We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Recent visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
Ranked #67 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
dumfries
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Recent visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2013

Having looked at all the reviews posted for Fountain Court I was in two minds what sort of review to leave. The location is undoubtedly superb, especially for those who are new visitors or do not know Edinburgh particularly well;everything is within walking distance. The Oxford Bar is next door, which I believe is on the map for Ian Rankin fans. Staff cannot be faulted.
The facilities provided are well above the price charged. The place has been recently totally upgraded. The bathroom would grace a 4 star hotel. The open plan living/kitchen area is well appointed, boasting plasma TV, cooker, dishwasher etc.
We were in a ground floor double apartment, which most have commented that the noise is a problem; well, it's in the middle of Edinburgh with several busy bars nearby so thats what you are going to get.
These well appointed facilities are designed, I think mainly for clients that want to stay in Edinburgh for more than two nights and use this as a base. If you are visiting for a night, try and get an apartment facing the street, rather than the back of the property or pay two or three times the amount for a comparable hotel. I can't really imagine anyone taking advantage of the extensive facilities provided for one night because you would eat out and not wash your clothes; but for those who stay for a period you will not find better.
With this in mind this property deserves a 5 star review. (I believe they have several others scattered around the city) However, there is one problem, and that relates to parking (Which to be fair is an ongoing expensive problem in Edinburgh) Presumably the main clientele attracted is for those who do not know Edinburgh and wish to stay for a while. Edinburgh is not the easiest city to negotiate, Sat Navs cannot keep up with the complexities of the changing road layouts that Edinburgh has suffered over the past few years, so can be very confusing for foreign clients.
Be aware that the undergroud parking is a very tight entrance in a one way back lane which has numerous bins and delivery vehicles which does make access at certain times a tad difficult. For those who are not comfortable with this it may be easier to park elsewhere and taxi here. Parking is charged at £15 per day, which is well below the usual £22 elsewhere.
In summary, this place is excellent value for money, extremely well appointed and located for those who have never visited before. Yes, a bit noisy; but it's a city. The ideal place to stay for a couple of days or more. There is obvious thought behind what they provide, and this should be supported.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank comlongon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain_Court, Reception Manager at Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Stewart Apartments and for your positive feedback and constructive comments which I shall share with our team.

It is refreshing to read such a balanced, honest and fair review.

I am delighted that you appreciated the excellent location and value for money a serviced apartment can offer. We do offer 5 other locations within Edinburgh.

The parking can be difficult, we do offer the maximum car size the lift can accommodate on our web-site www.fountaincourt.com and we also try to monitor the bins in the back street.

I do look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Stephen Kinnear
Reception Manager

I
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    100
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
66
218
21
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

I feel than this is an excellent choice for the traveller who wants more than a simple hotel room. I based my choice on reviews on Trip Advisor and was not disappointed. We stayed for 3 nights and in retrospect feel that we should have extended our stay in Edinburgh and eliminated Glasgow. The apartment was clean and spacious. The bed comfortable. The bathroom quite large. The location is on a quiet side street so that even though our apartment was on the ground floor, we were able to sleep without difficulty. It's about a 15 minute walk to the Old Town tourist area. Only a few blocks to the groceries needed for your stay. I can heartily recommend this establishment

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank dalowe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We stayed in Stewart Apartments for 5 nights.
The apartment was well appointed; an excellent location for central Edinburgh; and with helpful staff.
The kitchen had a good selection of crockery and cutlery and it was possible to cook a reasonable dinner for 6 people.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alex F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2013

These apartments could not have been better located. A couple of hundred yards from Princes Street. They can be a little noisy in the morning as they back onto the back of a row of restaurants and pubs who seem to throw out the bottles in the morning. Not a big deal and more than offset by the central location. There is parking underneath but not enough if the apartments are full and everyone brings their car. It is tight to get into but not impossible. Rooms were not bad but slightly spoilt by some stains on the carpets. Nice and roomy though

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyjames4040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

I only stayed one night here renting a one room apartment that would do for two. Young street is close to George Street: a perfect location. The kitchen and bathroom fittings all seemed new. Everything was really clean. The kitchen was fully stocked with glasses, plates, etc and even had washing up liquid and dish cloth. The shower (no bath) was excellent, good power and heat. Wooden/laminate floor boards in kitchen/bathroom area. Bed was comfortable but room a little too hot for me. I turned down the radiators but they seemed to come on in the morning. I was woken at 8am by the lorry collecting the bottles from the pub next door but didn't hear any noise during the night. There are 2 TVs in the room. There is parking but I didn't use that. 24 hour reception. Would definitely recommend staying here. I booked on booking.com rather than the fountain court website for a better deal (£109 per night instead of £122 per night).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sazzer73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain_Court, Reception Manager at Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Stewart Apartments.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay and will share your feedback with the team.

Some of our one bedroom apartments do offer bath and this is on a request basis.

The rates would be the same on our site as other sites, the rate difference would be for the superior one bedroom apartment which is more spacious and has a king bed.

I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards


Stephen Kinnear
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morecambe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

I think on the whole this was a great trip to Edinburgh. The apartment was clean and nice, staff very helpful indeed.The apartment does not justify the cost those, especially when you take into account extra for parking. The car park entry via lift was very off putting... make sure you have a small car or you will find the car lift difficult to handle.
Anyway it was still a great apartment and a fantastic position to access the city...have fun we did!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

We are currently at te Fountain Court Stewart and agree with all the positive comments posted before. It is nice to have a 'home' with a full kitchen, laundry facilities and a little space to spread out. Being on par pricewise with a 2star hotel makes this the bargain of the decade. In a city with so much to see and do, it's nice to have a home in which to relax rather than just a small room.

We will stay here again on our next trip to Scotland. It is lovely.

Room Tip: I might ask for a room on a higher floor on away from the street. The cars going by the first floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wickedwillingwench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Fountain Court Apartments Royal Garden
West End
Fountain Court Apartments - Grove Executive
New Town
Frederick House Hotel
Frederick House Hotel
#111 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Tigerlily Hotel
Tigerlily Hotel
#23 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
New Town
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
#81 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 771 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments

Property: Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
Address: 10 Young Street, Edinburgh EH2 4JB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#14 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#37 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 31 boutique style serviced apartments are located over 3 floors with lift access to all. Each apartment features an open plan living room and fully fitted kitchen including dishwasher and washing machine. All furnishings in the lounge, bedroom and bathroom are finished to an extremely high specification. Each apartment comes equipped with the latest technology, including a 37 inch HD television, blu-ray DVD player and iPod dock in the living room and a 32 inch HD TV in the bedroom, as well as free wireless broadband access, Sky sports and movie channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing