ready to welcome you. We offer 15 accessible rooms for people with disabilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket) Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Premier Inn
Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing