We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what we expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
Ranked #77 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Coventry
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not what we expected”
Reviewed 11 October 2012 via mobile

From reading all the reviews I thought I was on to a winner however I was wrong the noise from the road kept me awake all night and no one seemed to care that it had spoiled my stay unfortunately poor customer service will not keep me coming back

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SummerHolder1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain_Court, Reception Manager at Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Thank you for your review.

Being so well located in the city centre, there is a possibility of noise.

Our front facing apartments tend to be quieter.

I am sorry this detracted from your stay, our Reception team are available 24 hours and had you been staying more than one night would have offered another apartment depending on our availability.

Please do contact me directly in order that I may note your preferences for your next stay.

Kind Regards

Stephen Kinnear
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    319
    103
    15
    2
    3
See reviews for
67
224
23
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012

The hotel is in a gret location! Close to Princes street. Rooms are super clean! Very well eqipped rooms! Comfy beds etc. No worries about the room. The Front desk service was very spotty... Let me explain. We had two incidents.

1. We were taking a trip outside Edinburgh and needed to go near Holyrood castle which was our pick-up point. So we needed to get a taxi in the morning. I checked with the front desk if they were open 24 hours and they said they were. Next day morning we left our room at 7.00 AM and came down and the front desk was locked. There was a message on the front desk door asking us to call a number (a cell phone) if we need anything. It was not a message that said "be back in 10 mins or something". We had to go out walk 15 mins to the station and then take a taxi and barely made it...

2. When we checked out, we wanted to drop our luggage off and collect it in the evening when we had the train. The norm in ALL hotels I have been too in the last 10 years is: they take your bags and given you a token. Here they gave us a code as asked us to go to the garage where they have a keypad entry room and put our luggage in ourselves. We come back in the evening and collect it ourselves. So anyone with the keypad code (read other guests) can access your luggage. This is not very safe or correct. Imagine is one of the guest lost the code written in a card. Everyone's luggage is at risk.

These two expereinces left a bad taste...We dealt with the front desk only twice during our stay and both times it was weird. But you dont have to deal with them. The rooms are great, clean and in a great part of town! It is a compromise.

Room Tip: Stay away from the backside of the hotel. They have garbage trucks that come in a 4.00 AM and can ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheSeattleTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain_Court, Reception Manager at Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments, responded to this review, 17 October 2012
Thank you for your review of your recent stay.

As you confirm our Stewart Apartments have a great city centre location with Princes Street and many tourist attractions all within walking distance.

I have passed your welcome comments regarding the excellent cleanliness and well equipped apartments to our Housekeeping team.

With regard to our Reception- it is open 24 hours, however our Night Porter had left the desk to assist another guest and when this occurs-there is a sign explaining this and detailing the mobile number to contact him on. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused.

In light of your constructive comments regarding our left luggage I have reviewed our procedures.

We do have a friendly and professional Reception team who look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Stephen Kinnear
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012 via mobile

Location is first class. We felt safe & secure. Apartment is spacious, well equipped and spotlessly clean. TVs are high definition Freeview. There is a blueray player although there are no blueray discs but it doubles as a iPod or iPhone charger. Bedroom has an iPod or iPhone docking alarm clock. Bed was a standard double size although there was space for something a bit larger. Good bedroom lighting but none of that confusing array of switches by the bedside. Good sized bath and a very very powerful shower (would have been bruising if turned on fully). Heated mirror in bathroom. We were on the ground floor at the front but did not find the noise from outside a problem. We found our apartment in October rather hot even with the radiators all turned off, but we were offered a portable fan. Wifi was very flaky, we didn't have a corkscrew (I am sure one would have been provided if I had asked) and the entrance smells of Pea & Ham soup. Will definitely come back and hope it smells of Scotch Broth next time :~)

Helpful?
1 Thank E2Fatboy
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Location of apartments are great for exploring Edinburgh. Found location easily. Car elevator is an experience the first time! But glad to know we could leave our car somewhere safe and didnt have to worry about where the traffic warden was! (patrols outside frequently). Apartment perfect for our needs- 2 adults visiting for leisure. We stayed for 4 nights. Handy having washing machine etc. Great being able to come back to apartment to relax at the end of a day out. Our apartment had a bath with a shower over it. Everything as described. Fixtures etc to a high standard. Not sure why people have written complaints about noise?! Yes you can hear cars going up and down cobbles but its the middle of a city and you are next to a road! Noise didn't bother us and I live in a semi rural location usually. Apartment serviced daily, which was great. Like little fairies had been in to tidy up! Only issue we had was code to car parking changed and we weren't informed but this was easily rectified with a phone call. Very happy with our stay. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Book car parking. Edinburgh is easy to get around on foot. I saw the traffic warden pass our window...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Secret_Inspector007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Although I initially thought that the apartments were quite expensive, they were worth every penny. I stayed here with my husband and 10 week old baby. The apartment is small but has all that you need. It was clean and modern.
The location is fantastic being around the corner from George street.
I would highly recommend these apartments and would def stay again

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelB83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2012

Stayed for 2 nights. Better price and much better room than a standard full service hotel. Fully equipped one bedroom apartment with living room . Bed looked like a standard double rather than a larger queen or king, but was actually very comfortable. Good, quiet central location

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AndrewS P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights over a weekend at the end of the festival. Apartment was reasonably priced and comes with a fully equiped kitchen, open plan sitting room and seperate bedroom and bathroom. It was tidy and clean and furnishings were comfortable and modern. The location is excellent, a stones throw from Princes St. They contacted us to let us know our room was ready 3 hours earlier than the official check in time which was really helpful and they let us store our bags there earlier as well.
The only negative is that it is on a cobbled street so if you get an apartment on the road it is a little noisey but we sleep heavily so not a problem for us. Also to be honsest, you don't get alot of traffic down the street at night anyway!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clairey20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Fountain Court Apartments Royal Garden
West End
Fountain Court Apartments - Grove Executive
New Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Roxburghe Hotel
The Roxburghe Hotel
#60 of 149 in Edinburgh
2,119 reviews
West End
Fountain Court Apartments - EQ2
New Town
Frederick House Hotel
Frederick House Hotel
#113 of 149 in Edinburgh
680 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments

Property: Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
Address: 10 Young Street, Edinburgh EH2 4JB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#14 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 31 boutique style serviced apartments are located over 3 floors with lift access to all. Each apartment features an open plan living room and fully fitted kitchen including dishwasher and washing machine. All furnishings in the lounge, bedroom and bathroom are finished to an extremely high specification. Each apartment comes equipped with the latest technology, including a 37 inch HD television, blu-ray DVD player and iPod dock in the living room and a 32 inch HD TV in the bedroom, as well as free wireless broadband access, Sky sports and movie channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Lastminute, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing