We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding customer service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket)

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket)
Ranked #90 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
kilmarnock
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Outstanding customer service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Second time we have used a Premier Inn, first, Newcastle in January, Excellent. Second Haymarket Edinburgh, Outstanding customer service. Long time since we had staff who seemed genuinely interested in their guests. From reception, restaurant through to room staff they were all so helpful and chatty. Breakfast buffet was very clean, well presented and appetising, even an ordered breakfast brought to table with a smile. Well done Premier Inn, you could show the big names a thing or two, we will be staying with you again next month.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boxer1van
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KieranCollins, Reception Shift Leader at Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket), responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear boxer1van

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at Premier Inn, Edinburgh Haymarket.

It is always a pleasure for us to receive positive feedback and to see that we have been able to deliver a great experience for our guests.

I can see from your feedback that you enjoyed your stay in so many different ways, from the reception, restaurant and housekeeping staff to the presentation and experience of our breakfast buffet.

The genuine interest taken by our staff in our guests is given the highest priority and we are glad that this was reflected during your stay with us.

We are delighted that you are coming to stay with us next month and look forward to welcoming you back.

Thanks once again for your lovely review.

Kind Regards,

Kieran Collins
Reception Shift Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,725 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,034
    1,099
    393
    139
    60
See reviews for
683
1,025
144
300
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
81 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights at start of a weeks holiday in Scotland. Just what you would expect from a national chain. Good basic price - but be careful as parking £8.00 a day and breakfast is on top. Breakfast help yourself - restaurant staff very good but quite a small restaurant area for amount of rooms so they had to work really hard to keep things moving (which they did with a smile). Reception staff excellent and really helpful.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Catherine I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KieranCollins, Reception Shift Leader at Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket), responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Catherine I,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us at Premier Inn, Edinburgh Haymarket.

I am absolutely delighted to see your comments regarding our restaurant and reception team. I will make sure that your comments regarding them and the positive impact they had on your stay are passed on.

You are correct that parking at the hotel comes at an extra cost, we en devour to keep this price to a minimum for our guests as much as possible. With rising car park prices across the city and the recent closure of some large car parks in the area, we hope that our prices reflect our dedication to ensuring all our guests get the best value for money and that their experience with us is as enjoyable as possible.

Thank you once again for taking the time to write a review and I hope the rest of your weeks holiday in Scotland was a memorable one and I look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Kieran Collins
Reception Shift Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

A great location; felt comfortable and had everything you need for a couple of days. Shame about the mattresses being so hard... not a good night's sleep. Breakfast is a tad expensive but good if you are really hungry.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IALK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KieranCollins, Reception Shift Leader at Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket), responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear IALK,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel.

I am glad that you found our location and that you felt you had everything you could need for your couple of days away in Edinburgh.

I'm sorry to hear of your experience with your bed, It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay and encourage our guests to contact us at reception to help ensure you have a great night sleep.

There are occassions that guests wish to be moved to a more suitable room for their needs and we try our hardest to make sure we keep our guests as happy as possible. Should you should to stay with us in the future please do not hesitate to raise any concerns you may have with ourselves at reception.

Kind Regards,

Kieran Collins
Reception Shift Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

This Premier Inn is not up to the standard of many of the others I stay at on business. It must be due for refurbishment, rooms and fittings and tv are all looked a bit tired.
I would suggest you stay at another such as Lauriston place.
Although the food is ok, The restaurant is not big enough for this large hotel. If you want a meal in the restaurant, book a table or you will not get food.
Ok for business stay

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Speedy3333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KieranCollins, Reception Shift Leader at Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket), responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Speedy 3333,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at our hotel. It really matters to us that our guests enjoy every aspect of their stay. We sincerely apologise that on this occasion our hotel did not meet your expectations. Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards.

If you wish to discuss this any further please don't hesitate to contact me at teamleader.edinburghhaymarket@whitbread.com

Kind Regards,

Kieran Collins
Reception Shift Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

This hotel is within walking distance of good food, great pubs and all the attractions of the Castle and Princess Street. Rooms were very reasonably priced. Think in this case we got 'more than what we paid for' as we were very pleasantly surprised by all the services and amenities available.

Room Tip: Think they are all the same - cookie cutter model
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackie358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KieranCollins, Reception Shift Leader at Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket), responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear Jackie358,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback on your recent stay with us at Premier Inn, Edinburgh Haymarket.

I am delighted to hear that you had such a wonderful time with us and that you felt you got more than what you paid for. I'm also very pleased you enjoyed the many great pubs and restaurants the local area has to offer, along with the Castle and Princes Street.

I hope you will come back and visit us again soon.

Kind Regards,

Kieran Collins
Reception Shift Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

A bit too far away from main area for our liking. description said just a few minutes away from all sights! I think a good 10 mins minimum if you walk fast but with a family much longer. then to get to the other end off princess street another 10 to 15 mins. You really need a bus. Thats our only problem really. will look to stay in a different location next time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank steadyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KieranCollins, Reception Shift Leader at Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket), responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear steadyboy,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and review your stay with us.

I'm sorry to hear that the description of our hotel stated you were a couple of minutes away from all the sights. I would be very interested to know where this description is advertised as that would need to be removed or amended.

You are quite correct to state that we are around a 10 minute walk from Princes Street, the main road of Edinburgh City Centre and the modern day high street for shopping, drinking, eating and tourist activities.

As an historic city, Edinburgh has many sights and tourist attractions that stretches from the mile long Princes Street, through the 1.6 miles of the Royal Mile to our east, the 3 miles it takes to travel to the Royal Yacht Britannia in Leith to our south and the 3/4 of a mile to Murrayfield and 1 mile to Edinburgh Zoo in our west.

Walking through Edinburgh is a very unique experience in itself, however reception are always on hand to give advice and accurate up to date information regarding the numerous tourist destinations in all directions of our location. With the largest municipal bus company in the United Kingdom, traveling via bus can be of benefit wherever you are in and around the City Centre.

I'm sorry that on this occassion you were not given the correct information. Should you chose to stay with us in the future our reception team would be more than happy to assist you on your activities throughout our city.

Kind Regards,

Kieran Collins
Reception Shift Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
244 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Good location, nice rooms and easy parking. Let down by the fact that in my two night stay the room wasn't cleaned. When I asked to have it done (5pm by now) a cleaner arrived whilst I was showering so asked her if she could come back later when I was out, she said yes to this but the room never got done. I had to hunt the corridors for another cleaner for some fresh towels.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mallyduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KieranCollins, Reception Shift Leader at Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket), responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear mallyduk,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us.

I'm sorry to hear that your experience was not to our expected standards and that we let you down with regards to your room cleanliness. I would certainly be very interested to hear your comments regarding the situation and would invite you to contact me at the hotel if this is something you would like to do.

Every room telephone has a link to our reception team are more than happy to arrange the cleaning of a room without you having to spend your time away looking for staff to do this.

Please accept my sincere apologies regarding the situation you encountered and do not hesitate to contact me should you like to discuss this further.

Kind Regards,

Kieran Collins
Reception Shift Leader
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#86 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#43 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
Murrayfield
Murrayfield Hotel and House
Murrayfield Hotel and House
#41 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket)

Property: Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket)
Address: 1 Morrison Street Link | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH3 8DN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#36 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#40 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket) 3*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arts or culture? Sports, shopping, or famous festivals? It's all on offer at Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre Haymarket. Set in the heart of historic Edinburgh, you're just minutes from all the sights and sounds of this lively city. And if you're here to work, we're close to key business destinations like Edinburgh International Conference Centre, too. Be king of the hill at Edinburgh Castle. Let out your wild side at Edinburgh Zoo. Cheer on your team at Murrayfield stadium. And, if it's the right time of year, seek out the strange at the Fringe Festival, or join the party at Hogmanay. And when you're ready to recharge, our tasty restaurant, spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds will be ready to welcome you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket) Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Premier Inn
Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket) Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing