We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great apartments”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
Ranked #70 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great apartments”
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights over new year and they were perfect. We stayed in a one bedroom apartment and had everything you could possibly need. Much better than staying in just a hotel room as we had our own space. Had flat screen TV in both living room and bedroom which was great if we wanted to watch different things. Brought breakfast so we could make it ourselves each morning which was great just like being at home.

Rooms were very clean and modern and they provide you with plenty of cutlery, cups and glasses etc. Only downsides (but minimal) were that the beds are small double and I prefer bigger beds. Also, can be quite noisy with cars driving down cobbled streets but it didn't keep me awake.

Great location and very central to all the main attractions - just - George Street and Rose Streets are great for restuarants and bars and they are the next streets to Young Street. Then you have Princess Street which leads to all main attractions.

Would recommend these apartments and I would certainly stay here again if I come back to Edinburgh.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kat1829
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    100
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
67
219
21
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Firstly let me just say that this place is very nice indeed. We booked a Superior Apartment at a very reasonable price (on an offer at the time). The living area, kitchen, bathroom and bedroom are all very well fitted and maintained to a high standard. And there are no complaints at all about the standard of the venue whatsoever. The location couldn't get any better either being just off George St in the middle of town.

On the downside, as has already been mentioned in other reviews is the noise to the rear of the property. At the rear of the property is a back street which is used by the neighbouring hotel and restaurants. The noise is not from these venues directly but from the rubbish collection in the early mornings and deliveries throughout the day. The apartment obviously has very good thermal insulation as it got uncomfortably hot at times even though the heating was off during the entirety of our stay. This led us to open the windows which in turns doesn't help keep the noise out!

If you decide to book here ask for an apartment in the front of the building. BEAR IN MIND that the Superior Apartments are only at the rear of the building, something we found out once we had checked out. It would have been nice if the venue had informed us of this before we had arrived, as we did specifically ask for accommodation in the front of the building.

Pros: Clean, high quality, luxurious.
Cons: Noisy and rooms can get uncomfortably hot.

Room Tip: Superior Apartments are only at the noisy rear of the property. Save some money and get a better kip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flagitious_mystic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Stayed here for one night as a couple. Firstly was quite disappointed given that these apartments are rated very highly and are No.2 in Edinburgh. Plus points of these apartments are the central location and cleanliness because they are new. On arrival the corridor down to the apartment reminded me of a typical Premier Inn hotel, on entering apartment found it to be very small and again the bathroom and ambience typical of a Premier Inn hotel. Paid quite a lot of money so could have stayed in a Premier Inn for much less. l would not recommend these apartments for short stays as a couple, however I guess it depends on what you are looking for in a hotel, in my opinion they are designed more for business trips.

We had a ground floor flat to the front of the building which was extremely close to the cobbled road and you could feel every car driving past when you were in bed, although I am quite sure if we had been staying for more than one night we would have got used to this.

Staff were okay again nothing to greatly praise here. Sorry for the negativity but we were not impressed in any way by the stay here. We have stayed in other apartments in Edinburgh which were much better.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pedro97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyne and Wear
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2011

Had lovely family short break in Edinburgh. Apartment was lovely. Very clean and well equipped. Brilliant location. Very central.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adamamb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2011

These appartments are very clean, spacious and confortable!! Ideally located in Edinburgh, very closed to shops, pubs and restaurants and just 15minutes walking from the railway station! I highly recommend this hotel!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boras, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 December 2011

An absolutely perfect location to stay at. Right in the middle of the centre of Edinburgh, but in a quiet nice cobblestoned street. Excellent equipped apartments, including two TV:s, iPod-speaker, dishmachine, microvawe, fridge and on top of that a washingmachine. Fabulous. Nice and very friendly staff, always willing to help and answer questions. The apartment was clean and very fresh, nice beds and a very comfortable sofa for relaxing. Can't find anything negative at all, can't imagine anything that could have been better. Will choose that place 10 times out of 10 if/when returning to Edinburgh

Room Tip: Probably even nicer on upper floor. We did stay in room 7 at first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Britain
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

I was fortunate enough for the Stewart Apartments to come into "policy" on my corporate travel booking system. I was sure enough of travel dates that the "no rescheduling" proviso wasn't an issue.

The flats are still all new and shiny, and spotlessly clean. Well equipped kitchen, though for a short stay anything I cooked had to "ping", but would be fine for more hearty cooks. Location was very convenient for someone travelling without a car, easy access to bus routes or major roads with plentiful taxis. As others have written, this is in the city centre, so if you sleep with the windows open you *will* be roused by hustle and bustle.

If these flats fall within corporate policy guidelines again, I will definitely make a beeline.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dunstan_in_GB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Fountain Court Apartments Royal Garden
New Town
The Roxburghe Hotel
The Roxburghe Hotel
#67 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,055 reviews
New Town
Frederick House Hotel
Frederick House Hotel
#113 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
#76 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
New Town
Tigerlily Hotel
Tigerlily Hotel
#19 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments

Property: Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
Address: 10 Young Street, Edinburgh EH2 4JB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#14 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#40 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 31 boutique style serviced apartments are located over 3 floors with lift access to all. Each apartment features an open plan living room and fully fitted kitchen including dishwasher and washing machine. All furnishings in the lounge, bedroom and bathroom are finished to an extremely high specification. Each apartment comes equipped with the latest technology, including a 37 inch HD television, blu-ray DVD player and iPod dock in the living room and a 32 inch HD TV in the bedroom, as well as free wireless broadband access, Sky sports and movie channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, Lastminute, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing