We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, but Average Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Royal Mile Backpackers
Reviewed 14 July 2011

The lcoation of this hostel is great! It is exactly in High Street, and the area is surrounded with tourism attractions, souvenirs shops, eateries, cafes. The Edinburgh Castle and Palace of Holyrood is just a 20 minutes walking distance, alongside the Royal Mile. The shopping district is just a stones away nearby North Bridge, and again just 10-15 minutes walking, also to the Edinburgh Train Station and Edinburgh Bus Station.
Great location for the price we pay.

Nevertheless, a hostel remains a hostel. I stayed in a 8 beds female dorm. The room is so-so, bed is ok, locker works while, the only bad thing is the carpet in the room smell bad. They shouldn't put a carpet there. The bathroom is fine and clean enough, it is only 2 bathrooms and 2 toilets for female. They provide kitchen for guests also a small living room. Wi-fi works only in the kitchen.
They have a sister hostel, just opposite their location, High Street Hostel, which is a bigger and cozier.

The staff are great, friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daisy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
There are newer reviews for Royal Mile Backpackers
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

111 - 117 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 27 June 2011

I stayed here my first and second night in Scotland, and it was a great place to begin my trip! Everyone was so nice, welcoming, and helpful! The room was nice and cozy with comfortable beds. The bathrooms were a little small and cramped - only 2 toilets and 2 showers for all the girls - however there weren't that many girls. I loved the free wifi and nice breakfast, and the location was perfect! Definitely would stay here again.

Room Tip: female dorm was nice!
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank veryveronicaIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2011

It is a cozy little hostel with a great location, right on the royal mile, the main street, and close to everything. Unfortunately, they only have 8 bed dorm rooms and breakfast is not included. They have free wiifii.

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Or M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2011

The royal mile backpackers was my first hostel and I loved it.
The staff are very friendly and accommodating, making us feel more than welcome.
Now having stayed at at least 10 others I know it is definitely my favourite so far.
The only downfalls are the noise from the street n pub next door (nothing some earplugs can't fix) and only having 2 showers.
Would definitely recommend to a friend!

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank statah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2011

For reading the positive reviews this hostel has, I decided to book two nights at the royal mile backpackers, value for location, sleeping in a dorm seemed great, it is off the royal mile, just a couple minutes walk from the main attractions. Since I was already in Edinburgh i booked over the phone having to pay 1st night then to secure it. When I arrived there I wasn't able to see the room before I had payed my whole stay.
For my surprise the room was very dirty, cramped and looked like it hasn't been cleaned in ages, I had a small locker, but nowhere to put my backpack due to the amount of clothing and stuff placed everywhere, you need to add the body smell and hard beds to the sleeping experience. A friend was in another room and was exactly the same, but smell even worse (avoid staying at room 'starwars' if offered, it is unbearable).
It seems that some people stay here for long term periods and are not asked by staff to keep the rest of the other guests space free or keep tidy at all.
Bathrooms are ok, but only 2 and 2 showers, which means a sure queue in the mornings. And common space is reduced.
I did not see unfortunately the relaxed and cool vibe you get in other backpackers places. It was a big dissapointment.

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuInLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2011

I had a great stay at Royal Mile, it is a very good little budget backpackers. The location can't be beat, right on the (duh) Royal Mile, you can walk to everything and Edinburgh is a very walkable city. It has friendly staff, comfy little lounge and kitchen, and the rooms are a good size, I was in the 8 bed dorm and it didn't at all feel cramped. The place is very well organised and has a relaxed and cool vide, they can do your laundry for you and have it back later in the day, and the wifi is free (although slow at times). The only complaint I would have is there is just not enough bathroms, 2 sinks and showers in the female bathroom and I assume it would be the same in the male. In the morning you would have a big crowd of people around the sinks trying to brush their teeth, and I assume if you woke up later you'd have to wait for a shower too (though I woke up around 7 each morning and never had to wait). But it is a great value place and my stay was excellent, I'd highly recommend it when staying in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank axxechikka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2010

A good hostel is usually defined by the mood it sets with the visiting travellers, through the welcome of the staff, how it operates, the environment etc. This hostel gets it just right. The staff are relaxed and very helpful, there's an uber-relaxed and fun feel to everything, from the themed rooms to the little posters and pictures up everywhere. Even something as small as the warm colour of the paint on the walls (other hostels should learn: drab white with a bit of green trim isn't very welcoming!) Probably because of all this, I found that the people staying in the hostel were very friendly and open. The one single negative point - very few shower facilities, so plan your shower well!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mattpagezk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
High Street Hostel
High Street Hostel
#14 of 217 in Edinburgh
451 reviews
Old Town
Castle Rock Hostel
Castle Rock Hostel
#4 of 217 in Edinburgh
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Princes Street and Gardens
The Baxter
The Baxter
#22 of 217 in Edinburgh
166 reviews
Old Town
Safestay Edinburgh
Safestay Edinburgh
#11 of 217 in Edinburgh
1,641 reviews
New Town
CODE POD Hostel
CODE POD Hostel
#2 of 217 in Edinburgh
1,012 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Mile Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Mile Backpackers

Address: 105 High Street, Edinburgh EH1 1SG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 217 Speciality Lodging in Edinburgh
Price Range: £11 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Mile Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Royal Mile Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Mile Backpackers Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing