We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #92 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Spring Island, BC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Value”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Stayed here at the beginning and end of our trip to Scotland. As others have stated, location is fantastic, rooms are large and clean and the hotel itself is well kept up. Also, as others have stated, rooms are awfully warm, a small in-room fridge would be a great idea and, as a North American, I'd really love to see face cloths added to supplied towels. All in all, I'd recommend it to others and would stay again myself!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsbcbruno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KieranCollins, Reception Shift Leader at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear mrsbcbruno,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and for staying at Premier Inn, Edinburgh Haymarket.

I really hope that your visit to Scotland and all it has to offer was as fantastic as your stay in our hotel. I am delighted that you decided to stay with us at the start and end of your trip and that our location suited your needs.

Unfortunately our air conditioning system was down for maintenance during your stay, which is why our rooms were a little hotter than usual. I am sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused you, though I am really pleased to see that this did not detract from your over all experience with us.

We take all our reviews seriously and I am happy to pass on your feedback to our Head Office with regards to face cloths and small fridges in the room.

Thank you again for submitting your review and we really look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Kieran Collins
Reception Shift Leader
teamleader.edinburghhaymarket@whitbread.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,750 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,039
    1,109
    401
    140
    61
See reviews for
686
1,038
146
304
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rugby
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for five days to attend a conference at EICC. It's very close to venue 5-7 mins walk, so perfect in terms of location. On the first night I was in a 1st floor room overlooking the junction at the lights on Morrison street. It was very noisy so i asked to be moved - which id recommend as the fourth floor was quiet, overlooking the Carpark. The staff were fine about this. The hotel was very warm though. The rooms were airless, but it was wonderful weather so not complaining! Breakfasts were plentiful, fast service but very busy so get there early if you want a more peaceful breakfast! All in all a comfortable stay in a clean pleasant and of course predictable hotel

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank JulesRugby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KieranCollins, Reception Shift Leader at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear JulesRugby,

Thank you for taking he time to give us your review and for staying at the Premier Inn, Edinburgh Haymarket.

I am delighted to hear that you found our location to be ideal for your purposes, being only a 5 minute walk from the EICC. I'm really happy that we were also able to place you in a more suitable room for your needs, If we have the space we are always more than happy to move rooms for all our guests.

I'm sorry to hear that your room felt hot and airless during your stay, our air conditioning system was having some issues and was down for maintenance at the time. I'm please that this did not detract from your overall experience and I will make sure your comments regarding breakfast are past on to our Food & Beverage team.

Thank you once again for taking the time to give us your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Kind Regards,

Kieran Collins
Reception Shift Leader
teamleader.edinburghhaymarket@whitbread.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed in this hotel for 3 nights with my hubby to celebrate his 40th birthday. The location is great 5-10 min walk to princes street. Lots of restaurants around the hotel so don't have to keep travelling back into the centre. The buffet breakfast was really good, filled up in the morning and didn't need to refuel until our evening meal. The hotel is quite large and appeared to be lots of people booked in, however the public areas were never full always somewhere to sit for breakfast or a drink at the bar. My only complaint and the reason I didn't give this hotel 5 stats was because the room was too warm, as we were on the main road we couldn't have the window open at night, did have a large fan in room but wasn't enough to cool room. Would definitely book this hotel again when we return to this great city.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clarpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KieranCollins, Reception Shift Leader at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear clarpa,

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us your feedback and for staying at Premier Inn, Edinburgh Haymarket on such a special occasion. I really hope your husband had a fantastic 40th and I agree, Edinburgh is a great city to have such a celebration in.

I am delighted to see that you enjoyed our breakfast and that our location was an ideal setting for your trip. I am also really please that although we were busy, you never felt that we were overcrowded.

In terms of the heat in your room, It really matters to us that our guests have a comfortable nights sleep, and we guarantee this. For this reason your feedback is very much appreciated as we endeavour to improve standards and meet all our customer’s needs. Please call down to reception and let us know if you experience this on your next visit as there are various ways in which we can help to ensure that your room is as comfortable and as cool as is needed.

Once again, Thank you for your review and for spending such a wonderful occasion with us. We really look forward to welcoming you back in the near future or your husbands 50th?

Kind Regards,

Kieran Collins
Reception Shift Leader
teamleader.edinburghhaymarket@whitbread.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2014

Just spent the weekend here location fantastic just a short walk to attractions if not theres the tran or a short taxi journey.
The hotel was extremely busy but this not effect the service , staff very happy and very helpful
Room spotless great weekend break
If i had one request it would only be small fridge in rooms would help but its not a deal breaker would defiantly stay again

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn1h1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KieranCollins, Reception Shift Leader at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Dawn1h1,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and for staying with us at Premier Inn, Edinburgh Haymarket.

I am delighted to see that although the hotel was busy this did not effect the level of service you received from our staff. As the largest Premier Inn in Scotland we take great pride in the service we deliver especially when we are fully booked. I shall ensure that this is fed back to our teams who will be delighted they had such a positive impact on your stay.

I am happy to pass on your comments regarding the fridge in the room to our head office. On your next stay please let us know at reception if you need anything placed in a fridge and we will be more than happy to accommodate if we can. Many guests require that certain ice boxes or medicines are kept in a fridge and we are happy to do this at reception.

Thank you once again for your review and we really look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Kieran Collins
Reception Shift Leader
teamleader.edinburghhaymarket@whitbread.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 June 2014

the worst sleeping experience ever..woke with a bad back every morning because of bad bed and worse pillows. the location is perfect and thanks to good resturants around the hotel the trip was little better

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ranjan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KieranCollins, Reception Shift Leader at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Ranjan R,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us

It really matters to us that our guest have a great nights sleep and I'm sorry to hear that on this occasion we failed to deliver. It would be great feedback for myself and the team here if you could elaborate on the reason you feel the bed caused these issues by emailing me on the address below.

Without knowing the particulars of your case I would like to stress that all of our mattresses are made to Premier Inn specification and supplied by Hypnos. The firmness of the bed can indicate that this is a new mattress.

For future bookings I would suggest that you contact us at reception prior to booking as we are aware of the rooms where a mattress has recently been replaced.

Your feedback is very much appreciated as it enables us to improve standards. Please be assured that the issues raised will be fully investigated.

Once again thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us and I hope we have the opportunity to ensure you have a great nights sleep in the future.

Kind Regards,

Kieran Collins
Reception Shift Leader
teamleader.edinburghhaymarket@whitbread.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larvik, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Had a nice weekend here with my boyfriend. The staff is very friendly and helpfull. The room were big and clean! It is located a short walk away from the shopping street and the castle. 15min. bus ride to the zoo! Excellent!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matilde H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KieranCollins, Reception Shift Leader at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Matilde H,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and for staying with us at the Premier Inn, Edinburgh Haymarket.

It is great that our clean hotel, friendly staff and location met your expectations and made your stay a comfortable one. We endeavour to deliver the highest level of service in all our establishments and your feedback helps us focus on doing this.

I hope both you and your boyfriend had a great time at the zoo and got the chance to see our Panda's and the Pengiuns, one of which just so happens to be a Colonel-in-Chief of the Norwegian Royal Guard.

Thanks again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Kieran Collins
Reception Shift Leader
teamleader.edinburghhaymarket@whitbread.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Comfortable stay, very central 5-10 min walk then in city centre. Expected it to be very noisy as explained in the review, however only heard sirens once one night otherwise it was very quiet. Staff very good willing to help and go the extra mile.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KieranCollins, Reception Shift Leader at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Helen B,

Thank you for giving us your review and for staying with us at Premier Inn, Edinburgh Haymarket.

I am delighted to hear your stay with us was so comfortable and that you took full advantage of our location.

It is our main objective to provide a high standard of service and we’re so pleased you feel we achieved this. We look forward to welcoming you back to Premier Inn very soon.

Thanks once again for taking the time to review your stay.

Kind Regards,

Kieran Collins
Reception Shift Leader
teamleader.edinburghhaymarket@whitbread.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Tune Hotel Haymarket, Edinburgh
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#83 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 780 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
West End
Apex Haymarket Hotel
Apex Haymarket Hotel
#72 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh

Property: Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 1 Morrison Street Link | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH3 8DN, Scotland (Formerly Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket))
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#36 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#40 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh 3*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arts or culture? Sports, shopping, or famous festivals? It's all on offer at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh. Set in the heart of historic Edinburgh, you're just minutes from all the sights and sounds of this lively city. And if you're here to work, we're close to key business destinations like Edinburgh International Conference Centre, too. Be king of the hill at Edinburgh Castle. Let out your wild side at Edinburgh Zoo. Cheer on your team at Murrayfield stadium. And, if it's the right time of year, seek out the strange at the Fringe Festival, or join the party at Hogmanay. And when you're ready to recharge, our tasty restaurant, spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds will be ready to welcome you. We offer 15 accessible rooms for people with disabilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket) Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Premier Inn
Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing