We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing, and expensive for what you get.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
Ranked #76 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing, and expensive for what you get.”
Reviewed 21 February 2014 via mobile

"King size" double bed is actually 2 beds connected together, one of which has a lumpy and quite uncomfortable mattress.

The sliding front door to the building take an age to open.

Internet connection is rubbish.
establishing a connect takes 5 minutes or more,
the "acceptable use policy" prohibits using Skype, BBC iPlayer for streaming radio or TV

Kitchen appliances are cheap and fiddly to use because the "appliance instructions" folder is poor, truthfully the instructions are very poor.
Using the oven is nothing short of random, the appliance instructions bear no relation to the buttons on the front of the appliance.

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank John K B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain_Court, Reception Manager at Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
Thank you for your recent review.

I am glad that you were still inhouse and that we were able to discuss your comments and address your concerns.

Our king beds like most serviced apartments & hotels are zip and link beds-we did change your mattresses.

The sliding doors were adjusted.

We do offer a fair broadband usage policy and are able to lift restrictions when requested in advance.

The kitchen appliances are of good quality-however our Facilities Manager is to review the appliance instructions.

I do look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards

Stephen Kinnear
Reception Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

436 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    315
    101
    15
    2
    3
See reviews for
67
222
21
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Stayed here with my partner for 2 nights over valentines day. The location is amazing and completly central - no need for cabs/taxi's. The room was fault less, really big bathroom with a decent shower head. The bedroom had a ironing board, iron and hairdryer. The kitchen had a microwave, toaster, dishwasher and washing machine. The staff were really friendly and helpfull. There was a really nice restaurant/pub only a few doors down from the hotel which was very handy. All in all very happy with this stay and will be going back very soon!!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samtreacle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fountain_Court, Fountain Court team member at Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for your glowing review of our Stewart apartments, it is always good to hear positive feedback from our valued residents. Your comments shall be passed on to the staff and we look forward to your next visit with us.

Warmest regards

Colin Mackay

Fountain Court team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Friendly front desk staff, spacious accommodations. Only drawback is proximity to street and alley trash collection (?) right outside the window, but really, such a minor thing and no reason not to stay here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pokey72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Stayed here for three nights over New Year. Originally booked at another Fountain Court property but 'upgraded' to these due to some maintenance issues at the other location. We lucked out as both the location and standard at Young Street were excellent. A short stroll to the brilliant New Years madness and the rest of the city centre on the other days. Brilliant kitchens, bathrooms and bedroom in our one bedded apartments. Rooms a little noisy if facing Young Street due to cars on the old cobblestones, but we got used to it! On-site reception staff all very friendly and helpful. Underground parking via a lift was a little daunting in a mini-van but we got the hang of it and given the downtown location, parking was very welcome. Great stay and a great city. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Rooms on the lane side (not Young St side) may be quieter. Not a huge issue though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CWBris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

The apartment was great, with everything you could need for a stay in Edinburgh. The location is very good, with good restaurants in the immediate vicinity. I found the room very big and the bed was comfortable. The check in process was fast and efficient, and the staff were excellent.

The only negative I have about the place is the shower...unfortunately the shower is one of those over the bath and they have not got the shower curtain right. Once the curtain is closed there is not enough space to stand properly without the curtain touching you...which I really don't like! May seem a small thing, but if you are like me and don't like it, I am sure you will appreciate the tip! :)

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Reluctant_business
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deakin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

A little hard to find if you are driving, but that is the only negative to this property. Rooms are lovely staff are great and it was quite, warm and welcoming. The beds are really comfy and the kitchen is great.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiji20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed for a couple of nights in late December, room was spotless and very well appointed, they are just like having your own apartment except while you are out someone comes and cleans and tidys for you!

We opted for the breakfast for 1 day and it was more than adequate for what we required.

The on site parking is under ground accessible by a large lift around the back of the apartments, Seat Leon fit without any problems. Upon checking out on the final day we were told we could leave the car in the car park for a few hours to enjoy some more of the city.

Both agreed 2 nights wasn't long enough to see everything in Edinburgh and that we would definately be using the Stewart Apartments again on our return!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Fountain Court Apartments Royal Garden
New Town
Travelodge Edinburgh Central Queen Street
West End
Fountain Court Apartments - Grove Executive
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Roxburghe Hotel
The Roxburghe Hotel
#68 of 148 in Edinburgh
2,075 reviews
New Town
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
#78 of 148 in Edinburgh
792 reviews
New Town
Frederick House Hotel
Frederick House Hotel
#111 of 148 in Edinburgh
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments

Property: Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
Address: 10 Young Street, Edinburgh EH2 4JB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#14 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#41 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our 31 boutique style serviced apartments are located over 3 floors with lift access to all. Each apartment features an open plan living room and fully fitted kitchen including dishwasher and washing machine. All furnishings in the lounge, bedroom and bathroom are finished to an extremely high specification. Each apartment comes equipped with the latest technology, including a 37 inch HD television, blu-ray DVD player and iPod dock in the living room and a 32 inch HD TV in the bedroom, as well as free wireless broadband access, Sky sports and movie channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Hotels.com, Lastminute, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing