We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent for Long Business Stay and Personally” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
Ranked #67 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent for Long Business Stay and Personally”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

I have stayed in Stewart Apartment ,Young Street for 10 months through my company expenses. The place is very near to Princess Street and city center. The room service is flawless and all people working there are cheerful. Adequately spacious clean rooms and good facilities. Room Rates are also good if we go for corporate booking for long stays.

Room Tip: Rooms on 1 and 2 floor are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank devesh_arora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    100
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
66
218
21
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

Friendly staff, good location, adequately spacious clean rooms and good facilities. But, I have to say the 10.30am checkout seems a little mean! The filters on the internet that blocked streaming sites also seemed mean and a little odd. I stay in around 50 hotels a year and have never encountered this before, except in China. It wasn't a problem as I was only staying one night but if I was planning an extended stay it would definitely put me off coming back. A lack of a hair dryer and the poor soundproofing of the rooms were other minuses. I booked my stay at Fountain Court Stewart Apartments based entirely on their Tripadvsior rating (something they are patently very keen to use to promote their apartments as there are signs all over asking customers to leave feedback here). I would go back but I feel 96% is a tad high. Around 80% seems more realistic.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank keith m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain_Court, Reception Manager at Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments, responded to this review, 2 July 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Stewart Apartments.

Each apartment is equipped with a hair dryer, please accept my apologies if the hair dryer was missing.

We are able to lift the internet restrictions if requested in advance.

I look forward to welcoming you back to Stewart Apartments.

Kind Regards

Stephen Kinnear
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

I stayed in one of the apartment rooms with my boyfriend during our short weekend break in Edinburgh.
The apartment is roughly a ten minute walk away from the train station and the location is very central in regards to fact that everything is only a short distance away from where you are.
Upon arrival we were greeted by a friendly member of staff on reception that required a few personal details from us before handing us the key to our room and was happy to offer her help and advice if we required it.
In general, the whole building was very clean and modern and I was thoroughly impressed by it all; and that was before we even got into our room.
The actual apartment is exactly what it says on a tin. An apartment. There were three rooms in total if you count the bathroom as its own room. The first room you enter when you walk in is the kitchen/dining/living room area which was very spacious. The kitchen was fully equipped with an oven, dishwasher and washing machine, and also plenty of pots, pans and cutlery. There is complimentary tea and coffee sachets provided including some milk pods, but if you do run out of milk, there is a small newsagents/ corner shop close by, and also a sainsbury’s local about ten minutes away.
The living room area has a large flat screen tv with all the usual freeview channels but also sky family movies which was a nice addition and there is also a blu ray dvd player.
The connecting room is the bedroom which was clean, modern and very spacious. The bed was huge and very comfy which was a big plus for me as I struggle to sleep sometimes when I stay in hotels.
There is a decent sized wardrobe for two people in the room, with shelves and a hanging rail, plus an iron and ironing board.
As well as the tv in the living room area, there is also one in the bedroom and if you play a blu ray dvd in the player in the living room it will play on the tv in the bedroom.
Overall we had a great stay, so it was a shame we were only there for two nights. I would thoroughly recommend this place, especially if you are going to be staying in Edinburgh for more than a few days.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AramintaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

I was in Edinburgh for 4 nights, attending a conference held at the Roxburghe Hotel, just one block away and Stewart Apartments didn't disappoint. Spacious room (room 6) and plenty of room to work.

It looks like the property have a very strict access to your room policy of 3pm, however they provide plenty of helpful advice, storage of luggage and an offer of a phone call when your room is ready (which didn't happen, but it didn't matter).

My colleague stayed next door in room 7 and he didn't have good mobile phone reception (UK mobile) so if you need to make or receive mobile calls, avoid that room.

Super-friendly reception staff who are obviously very motivated to maintain their high review ranking on Booking.com and similar websites. The price here was pretty good too (I booked via Booking.com) in spite of very high demand in town and me leaving the actual accommodation booking very late.

I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Avoid room 7 due to possible poor mobile phone reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Emufi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom/1 bathroom apartment which was very small. I would recommend it only for a family with small children other book 2 interconnecting 1 brm apartments. However, it had all you could need including a fully equipped kitchen with dishwasher and washing machine. The car park is tight and expensive at 15 Euro's a day. If you have a big car getting into the vehicle lift is tricky and requires a 20 point turn. The 2 bedroom unit is on the ground floor and felt insecure as people walked past the windows so we felt that we could not leave them open at night, even though it was so hot inside.

Room Tip: 2 bedroom apartment too small for 4 adults.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BTS_29er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Clean, modern, spacious and newly renovated apartments with a pretty good location. Only stayed one night (because our other hotel we stayed at the rest of the week was full the last night).

I can imagine it would be great if we were staying longer to have a room like this with kitchen and washer in the room. Or just wanna save up on some cash by cooking your own breakfast/food.

- Service was flawless.
- The breakfast, which we ordered (and is in the fridge we you arrive) was good but a bit pricey (£45/4people) as you have to cook it yourself.
- The one complaint we have is that the ironing board was just terrible, would hardly stand up by itself and the foam pad on top was loose so ironing took forever. The bright side was the iron itself which was one of the better hotel-irons I've used (BOSCH).
- Doors in the rooms closed very heavily (with a slam) which was a bit disturbing, since you hear all your neighbours getting home in the middle of the night (if you come home earlier then them).
- Beds were a bit small and so were the pillows, but we slept well none the less.

All in all we were pleased with our stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stefan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain_Court, Reception Manager at Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay.

Please accept my apologies regarding the ironing board, rest assured our Housekeeper has now replaced.

We do offer king beds in our superior one bedroom apartments, perhaps for your next stay.

I am glad that you had a great stay and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Stephen Kinnear
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2013

I stayed 2 nights on my own in a double apartment on the first floor (at the rear) at the end of May.
The Apartments are very nice with some nice thoughtful touches added. I didn't use the self catering facilities but they seemed very good quality. The rooms were nicely laid out, well finished and spacious.
The concierge service was also very good and helpful without being intrusive.
The location is also really good obviously and depsite other reviews I personally didn't experience problems with noise in the lane below my windows (I prefer rooms cooler so found the rooms troo warm - as a result I opened the windows and even so I didn't find noise a problem).
I would recommend these apartments for any couple who want to explore Edinburgh and have a comfortable and tasteful base from which to do it.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adam H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Fountain Court Apartments Royal Garden
West End
Fountain Court Apartments - Grove Executive
New Town
Frederick House Hotel
Frederick House Hotel
#111 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Tigerlily Hotel
Tigerlily Hotel
#23 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
New Town
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
#81 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments

Property: Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
Address: 10 Young Street, Edinburgh EH2 4JB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#14 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#37 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 31 boutique style serviced apartments are located over 3 floors with lift access to all. Each apartment features an open plan living room and fully fitted kitchen including dishwasher and washing machine. All furnishings in the lounge, bedroom and bathroom are finished to an extremely high specification. Each apartment comes equipped with the latest technology, including a 37 inch HD television, blu-ray DVD player and iPod dock in the living room and a 32 inch HD TV in the bedroom, as well as free wireless broadband access, Sky sports and movie channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing