We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice surprise and would highly recommend!!”
Review of Glenalmond House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Glenalmond House
Ranked #63 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 September 2012 via mobile

I came across Glenalmond my pure luck as I was driving down Minto St after arriving in Edinburgh and having no idea where to stay. Glenalmond just happened to have parking spaces off the main street that I could easily see.

I was pleasantly surprised by what I recieved for my $$ - the room was luxurious!!! The bed was huge, the room was clean (and although had an old fashioned look to it) was modern and the ensuite looked to be newly updated!!

The position was perfect for my adventures around Edinburgh the following day and they put on a fantastic breakfast!!

There's nothing I can think of that could have been improved with this place and I highly recommend for anyone travelling through Edinburgh!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KelRobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2012

Having had a bad experience with another Hotel that we had booked to stay in whilst we visited The Edinburgh Tattoo, it was with desperation after trying five other places that we landed up at The Glenalmond. With Edinburgh heaving with people for the Festival and The Tattoo we were so lucky to find this beautiful Victorian property and also to have such lovely hosts as Jimmy and Fiona. The only room they had free was a family room and we were just a couple, but it was a beautiful room, spotlessly clean, comfortable beds and the breakfast is amazing, cooked beautifully piping hot wonderful selection of both cold and hot food and to top it all it was £30.00 per night cheaper than the original hotel we booked. I really cannot rate this hotel highly enough. Thank you for turning what seemed to be a disaster into such a great experience. Also it has ample parking so we left our car there and used the bus as it is on a bus route that has about 5 buses that go into the centre of Edinburgh.,

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pauline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

We spent 3 pleasant nights at the Glenalmond which is a very convenient base for visiting Edinburgh. The hotel is a short distance from the city centre but located on a main road with an excellent and frequent bus service stopping close by. Our room on the ground floor was an adequate size, spotlessly clean, the decor was fresh and the bathroom modern and well appointed. A varied selection was offered for breakfast and the generous portions of food always beautifully cooked and well presented. The owners seemed very pleasant and helpful and I shall certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Some people might prefer a room not facing the main road as inevitably there is some traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traveller1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

Had 3 memorable nights in Glenalmond House which is one of the better B&B's we have stayed n. We had the front room with a large double poster bed which was a good size, very comfortable and very clean. Location for us was good. A few miles out of Edinburgh, too far too walk but there are regular buses running past the B&B so getting into town and back is not a problem. Fiona and Jimmy were excellent hosts making us feel very welcome, and Jimmy's omelettes for breakfast are a treat not to be missed.

Room Tip: Contact them directly if possible as is cheaper than using a booking engine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ronp1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We stayed in Glenalmond for 4 nights, first for 3 nights before moving into the Scottish Highlands and one night after getting back from the Highlands. It felt like staying at home. Fiona is a warm, friendly and an accommodating host. The cooked breakfast was great and you have a varied choice. The rooms are done up well and the bathrooms clean. There are a lot of food joints close by, a few minutes walk from the hotel. We would walk down to the hotel after dinner. It does not cost you much , 7-10 pounds, if you take a cab into the city centre or the Waverly railstation. Our room was on the ground floor, so pulling our luggage was no problem. Jimmy was very friendly and pleasant, always smiling! The internet connection was good. We would definitely recommend this house to everyone visiting Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AditiDubai_U_A_E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

The owners are a lovely couple and nothing was too much trouble. They were most helpful and the breakfast was excellent. If I return to Edinburgh I will definitely stay here again as the room was comfortable and spotlessly clean. The bus service from opposite the guest house is superb and reasonably priced, especially the day ticket. The owners recommended a place to eat in the evening. This was within easy walking distance and also excellent. Cameron/Smith

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smudger39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Our three night stay in Edinburgh was greatly enhanced by our stay here. The room and food were quality and the location was excellent. Our hosts, Jimmy and Fiona, were wonderfully accommodating and personable. A fantastic value for the money as well.

David and Lisa Wheeler
Loveland, Colorado

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
Kingsway Guest House
Kingsway Guest House
#12 of 393 in Edinburgh
506 reviews
0.0 mi away
23 Mayfield
23 Mayfield
#4 of 393 in Edinburgh
969 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lauderville Guest House
Lauderville Guest House
#27 of 393 in Edinburgh
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Alba House
Alba House
#37 of 393 in Edinburgh
176 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sherwood Guest House
Sherwood Guest House
#35 of 393 in Edinburgh
301 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sandaig Guest House
Sandaig Guest House
#53 of 393 in Edinburgh
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenalmond House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenalmond House

Address: 25 Mayfield Gardens, Edinburgh EH9 2BX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £84 - £123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenalmond House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glenalmond House is a Victorian 4 star rated guest house, with many original features. Private car parking is free, and there is free Wi-Fi available throughout the guest house. For that special occasion, why not book one of our beautiful deluxe en-suite rooms with queen-size 4-poster or Rococco bed. The extensive breakfast menu includes the traditional Scottish with haggis, scrambled egg with Scottish smoked salmon and many vegetarian options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Lastminute, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Glenalmond House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenalmond House Hotel Edinburgh
Glenalmond House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing