We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice for a short break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #92 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
n.ireland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Good choice for a short break”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

My daughter and her family invited us to join them on their half term break in Edinburgh. We got the Airlink bus from the airport great value at £7 return . We had a short walk from the bus stop at Haymarket to the hotel . We arrived quite early but were allowed to check in even thought the check in time was 2pm My daughter had booked two family rooms for herself and as we wanted to be on the same floor we accepted a disabled room even thought we didn't require it . The room was on the first floor near the lifts and was fine . The bed was lower than normal as was the sink in the bathroom and there were plenty of hand rails I would say if you were disabled you would find this room well equipped .. The bathroom is like myself showing its age . Toiletries are provided, great if you are only bringing hand luggage The bedroom had tea and coffee making facilities a TV and hair dryer and the windows opened . There is no air conditioning but after all we are in Scotland . We had breakfast in the hotel each morning good value at £8.25 with fresh fruit, cereals, porridge and the usual bacon sausage, hash browns, mushrooms, tomatoes and beans. We eat out each evening in excellent nearby restaurants I can recommend Mc Kirdys and the Atelier just around the corner.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank galavantinggranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolDickson, Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Galavantinggranny,

Thank you so much for your kind review of our Premier Inn, its great to hear how much fun you had while you where with us during half term. I am glad you enjoyed our breakfasts the team do work hard to ensure you are set up for a good day.

We hope the next time you are in Edinburgh you come and see us!

Kind regards,

PP

John Boswell

Carol Dickson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,766 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,042
    1,114
    406
    140
    64
See reviews for
689
1,042
146
308
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Me and my partner visited this lovely hotel in November, 2013. The staff were friendly and willing to help out. Lovely staff also in the restaurant in the morning when we meet for breakfast. Excellent car parking prices too for Edinburgh city centre.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolDickson, Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Robert K,

Thank you for your kind review of our Premier Inn, its great to hear such good feedback regarding the team. I will ensure your kind comments are passed on.

Hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

PP

John Boswell

Carol Dickson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

Yet again PTI deliver high quality, comfortable & value for money hotel accommodation. I'm a regular user of PTIs all over the country. Only 'complaint' I could have is the food wasn't the best I've had but I still enjoyed my visit nonetheless.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Andyday1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolDickson, Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Andyday1971,

Thank you for your kind review of our Premier Inn, Its great to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our team took care of you.

Please let me apologise regarding your experience within the restaurant, if you would be so kind to Email me with the info and I can look into this as soon as possible. This is not the usual standard we aim to provide.

Hope to hear from you soon!

Kind regards,

PP

John Boswell
TeamLeader.EdinburghHaymarket@Whitbread.com

Carol Dickson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

This was our second time staying at the Haymarket Premier Inn - again, great service at reception, a spotlessly clean room and comfy beds. We ate in the restaurant for dinner - very impressed, and I had one of the best burgers I've ever had (I ordered the 'full house' burger). Our waitress Grace was fantastic and deserves a special mention - she was really friendly and professional and we had great service, and she was lovely to our 10 yr old daughter - very impressed with her, and with the breakfast waiter (didn't get his name, sadly).
Downsides - we went back down to the Costa in the bar to buy hot chocolates later in the evening, but were told the hot milk machine wasn't working, so we couldn't have any (why couldn't they heat milk in a microwave or pan like you would at home? they weren't busy). Also various vending machines were out of order, and the same at the breakfast buffet - a shame they couldn't get these things fixed.
It would also be much more comfortable if they provided cushions in the rooms - there's no sofa in the family rooms, so if you're sat on the bed watching telly, it's really uncomfortable just using a pillow. Overall though, a very pleasant stay and I'd happily go again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iona_car
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolDickson, Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Iona_car,

Thank you for your kind review of our Premier Inn, Its great to hear such good feedback regarding your stay. I’m sure Grace and the team where more than happy they could have helped look after you.

Please accept my apologises regarding the hot chocolate, on this occasion due to heath & safety issues we would not be able to heat the milk in any other way.

I have taken on board your comments and will ensure these are resolved for your next visit.

Hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

PP

John Boswell

Carol Dickson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I stayed here for 5 nights with my 8 year old daughter for a girlie trip away. We have never been away without the rest of the family so was a little worried but the staff were great. Even able to tell me which bus I needed and where the bus stop was. Very knowledgable.
It is a perfect location for the major tourist spots in the city.
The room was well maintained the staff were incredibly helpful and we enjoyed our stay. Have already recommended the hotel to friends.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ginitabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolDickson, Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Ginitabs,

Thank you for your lovely review of our Premier Inn. Its great to hear such good feedback regarding. I am so please our team took good care of you during your girlie trip.

We do hope to see you again the next time you are in Edinburgh!

Kind regards,

PP John Boswell

Carol Dickson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Hassle free and friendly with excellent location for this beautiful vibrant city.staff informative and always available .stones throw to main rail links and murryfield stadium .excellent pubs and restaurants in walking distance and plenty of buses and taxis into city centre and some excellent shopping . Plenty of art and heritage and real sense of Scotland and Scottish history



  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolDickson, Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Keith B,

Thank you for your kind review of our Premier Inn. Its great to hear how much you enjoyed Edinburgh.

We hope the next time you visit Edinburgh, you will come see us again.

Kind regards,

PP John Boswell

Carol Dickson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Once again Premier inn delivered for a short break (we have stayed at a few). A 4 night stay on the 4th floor at the Haymarket premier inn. A good location for the railway station (Haymarket not Waverley) and a 10-15 mins walk into Edinburgh town centre (Princes Street). If you want to be in the thick of it then probably pick the Premier Inn on Princes Street.

Our room was exactly as Lenny Henry advertises, clean, warm and a comfy bed all you need as a tourist, something to return to after a hard day on your feet.

All staff were friendly on the front desk and we were pleased that that offered to look after our bags post checkout but before we needed to leave the city, this gave us a bags free last day in Edinburgh.

Our loyalty to Premier Inn remains

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank condo_67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolDickson, Manager at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear condo_67,

Thank you for your kind review of our Premier Inn, its great to hear such good feedback regarding your stay. I will ensure you kind comments are passed back on to the team.

Hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

PP John Boswell

Carol Dickson
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Haymarket Hub Hotel
Haymarket Hub Hotel
#141 of 148 in Edinburgh
27 reviews
Old Town
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
#115 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,827 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
West End
Fountain Court Apartments - Grove Executive
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#85 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh

Property: Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 1 Morrison Street Link | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH3 8DN, Scotland (Formerly Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket))
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#36 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#40 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#50 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arts or culture? Sports, shopping, or famous festivals? It's all on offer at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh. Set in the heart of historic Edinburgh, you're just minutes from all the sights and sounds of this lively city. And if you're here to work, we're close to key business destinations like Edinburgh International Conference Centre, too. Be king of the hill at Edinburgh Castle. Let out your wild side at Edinburgh Zoo. Cheer on your team at Murrayfield stadium. And, if it's the right time of year, seek out the strange at the Fringe Festival, or join the party at Hogmanay. And when you're ready to recharge, our tasty restaurant, spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds will be ready to welcome you. We offer 15 accessible rooms for people with disabilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket) Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Premier Inn
Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing