We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel
Nearby Hotels
US$225
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$214
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$336
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$215
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$273
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$247
Waldorf Astoria
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$193
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Murrayfield Hotel and House(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$122
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$849
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$683
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (370)
Filter reviews
370 results
Traveller rating
129
153
66
10
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
129
153
66
10
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsself catering kitchenluggage lockersshared roomroom was cleanlaundry facilitiestoilet and showerfree wifibunk bedstrain stationcontinental breakfastomni centrestayed one nightmin walkgreat central locationgreat showerwould stay againthree nights
Filter
Updating list...
166 - 171 of 370 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Unfortunately this is one of the not so appealing hostels I've come across. The female showers and bathrooms were dirty and run down. The kitchen was pathetic for a hostel that size, I can't even remember seeing the oven! The rooms were dirty and dingy. The common room was small but okay. Location is pretty good, it's nice and central! But that's about where it stops. If you are planning on staying here, also plan on having no sleep! The noise during the night doesn't stop, although the hostel was again, central to the nightlife!
Wouldn't recommend it, defiantly wouldn't return!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Elliteg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Dear Elliteg

Thank you very much for your recent review. Having read your review, I think that perhaps you have not stayed at our Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel. Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel is a 5 star Youth Hostel on Haddington Place in Edinburgh where all our bedrooms are en-suite and we were recently graded with Visit Scotland and received 100% for our cleanliness.

The review you have posted doesn't sound like you are reviewing our property. There are several other properties in Edinburgh who do use the word Central in their properties names.

We would be happy to discuss this further with you. Please do get in touch with Janet Gagen the Edinburgh Central General Manager on:

jgagen@syha.org.uk

many thanks

Lorna Padden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights and it was great! Would stay here again and again. The girl at reception was very very helpful. Our room was pretty good, full kitchen, large bathroom and a games and lounge room! 100% recommend. No elevator so be prepared to climb some stairs

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Sarahfitzholmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Hello,

Many thanks for your recent review of Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel. We are glad to read that you enjoy your recent stay with us and hope you will visit again soon.

Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel has 2 passenger lifts that are on the ground floor just thru the main door after reception and these lifts service all 4 floors in the building. Sorry you missed them this time but hopefully when you return we can point you in the right direction.

Thanks Again for your review.

Lorna Padden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

I often pop into this youth hostel for a coffee, however today I had lunch. It is a lovely hostel, with very pleasant staff. Food is of a high standard and very reasonable prices. Always very clean and tidy and a great place to sit and watch the world go by, up and down Leith Walk. Good location, just a short walk from the city centre, with bus stop a short distance away.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Purplehazze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2014

Purplehazze,

Thanks so much for your review. We have really worked hard to develop "Haddington Place" our café within Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel.

We are continuing to develop the café so it has its own brand and becomes part of the community within Leith/Edinburgh. We are seeing more and more non-residents pop into the café and with positive reviews like this we hope to see "Haddington Place" become a destination in its own right.

We are currently in the process of setting up the café to have its own comments page, so this review really helps.

Much appreciated and please spread the word and keep popping in for your coffee.

Lorna Padden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Great hostel ! But in my opinion, if you are looking for a youth hostel, with a party atmosphere, this isn't the right Hostel for you. The Edinburgh Central Hostel accepts families and school classes, so you will see old grandmas and grandpas staying here and a lot of children hanging out in the reception. Anyway, if you really want a cheap place with an excellent structure to relax and spend a quiet night without the mess, this place is perfect for you. I don't know if this was because of when I stayed, I don't know in other seasons or during vacations.

Despite having booked a 6 female dorm, I ended up being allocated in a 4 en-suite female dorm, in which I was the only occupant! So I was in a "hotel room" paying a hostel price! The room was big and had individual lockers (bring your padlock). There were 2 bunk beds, which were comfortable but the pillow was really low. Each bed has a reading lamp and a stand for putting your mobile or a book, for example.

They also serve continental breakfast (£4.50) with toast, normal bread, 2 types of cheese and ham, jam, orange and apple juice, tea, coffee and milk, 3 types of cereal (cornflakes , muesli and chocolate flakes), 2 types of yoghurt (natural and strawberry) and apples. Yes! Outstanding breakfast for only 4.50£! They also have the hot Breakfast option (6£) with Scottish specialities (Haggis, Black Pudding, Sausages, Eggs, etc).

The hostel also has a "bar". But as I said, if you're expecting a dark room with loud music and cheap booze, you're on the wrong place. The bar is next to the reception and serves light snacks, tea and coffee, fruits and some alcoholic beverages. But you will only find families chilling on the sofa reading the newspaper.

The ECYH also has a fully equipped kitchen available for guests use. For those on a really tiny budget, it is perfect. There are pots, pans, 2 stoves, 2 ovens and 2 fridges, sinks. There are also tableware and glasses available.
Next is the "dinner room", to which also belongs a small sofa and some books and a cable TV.

I loved the place and I intend to stay there again when travelling with some friends . But if I return alone again, I'd try a place with younger and funnier atmosphere . But there's NO FREE WIFI! It costs 1£/hour and for using the available PCs on the reception, you also pay for the internet.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nati_Eitel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

Arrived there last sat night after not being booked in and due to problems with r previous hostel, they were so brilliant in fitting us in as being a emergency they did so. .. like a 4 star hotel... rooms unbelievable, staff was brilliant, bathroom and shower spotless. . A must for anybody

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews