We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Business”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh
Ranked #92 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Herford
2 reviews
“Business”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Good friendly service. Comfortable room, except for having to have windows open to get air in. Lead to noisy night from street revellers. Hot sultry night, so had no choice but leave it so. Would use again though. Good location.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arrangay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,763 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,042
    1,114
    404
    140
    63
See reviews for
688
1,042
146
307
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Westhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Third visit to this hotel. First two stays were two years ago - feel the place now needs refurbishment as many areas are looking tired and shabby. The public bar doesn't feel especially clean. Was a bit disappointed as we were delighted during our first two visits and next time we'll try another Premier Inn rather than using this one again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as high up as possible (4 floors in total) to avoid traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandAliH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We stayed 2 nights at this Premier Inn and it is in general like every other Premier Inn. Nice rooms, friendly staff, good breakfast, clean facilities and so on. The reason for the "very good" for me was the distance to the city center, which is just a few minutes by feet.
Of course there are hotels which are closer but i prefer a quiet area and a short walk instead of right in the city and not the same benefits as offered by this hotel.

Very recommended to visit the city.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirk_Hammett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KieranCollins, Groups Co-ordinator at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Kirk_Hammett,


Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Premier Inn Haymarket during your recent visit to Edinburgh.

I would like to thank you for your very positive review of the hotel and the team. I am delighted that our friendly and helpful staff and our clean and tidy rooms met your expectations and made your stay a comfortable one. I'm so pleased that you also took full advantage of our All you can eat Premier buffet breakfast – it is very popular with many of our guests!

Our location is one of the major benefits that most guests find when staying with us, I'm pleased this was also the case for you during your time here. The hotel is a great base for exploring all that Edinburgh has to offer.

Thanks again for sharing your impressions on Tripadvisor. I sincerely hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the future.


Kind Regards,

Lara Kotyrba
edinburghcchaymarket.premiermeetings@whitbread.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

For £29 you cannot complain with a hotel like this but we stayed in one 3 days prior in Glasgow (Buch. St) and there were some marked differences. A repeat offending fire alarm, lower standard of bathroom finishing and the distinct lack of good soundfroofing on the windows were the main two differences. But everything else was grand and location was great, only 30 doors down from Atelier (one of highest ranked restaurants in Edin) who do a great lunch menu and then a further half mile from the Grassmarket and the Royal Mile.

Room Tip: Ask for one not facing the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wilton-88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 12 August 2014

A friendly place to stay not to far from the city center with good tram and bus facilities . if restaurant full plenty of nearby eataries.we went when it was the fringe so very busy but we still treated very well.




  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We were in Edinburgh visiting family and taking in the fringe festival. Hotel was busy but plenty of friendly helpful staff. Family room was very clean and comfortable with enough space for four of us, The hotel was very quiet through the night and the breakfast was very good, kids ate free which was a bonus.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
81 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 3 nights in June. We are a family of 4. My parents in law also stayed for 2 nights. We had stayed in the Liverpool One premier the nights before arriving. The difference was marked. On arriving the reception area was full of a tour bus with people all milling around the desk and shouting. Even though they had a guide/organizer type with them nothing was done to clear a path or deal with other people. Eventually we got checked in. Room was clean and tidy. PI kindly comped our car parking due to the check in hassles. Next up the wi fi. Despite the in room info saying it was half an hour in total (log off and time stops) the hotel didn't allow it that way. Reception kindly comped more WiFi. Note I am not one of those WiFi holiday moaners!!
We decided to have dinner at the hotel restaurant. It was very busy so we had to eat at the ibar. That was fine however some items on the menu had run out, other tables got their food
before us when we ordered first and I had to ask 3 times where our children's dessert was.
We had to wait nearly an hour for ice cream! I mentioned it at reception and got to speak to the manager. They kindly comped breakfast. The putting right by PI was great but the incidents needn't have occurred. Great location. Got pizza and kebab from the place just over the road ( number 1 pizza?). Great service and food. Would certainly stay again. Represents great value for money but think they need to pick up their act.
Staff and facilities are good and overall happy with our stay

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Chippie_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Haymarket Hub Hotel
Haymarket Hub Hotel
#141 of 148 in Edinburgh
23 reviews
West End
Fountain Court Apartments - Grove Executive
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
#114 of 148 in Edinburgh
3,821 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Broughton & Calton
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
Apex Waterloo Place Hotel
#34 of 148 in Edinburgh
4,386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh

Property: Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh
Address: 1 Morrison Street Link | Haymarket, Edinburgh EH3 8DN, Scotland (Formerly Leonardo Hotel Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket))
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#36 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#40 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#50 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 282
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arts or culture? Sports, shopping, or famous festivals? It's all on offer at Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh. Set in the heart of historic Edinburgh, you're just minutes from all the sights and sounds of this lively city. And if you're here to work, we're close to key business destinations like Edinburgh International Conference Centre, too. Be king of the hill at Edinburgh Castle. Let out your wild side at Edinburgh Zoo. Cheer on your team at Murrayfield stadium. And, if it's the right time of year, seek out the strange at the Fringe Festival, or join the party at Hogmanay. And when you're ready to recharge, our tasty restaurant, spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds will be ready to welcome you. We offer 15 accessible rooms for people with disabilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Edinburgh City Centre (Haymarket) Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Premier Inn
Leonardo Royal Hotel Edinburgh Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing