We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #99 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Good location, friendly, competent staff, good size bed room with very comfortable beds and spotless bathroom. The breakfast was fantastic! Only one complaint, you have to pay for the parking. We stayed at 3 Premier Inn's in Scotland and this was the only one where we had to pay for the parking.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Linda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KieranCollins, Reception Shift Leader at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Linda L,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay with us at Premier Inn, Edinburgh Haymarket.

I'm delighted to read that you found our staff friendly and competent, I shall pass your comments on to all the team, thank you.

I'll also pass on your comments regarding the spotless bathroom to our housekeeping staff who love to hear that their efforts make such a positive impact on our guests stay. I'm pleased to hear that your breakfast was fantastic, there is a lot of variety and the perfect way to kickstart your day.

In terms of parking, this will vary from city to city, Premier Inn to Premier Inn. We are the only Premier Inn in the heart of the city centre that can and does offer parking facilities of our own. Edinburgh is an extremely expensive city to park in and spaces throughout the city are becoming increasingly more limited.

To ensure that all our guests have the best opportunity to park at the hotel we need to discourage local residents from using this facility. If our car park was free of charge, there would be no space for our guests at anytime of the year, this is why we have the minimal charge of £8 for continuous 24 hour parking.

If you'd like to discuss this further or to find out any more information regarding this policy, please do not hesitate to contact me at the hotel or via email: teamleader.edinburghhaymarket@whitbread.com

Once again I'd like to thank you for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Kieran Collins
Reception Shift Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,988)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,530 - 1,536 of 2,989 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed over the Easter weekend when it was really busy, but all the staff were very friendly and helpful. Everywhere was clean and the room was just like it is on the adverts. The short walk to the city centre was very pleasant and we found a really nice pub for our evening meal along the way.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank 236BarbH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KieranCollins, Reception Shift Leader at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear 236BarbH,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Premier Inn, Edinburgh Haymarket.

I'm delighted to read that your stay with us was so good and that your room was just like the adverts, I will be sure to pass this on to all the hardworking housekeeping staff as this is exactly what they strive to achieve.

Over the passed recent comments i'm noticing that guests are highlighting the positive impacts our staff have, even tho we have been really busy and I can see that you also experienced this. I'm really pleased that you found us all so friendly and helpful, again I shall make sure your comments are passed on.

I'm glad you found the walk so pleasant, Edinburgh can be such a beautiful city to simply walk around, I'd love to know what pub you found for your evening meal so that we can add that to our recommendations to other guests in the future.

We look forward to welcoming you back again and thank you for such a lovely review.

Kind Regards,

Kieran Collins
Reception Shift leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Good clean rooms, not too noisy even though was on a room overlooking the road. Comfortable. Not an upgraded room so lack of sockets but apart from that no complaints. Very helpful staff organising room requirements even though they were fully booked for Easter.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KieranCollins, Reception Shift Leader at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Laura M,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Premier Inn, Edinburgh Haymarket.

I'm pleased to read that you had a comfortable nights stay and that you found our staff to be so helpful.

I'm sorry that there was not enough socket space in the room when you stayed, this is something that our staff recognise and endeavour to help with in anyway we can. We have extra extension cables at reception which we are happy to give out during your stay so that you have more socket space and the option to have them closer to the bed.

On your next visit please feel free to either pick one up from reception or call us down from your room and we will have one delivered to you.

Once again, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Kieran Collins
Reception shift Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a long weekend over Easter when we arrived the room was ready and we were dealt with quickly. The staff were all willing to help nothing was too much trouble. They always had a smile on their faces and the room were very comfortable, we asked for some extra pillows and they were given to us immediately. Fantastic stay

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KieranCollins, Reception Shift Leader at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Tracy M,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Premier Inn, Edinburgh Haymarket.

It's great to read that your stay with us was so comfortable and that our staff were efficient, friendly and smiling. We strive to make our guests as comfortable and as happy as we can and I'm delighted to notice that we were able to deliver everything you needed for a great nights sleep.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another long weekend in the future.

Kind Regards,

Kieran Collins
Reception Shift Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

would recommend, outstanding, clean, food was fantastic, rooms were kept to high standards , easy reach to the city, buses every 5 mins ,next door to train station.
good value for money
staff were amazing

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teresamarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KieranCollins, Reception Shift Leader at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear teresamarson,

Thank you so very much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Premier Inn, Edinburgh Haymarket.

I am delighted to see that our rooms and food were outstanding and that our location was ideal for your visit to Scotland's Capital city.

We love to hear what our guests think about their stay, especially regarding the service they receive from the staff, I am over joyed to note that you thought our staff were amazing! I will be making sure this is fedback to every department.

Thank you once again for such a lovely review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the very near future.

Kind Regards,

Kieran Collins
Reception Shift Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Plumped for this Premier Inn for a last minute break to Edinburgh as it was near to Haymarket station, less than 5 mins walk. The walk to Princess St was about 15-20mins. Taxi from the premier inn to Holyrood was just under £6. The room was standard, clean and comfortable with the now usual bath towels only and you have to ask for hand towels. You only get 4 milk so if you like 2 each in your coffee ask for these, and your towels, at reception when you check in. My gripe about Premier Inn is if you ask for a twin room, one of you gets a double and one a small single bed..not very fair. We paid for breakfast which was fantastic, everything and anything so we filled up ready for a days sightseeing and shopping ahead. We ate at the George Hotels Tempus Bar,on George St, they do an early bird menu. Children are not allowed in the evening. Brilliant night, food was fab, wine not too pricey and there was live music on. On the second night we visited the Prince of India near the Premier Inn using a Tastecard...don't bother...it was awful, like a dodgy takeaway from the outside, my friend was ill all night...say no more! The staff at the Premier Inn are very obliging and ordered taxis for us, gave directions etc. The bar area is pleasant and friendly and I would probably stay there again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Binsybobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KieranCollins, Reception Shift Leader at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Binsybobs,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Premier Inn, Edinburgh Haymarket. With regards to your Twin room, you are correct to say that within Premier Inn you receive a Double and a single, we believe this to be of a competitive benefit to our guests as the majority of twin rooms will often be two single beds.

In terms of towels, each room is set with Bath and hand towels, I'm sorry to hear that on this occassion you were missing a hand towel, I must apologise for this. Should you stay with us again, calling us from your room on 1234 will alert us to this and we will be more than happy to have the required hand towels delivered to you promptly.

Depending on the type of room that has been booked will determine how much tea, coffee, milk and sugar etc is placed in the room. For a double we set out enough for two cups of tea or coffee to begin with. This ensures that we are not over stocking rooms and helping to achieve our aims on environmental sustainability. As every guest is unique, we are always more than happy to have more tea, coffee. milk, sugar etc brought up to our guests upon request.

It's great to hear your reviews on the places you visitied during your stay, this will also help us going forward when recommending places to eat, it sounds like the George Hotels Tempus Bar is certainly a place we will be recommending!

I'm really happy to read about your experience with our staff and I will make sure to pass on your positive comments.

I hope to be given the opportunity to welcome you back to stay with us in the very near future.

Kind Regards,

Kieran Collins
Reception Shift Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed for a few nights during Easter Break. Hotel was very busy especially at breakfast time, however the staff were excellent very friendly & welcoming. Manger was in the bar speaking to residents asking how there day was in the evening. Nice atmosphere amongst guests & staff.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shazy47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KieranCollins, Reception Shift Leader at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Shazy47,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at Premier Inn, Edinburgh Haymarket.

I'm delighted to see that you had such an excellent stay and that you found our staff excellent, friendly and welcoming. I'm particularly happy to hear of this as it certainly was extremely busy during your stay, it's great to read that even tho it was busy, our staff did not disappoint you.

It is always nice to read guests views on our staff and I will take great pleasure in passing your details on to the whole team.

We all look forward to seeing you again in the future,

Kind Regards,

Kieran Collins
Reception Shift Leader

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#19 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,319 reviews
West End
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
Mercure Edinburgh Haymarket
#72 of 151 in Edinburgh
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edinburgh Capital Hotel
#96 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,248 reviews
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#90 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,615 reviews
Old Town
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
Novotel Edinburgh Centre
#71 of 151 in Edinburgh
2,685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh

Address: 1 Morrison Street Link | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH3 8DN, Scotland (Formerly Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket))
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#36 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#40 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#52 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £54 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arts or culture? Sports, shopping, or famous festivals? It's all on offer at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh. Set in the heart of historic Edinburgh, you're just minutes from all the sights and sounds of this lively city. And if you're here to work, we're close to key business destinations like Edinburgh International Conference Centre, too. Be king of the hill at Edinburgh Castle. Let out your wild side at Edinburgh Zoo. Cheer on your team at Murrayfield stadium. And, if it's the right time of year, seek out the strange at the Fringe Festival, or join the party at Hogmanay. And when you're ready to recharge, our tasty restaurant, spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds will be ready to welcome you. We offer 15 accessible rooms for people with disabilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket) Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Premier Inn
Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing