We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better sitting at home” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hongfu Noodle Bar

Hongfu Noodle Bar
Ranked #1,841 of 2,437 Restaurants in Edinburgh
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Broughton & Calton
Description: http://www.list.co.uk/place/104042-hong-fu-noodle/
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Better sitting at home”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

This is the second time I have been to this restaurant. I have given them a second chance, and the experience has actually worsened. The service is horrendous. We were not seated, and upon sitting at the table it felt as if we were not wanted. And when asked ready to order they completely ignored our request. It was not even busy. Around 3 tables. I myself have held waitering jobs and know what its like, however there is actually no excuse to give this type of service, especially in a quiet environment. Rude. Incompetent. Unwelcoming. We left and could easily see our time in there is definitely not worth the price of the menu.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    28
    22
    19
    43
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kenai, Alaska
Level Contributor
71 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Authentic Northern Chinese Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

I found an ad for this place on the map for the bus tour and we made our way here for a late lunch. After living in northern China I've been disappointed by a lot of restaurants claiming to be authentic. Not so with Hongfu Noodle Bar. The shredded sour potatoes are exactly as I remember from Shandong Province. The dumplings and Noodles were absolutely wonderful. We would have eaten here more had we been in Edinburgh longer. The prices are excellent and service is very good.

I highly recommend Hongfu for a bit of authentic northern Chinese noodles and dumplings.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JabbasaurusRex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Little different”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Visited here during the week, . I go back on a weekend to see if it's any different.
The food was lovely, very tasty slightly different from last time. Waitress told the chef was changed.
Service was fast but not being rushed. All in all a nice place, good holiday

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank kuzson T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edinburgh
Level Contributor
93 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Authentic Chinese , always good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

We've been here 5 or 6 times. Always good. We order from the Chinese menu with the pictures. A huge load of variety to choose from. I've never been disappointed. It can get busy at times but they will do their best to find a table for you, and service can be slow when busy, but that's to be expected. Last time we went we had to wait for about 20 minutes so we went to the drinkers bar downstairs and they called us when the table was ready, and they let us bring our drinks upstairs from the bar. The decor is quirky, but that adds to the charm. It's a no frills place serving real Chinese food at a reasonable cost. I recommend it to anyone who likes authentic Chinese.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rebusreader1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“an available table on Mothers Day”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Everywhere else I tried was full but then it was Mothers Day and I was wandering and trying places on spec........ the noodle bar provided me with lots of food on the set menu. It was ok but not great. I wish I had been a bit more adventurous in my choices and gone with the a la carte menu.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank GHCM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hongfu Noodle Bar also viewed

 
Edinburgh, Scotland
 

Been to Hongfu Noodle Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing