We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amaryllis Guest House
Ranked #203 of 389 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
C
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor”
Reviewed 25 September 2011

It was below-average among economy-priced places. Like most economy-priced places, the bed is not comfortable. But unlike the other ones I was at, little effort was put into the breakfasts (no fruit or granola with the cereal, packaged jams). You are also given only a 1/2 hour window in which to have breakfast. Owners will do nothing extra for you as well - in and out with ya!

Not recommended.

Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ghamaryllis, Owner at Amaryllis Guest House, responded to this review, 18 November 2011
This review is so unfair. We go out of our way to treat guests with respect and good hospitality.We have always accommodated guests if they require an early breakfast ( within reason of course) and we make up packed lunches if guests are leaving early and miss breakfast. I really do not know sometimes what people expect for such a low tariff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    22
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
17
11
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Level Contributor
53 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights and had a great time. We could see the Edinburgh castle form our room, so that was quite brilliant.

The staff was friendly and the breakfast really good. There's some kind of a menu where you can choose (English Breakfast, Continental, Yoghurt and fruit etc.) The room was clean and spacious, with a small tv and a small ensuite bathroom with shower. Not really spectacular, but perfect for a city trip.

There's private parking but it's very limited, 2 small cars can fit in it, so if you're traveling by car it's smart to make arrangements. On street parking is possible, but very expensive (pay & display).

The guesthouse is located in an area with more b&b's. It's a 15-20 minute walk to downtown, more if you're heading for the upper old town. It's definitely a good base for exploring Edinburgh!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulG78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ghamaryllis, Owner at Amaryllis Guest House, responded to this review, 18 November 2011
Many thanks for your lovely review. We hope to welcome you again to our guest house.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2011

I have found the adress in Lonely Planet and booked Amaryllis for the one night we were in Edinburgh. It is an ok place to stay. The rooms were clean, the guest house itself is located 15-20 minutes away by foot from the central area. This option is good value for money, but do not expect anything extra. For instance, there was no shampoo in the bathroom, just shower gel. The breakfast was good, but it was served in the short time slot between 8:30 and 9:00.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chouettou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denia, Spain
1 review
Reviewed 8 October 2010

I've stayed at the Amaryllis on several occasions and couldn't be made more welcome! The owners are like old friends and could not be more accommodating. The rooms are spacious, immaculately clean and cosy, having stayed in several of them. It is centrally placed, close to restaurants, night life and all the main sightseeing attractions, most of which are in walking distance. The breakfasts are fantastic, certainly enough to keep you going for the day, especially if you have the full Scottish. I could not recommend this lovely guesthouse highly enough and will certainly be booking in again, the next time I'm in Edinburgh. A big thank you to the owners for always making my stay so enjoyable!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheeky_patterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2010

Our usual guest house was fully booked so after reading some reviews on this one we decided we couldn't go wrong. How wrong we were, the rooms were just adequate, the breakfast area cramped but not as cramped as the bathroom!! In the bathroom it was a tight squeeze between the toilet and wash basin! The food was terrible so we weren't disappointed that it was very small quantity. Would never darken this door again!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank foxyfurr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ghamaryllis, Owner at Amaryllis Guest House, responded to this review, 8 October 2010
I cannot understand this review and looking through our sign in book am unable to recognise this listing. One only has to look at previous reviews especially about breakfast to see this is just some malicious individual. Interesting that no report of any of this disatisfaction was mentioned to any member of staff. Sorry I cannot apologise to you as this is just not true.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
1 review
Reviewed 23 August 2010

good location only 10-15 mins walk to princes street but plenty of public transport . owners were very friendly and a good choice of breakfast, room was ok and the view we had from was ok with edinburgh castle in sight. plenty of places to eat and drink and visit.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnymacCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ghamaryllis, Owner at Amaryllis Guest House, responded to this review, 8 October 2010
Many thanks for your review. I am very pleased you enjoyed your stay here
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antibes
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2010

I strongly recommend this B&B. Nicely situated, calm, the owner
taking special care of every detail so a perfect place for someone
that prefers B&B to traditional hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank laurent-thery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ghamaryllis, Owner at Amaryllis Guest House, responded to this review, 23 August 2010
Many thanks for your review. We always appreciate it when guests take the time to write something about their time here. Hopefully we may see you again. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Cruachan Guest House
#230 of 389 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
West End
Averon Guest House
Averon Guest House
#45 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 962 reviews
Cluaran Guest House
#130 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Star Villa
#151 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Menzies Guest House
#262 of 389 in Edinburgh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 75 reviews
Adam Drysdale House
#154 of 389 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amaryllis Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amaryllis Guest House

Property: Amaryllis Guest House
Address: 21 Upper Gilmore Place, Edinburgh EH3 9NL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #203 of 389 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Amaryllis Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, LateRooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Amaryllis Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amaryllis Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing