We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is not the place to stay in Edinburgh” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This is not the place to stay in Edinburgh”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

This hostel is overpriced and got very low comfort. You will be better of booking a room at a castle just a few km outside the city, or stay in guesthouse with friendly and nice atomosphere. Why? Keep reading.

Beds - you migth be more comfy sleeping on the floor. The matresses was worn out and very, very thin. In the bunk bed over my head I felt asleep looking at used chewing gum sticked to the bed.

Noise - I know the hostel is situated in the city center, but the noise from cars and buses never stops.

Price - If the price had been reasonable I wouldn`t complained, but this is a very expensive hostel. Remember that you have to pay for everything, like wi-fi, left luggage etc.

Staff - the staff had poor knowledge about parkingrules, directions etc.

Atmosphere - if you enjoy looking at teenagers staring at their smartphones this is the place for you.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GisleAndre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
GisleAndre

We are so sorry that your experience at Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel was not what you had hoped for or what it should have been. We have very high standards at Edinburgh Central and if you feel we have not provided you with our own high standards, can you please get in touch with Janet our General Manager so she can discuss these with you.

jgagen@syha.org.uk


Thanks for posting and we hope once you have spoken with Janet we can restore your faith in us.

Lorna Padden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    139
    58
    8
    11
See reviews for
46
37
88
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucks- UK
Level Contributor
110 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

I stayed here for work and the service by the reception staff was second to none. The hostel is about 20 minutes from the town centre but is about 10 minutes from Edinburgh Playhouse, restaurants and bars.
I shared a room with five other people in a dorm style- if you dont like sharing there are options for private rooms if you book early enough. We shared a toilet and shower in the room which was fine.
There are lockers for you so bring a padlock if you have anything valuable. Linen is provided but you need a towel.
I ate breakfast here and dinner. breakfast was a little rushed as the staff dealt with a large group staying there but the cooked breakfast is massive and worth it to start your day with full bellies. They do a vegetarian option also but do ask for a vege breakfast when you give in your card. Dinner was a choice from the menu (it doesnt change) and you can purchase courses as desired. There is also a bar and wifi available in the lounge areas. ( I think soon they are looking to expand this)
Be aware there are limited sockets in the bedroom to charge all appliances
Nice accommodation and you get to meet people from all over the world which is a nice bonus.
This hostel is great for solo travellers, groups and youth projects. You can hire the conference room too. Three is also a self catering kitchen downstairs and vending machines.

Room Tip: Share with others if you are happy to r book solo rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UvulaRoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
UvulaRoc

What a lovely review from you, and all the team on the reception desk remember you also, thanks so much for posting your experience on here, very much appreciated and we hope you will visit us again in the near future.

Thanks

Lorna Padden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

For a family room in an excellent central location (can walk from station). This is very good.

However the room is basic (as in prison cell meets NHS interior design). Bed has foot board not good if 6ft+ and any extra such as wifi, or left luggage is charged for. A sense of meanness prevents this getting a higher rating, which is a shame as the potential of the location is excellent.

Room Tip: unsure if they have good rooms. Ok if you are short and only going to sleep in the room and do absol...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gavinblax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Gavinblax

Thanks for your feedback, its really important to us, so we can strive do do better.

Really disappointed to read your comments on our room at Edinburgh Central, we are a Youth Hostel and they are designed to be fit for purpose but we havent ever heard of them being described like this before. Sorry.

In terms of the lockers, we simply dont have the storage facilities for the number of bags that we are asked to look after on a daily basis, nor could we promise full security by just putting them all in a room. We bought these lockers to give just that to our guests, security, these were a substantial investment that a not for profit charity that we simply have to re-coup. We think the prices are fair and comparable to the train station or bus station, they are much lower.

In terms of wi-fi, its not just about the money. We are looking into this but we need to ensure that our own system doesnt slow down if we offer free. We are aware of the issue, but again to make improvements to a system that serves all Scotland is not cheap.

We will continue to listen to our guests and make improvements where we can and when money is available to do so.

Thanks

Lorna Padden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fayetteville, NC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

I stayed here last summer with my daughter, who was six at the time. I can't say enough good things about the location, the friendly and helpful staff, or the facilities. The kitchen and laundry areas were clean and easy to use. The room was comfortable and pretty spacious, especially compared to the other places where we stayed on our trip. The shower set-up was especially nice; there were shelves for your stuff, which is a small but thoughtful touch. If you're traveling on a budget, this is the place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenmczechowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
engtchr77

We are happy that you have posted on your stay with us and that you enjoyed it and are recommending us to others. We really do listen to our guests, we cant always provide whats asked due to money restraints ( we are a not for profit organisation, so any money made is invested back into our network), but we do keep a record of everything and when we can we do. We learn from every refurbishment we do and we try to do better with the next one, so the shelves they were on a "Could do Better" list from a previous Youth Hostel, we were able to incorporate these into the showers at Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel.

Thanks again.

Lorna Padden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noida, India
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Stayed here for two days last June along with friends on a backpacking trip to Scotland. Conveniently located at the heart of the city, Nice and clean rooms with decent size washrooms. Co-operative staff. Over all- good value for money option for people on shoestring budget, students and backpackers. They have few family rooms too. I am from India and I wish similar things are developed in India too.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sanghamitra_B_Jayant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Hi Sanghamitra_B_J

Thanks for posting your feedback, great to read that you were looked after by our team and that you enjoyed your 2 night stay with us.

If they dont have a Youth Hostel like this in India, then you need to come back and visit us.

Thanks again.

Lorna Padden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

This hostel appears totally functional and thoroughly renovated internally, so definitely not the kind of "characterful" building many British youth hostels are. Location is excellent, very close to the city center and Edinburgh main bus station. It is quite clean (which, not being a backpacker's, I take for granted) and has a very practical self-catering kitchen, so by and large it's quite comfortable. On the down side:
1. Lockers are (very) chargeable. The largest lockers cost £1.50 per HOUR, which is considerably more than those in the bus station, and you need to use them even when just changing rooms within the hostel. I understand that hostel left luggage rooms often become a serious issue, so enforcing such a ruthless policy can be the only way to keep them tidy, but still, beware that the lockers in this hostel can potentially be a massive hidden charge.
2. WiFi is also chargeable and expensive. The good news is that there is an excellent Starbucks 5 mins. up the street (on the left, towards the city center) whose WiFi works out much cheaper.
3. The dormitories with en-suite bathrooms seem to be becoming standard in city youth hostels around Europe, and I am sure the designers see them as a comfort feature, but I personally don't like them. I would prefer (clean) communal shower rooms.
4. On the day I arrived both the basin and shower were draining slow (the shower created a pool when being used, and the basin was even worse). I reported the problem and they fixed it the following day, but then the shower itself refused to produce any hot water. I had to take an ultra-quick shower using water that was less than lukewarm. Again, they fixed it soon enough, but they seem to have a policy of waiting for plumbing problems to happen rather than preventing them via effective maintenance.
5. My room magnetic key card failed to work -six times. After the first time they suggested my mobile might be to blame, but I kept them separate afterwards and the problem continued to happen, so obviously that wasn't the reason. I was staying on the 2nd floor (US English: 3rd floor), so it wasn't fun having to go down to front desk and back up again just because the keys don't open the doors as they are supposed to.
6. The bowls in the self-catering kitchen are tiny/child size. That must make sense when using them in their café (where it is important to serve portions as small as possible), but one of the reasons why people self-cater is to free ourselves of that meanness, so I wish they supplied normal, adult-size bowls.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the traffic. They are on a busy road -which stays noisy through the night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Muddysox

Thanks for posting your feedback, we appreciate it, as we can use it to better ourselves.

I am sorry to read that there were several problems experienced by yourself during your stay, be assured we have a full time maintenance engineer who does his very best to keep up with daily tasks, but as you can imagine in a building with over 72 rooms and public areas, things do happen from time to time that are outwith our control, and we do our best to remedy them as quickly as possible.

In terms of the lockers and wi-fi, we dont have any storage space for the amount of luggage that could be stored on a daily basis in this Youth Hostel, so we had to purchase these lockers to provide security to our guests, which was a substantial investment to a not for profit organisation that we do have to re-coup, but we feel the price is fair and gives our guests peace of mind that their belongings are safe. Wi-Fi we are looking at this, but again its not all about money, we need too look at our own systems internally to ensure that giving free wi-fi wouldnt slow our own servers down, but we are looking into this.

Thanks again for your feedback and we hope you will try us again.

Lorna Padden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

Unfortunately this is one of the not so appealing hostels I've come across. The female showers and bathrooms were dirty and run down. The kitchen was pathetic for a hostel that size, I can't even remember seeing the oven! The rooms were dirty and dingy. The common room was small but okay. Location is pretty good, it's nice and central! But that's about where it stops. If you are planning on staying here, also plan on having no sleep! The noise during the night doesn't stop, although the hostel was again, central to the nightlife!
Wouldn't recommend it, defiantly wouldn't return!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Elliteg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Elliteg

Thank you very much for your recent review. Having read your review, I think that perhaps you have not stayed at our Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel. Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel is a 5 star Youth Hostel on Haddington Place in Edinburgh where all our bedrooms are en-suite and we were recently graded with Visit Scotland and received 100% for our cleanliness.

The review you have posted doesn't sound like you are reviewing our property. There are several other properties in Edinburgh who do use the word Central in their properties names.

We would be happy to discuss this further with you. Please do get in touch with Janet Gagen the Edinburgh Central General Manager on:

jgagen@syha.org.uk

many thanks

Lorna Padden
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Haggis Hostels
Haggis Hostels
#12 of 214 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
Old Town
Castle Rock Hostel
Castle Rock Hostel
#3 of 214 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,401 reviews
Old Town
High Street Hostel
High Street Hostel
#20 of 214 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Safestay Edinburgh
Safestay Edinburgh
#10 of 214 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,193 reviews
New Town
CODE POD Hostel
CODE POD Hostel
#2 of 214 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel

Property: Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel
Address: 9 Haddington Place | Off Leith Walk, Edinburgh EH7 4AL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 214 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel is located in the heart of Scotland's capital, offering 5 star budget accommodation with 271 beds. This busy youth hostel offers a range of multi-share and private rooms, all en-suite. Premium rooms are also available, taking hostelling to a new level with TV and coffee making facilities. Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel is also an ideal location for those looking for group accommodation in Edinburgh. The youth hostel has a self-catering kitchen and dining room. Our licensed cafe, Haddington Place, offers tea, coffee and cake as well as snacks and meals throughout the day. Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel is ideal for individuals, groups or families looking for quality, budget accommodation. Wi-Fi during your stay: We do our best to deliver a free Wi-Fi service but apologise that connectivity, particularly in our rural locations, can be intermittent due to the level of our current broadband provision along with high usage when the youth hostel is busy. Please be assured we are endeavouring to improve where we can. We thank you for your patience and understanding ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edinburgh Central Youth Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Central Youth Hostel Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing