We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
Ranked #79 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very good”
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Had a nice stay here in a 1-bedroom apartment. Apartment was clean and furnished with everything you might need. Staff at reception were warm and happy to help with tourist information and planning. Only downside is that our apartment did smell of cigarettes and that if you sleep with the windows open, you may get woken up early due to outside noises. Other than that, had a great stay here. Location is walking distance to Edinburgh centre.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justagirl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain_Court, Reception Manager at Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay.

Please accept my sincere apologies for the smell of smoke in your apartment and the lapse in our usual high Housekeeping standards.

The apartments are non smoking and we monitor this-should guests have smoked in their apartment we do apply a minimum £50 charge.

I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Stephen Kinnear
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    100
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
67
219
21
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york, new york
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We attended the Fringe Festival this year and based on Trip Advisor reviews and ratings I chose this property for our stay. We stayed in the only 2 bedroom apartment. It was nicely appointed although quite small for the price. The location was good, close enough to most of the venues that we could walk to them. This apartment is in the rear of the building and the noise level due to the delivery and sanitation trucks loading and unloading as late as 1 a.m. and as early as 7 a.m. made this a very unpleasant stay. When I expressed my concerns to the front desk they were quickly dismissed.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stfor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Israel
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights.

We stayed in apartment that has 1 bedroom, 1 living room, 1 bathroom and kitchen. The apartment is specious, very clean, modern design, looks completely renovated. The apartment is very well equipped. It looks like they thought of everything you may need for staying there. All kitchen appliances, washer-dryer for the cloths, all you need for ironing, for cooking, etc. there are 2 TV's: one in the living room, one in the bedroom, both with a lot of channels to choose from, also DVD, etc. Bathroom was very specious, very nicely decorated; the bath is also the shower with a good water supply.

Free wi-fi was very good.

Location is very good: 5 minutes' walk from Princess Street, and pretty close to the castle.

If you arrive with a car and need to use the hotel's parking, it is very important to pay attention to the size of your car. (They say what is the recommended size of the car in the website). Our car was bigger size because the rental company didn't have the car size we ordered, and it was very very hard to get into the parking.

No air condition in the apartment.
The doors will not stay open, entering the room smelled of mold

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank zvikahalevi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dubai
Level Contributor
103 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Once again I would rather give this as good, due to value for money, but as mediocre is too negative, I am forced to put it into very good. Stayed 2 nights here for around £150 which for last minute in festival time is OK value - £60 for bed in 6 bedroom dorm to give comparison. For that you get a decent floor space lounge, OK bathroom, a fairly small bedroom and well equipped kitchen. What you do not get is any great style - all a bit cheap looking and other than bathroom a bit gloomy feel; only regular double bed when they could have put in Queens (this was basic room), another lamp would be nice - to reduce need for putting on overhead lights in lounge which is very harsh lighting (still feels gloomy with the dark wood finish and dark brown leather couch). Bathroom is OK modern style with good pressure shower. Bed had OK mattress.

Location is its positive and negative - very central for tourists, but ground floor room is right on the street and though not busy and room has OK double glazing, the cobblestones do generate noise and one feels a little uncomfortable opening the window. Parking with lift is for those with small car and very confident parkers, otherwise takes a while to position.

So overall - I can't say I would go out of my way to recommend the place, but I would not stop anyone going there. If Chester Residence is available for up to 2.5x- 3x the Fountain Court price and you can afford it, I would definitely choose the Chester as much more stylish and oozing quality - over that multiple and Fountain Court is then too much better value for money - just not an experience.

Room Tip: Try to avoid ground floor on street
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dubainick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

This is not a cheap apartment to stay in but it is in central Edinburgh!

Close to pretty much everything - about 30 min walk to the other side of town. It's one block away from the start of the 'busy part' which is great as its means its quiet.

The place was SPOTLESS and that is no exaggeration. It feels like no one has ever stayed there. Bathroom is fantastic as is the powerful shower. All cutlery and appliances have not a scratch on them.

The bed was comfy enough and there was a TV in there too although we didn't get a the time to switch it on as this was during the fringe.

We cooked a few nights without any hassle to save a bit of money!

Parking is a bit of a nightmare as it's tight - you have to do a 50 point turn to get back into the car lift up to the street level but I managed it in the end.

Staff are polite and the whole building feels very secure with key fob access after 5:30.

ONLY fault is the bin men arrive in the morning at the back (which is where our apartment is). They clear all the big bins used by the restaurant and take about 30 minutes. This is 7:30 in the morning so not great if you were out the night before. Sadly I am not sure the apartments can fix this, it just comes with the territory.

Its only week days so weekend stays aren't a problem.

Room Tip: Get a room at the front to avoid the noise from the bin men at 7:30 on weekday mornings...they will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pathum Thani, Thailand
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Location is superb in walking distance to shopping areas, restaurants and cafes, train station and even a long walk to the castle if you must. First, our plan was to use the kitchen facilities to its full use, but with all the cafes nearly, we just couldn't help try some of them. And they're fabulous. Really an ideal place for family with children. However, we got woken up in the morning by the working garbage trucks and noisy garbage chucking as ours is just by the backstreet so ask for rooms at the front side should help.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ciostyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caloundra, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

After travelling around England for 2 weeks and was great to stay in an apartment which had everything that you needed. When we arrived the the booking in was simple the front desk young bloke( wish I knew his name) was so helpful coming outside to assist us with the underground parking. The room had everything you needed and very comfortable. Would not hesitate to recommend these apartment.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 62WAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Fountain Court Apartments Royal Garden
New Town
The Roxburghe Hotel
The Roxburghe Hotel
#67 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,054 reviews
New Town
Frederick House Hotel
Frederick House Hotel
#114 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
#78 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 784 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
New Town
Tigerlily Hotel
Tigerlily Hotel
#19 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments

Property: Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
Address: 10 Young Street, Edinburgh EH2 4JB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#14 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#43 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 31 boutique style serviced apartments are located over 3 floors with lift access to all. Each apartment features an open plan living room and fully fitted kitchen including dishwasher and washing machine. All furnishings in the lounge, bedroom and bathroom are finished to an extremely high specification. Each apartment comes equipped with the latest technology, including a 37 inch HD television, blu-ray DVD player and iPod dock in the living room and a 32 inch HD TV in the bedroom, as well as free wireless broadband access, Sky sports and movie channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Lastminute, ACCOR, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing