We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Glenalmond House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Glenalmond House
Ranked #60 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Delta, Ohio
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed 15 May 2013 via mobile

Stayed at the Glenalmond house this spring with another couple. So 2 rooms were booked. I was not part of the booking process, but basically we had an "upgrade" and the other couple took that room. My husband and I stayed in one of the rooms on the first floor.. I think room 4? Anyway, SMALL room! Small bathroom ! After looking at the other rooms online I guess I would have paid for the "upgrade" . Let me put it to you this way, our room was so small that there wasn't even room to walk around the bed once our suitcases were open. That is just my advice! Take the upgrade!
The Glenalmond was right on the bus route to downtown, buses ran all the time! There is a lovely lounge room to gather and talk, the breakfast was awesome! The people were friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay again and recommend with the "upgrade" cheers!

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Angie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenalmond, Owner at Glenalmond House, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
Dear Angie B,
We are very sorry that you were not satisfied with the ground floor room you stayed in at Glenalmond House. If you had let us know this when you were here, we could perhaps have done something about it for you. We would also like to mention that the other room your party had was a free upgrade and was provided on both occasions that you stayed with us.

The room you mention is small, but it is advertised as such, so that we do not mislead anyone or set any unrealistic expectations of room size. It is probably our most popular room, as it has a great picture window with a clear view of the lovely gardens to the rear of the house. It is also the cheapest room we have for 2 people.

Our pricing is based primarily on room size, so the more you pay, the larger the room. All the rooms have the same high quality furniture and facilities, just varying amounts of space. We do agree there is not a lot of space in this room if you do not use the wardrobe and drawer space for your things, which would enable you to store your cases upright and out of your way.

The other thing to mention is that you did have unlimited use of our recently opened guest lounge to relax in. This room has a TV, comfortable seating, ice machine and a laptop that is free to use for internet (although there is also free wifi throughout the house). We made this enhancement to the guest house with all our guests in mind, so that everyone would have somewhere comfortable to relax and socialise with their travelling companions, regardless of the size of room they have booked. We have found it to be very popular to date.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    37
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
54
122
14
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Beautiful detached Victorian house, very tastefully decorated. My boyfriend and I stayed in a deluxe four poster double room for the weekend. The room was beautifully furnished and the bed so comfortable! Plenty of room and well equipped. The guest house was on a main bus route into the city centre with buses running every few minutes, so very easy to get around.
Fiona and Jimmy were perfect hosts and made us feel very welcome. Breakfast was a delicious feast second to none.
We booked this break three months ago and had been really looking forward to it. Our expectations were surpassed. Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: Four poster room is worth paying a small amount of money extra for than a standard double for that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, Michigan
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Lovely detached Victorian Townhouse. Located close to a bus stop so City Center was only minutes away. Restaurants close enough to walk to if you desired. Spent 3 nights and traveled around Scotland and came back our final night before going home. It was like returning home. Jimmy and Fiona were wonderful hosts. Our beds were comfortable. Large fluffy towels (and wash cloths). Lots of hot water in the shower. Plentiful breakfast well prepared. Would return.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kjk68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thessaloniki, Greece
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2013

We stayed in a deluxe room for 4 nights. I must say that the value of the room was much higher than the amount we paid! It has a very nice decoration of classic style furnitures and its a very cozy hotel! Its not in the center of the town but its very close to a bus stop where buses passes every 5 minutes and you can be in the center in 10 minutes! The staff is excellent, friendly and very helpful! Breakfast is delicious and fresh cooked because you can ordered it every night for next day in the morning! We truly loved the hotel and we would stay again without a second thought.

Room Tip: Have in mind that plugs in UK are different but you can supply whatever converter you need from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IrkaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

We stayed here last year, so this is a little late. We stayed in the family room on the 2nd floor. It was tight, but fine for our needs. I have to say that this B & B has the best breakfast that we encountered. We spent 15 days in Scotland and traveled 1300 miles all over the country. This breakfast wins hands down. Additionally, the staff is very accommodating and friendly. Location is perfect. Only 10 minute bus ride to the Royal Mile - very easy and recommended. Our stay here was above and beyond expectation.s Thank you!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McC60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Found this B & B on the internet after lots of searching. The rooms sounded lovely and it was in a good location, handy for Edinburgh centre. I booked by phone and the owner, Fiona sounded very friendly and welcoming. I booked two four poster rooms for three nights and wasn't disappointed, they were beautiful. Tastefully decorated and furnished and very comfortable. Lovely welcome on arrival and plenty of information about local places to eat and getting into the City were provided. Breakfasts are ordered the evening before which allows for an extensive choice and were very good. I would recommend the Positano Italian, just up the road, where we had a friendly welcome and excellent meal and also the The Salisbury Arms. We did walk into the centre on one day which took about 20 mins. but taxi back was only £8 and the bus is good value at £1.40. All in all a lovely break away, Edinburgh is a fantastic city and the Glenalmond is an excellent place to stay while you're there. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Miriam125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

We arrived earlier than expected in the morning but were greeted warmly by Jimmy and Fiona. I knew immediately that it was going to be a great stay at Glenalmond House. We were all tired from a long flight, but Jimmy made us hot tea and gave us some snacks while we waited for our room to be ready. Such great hospitality!

For our first 3 nights we stayed in stayed in the family room facing the street. The kids each had their own bed and we had no problems with street noise at all. The last couple nights we switched to 2 rooms (the family room had a prior reservation) which might work better if you have older kids. Jimmy and Fiona let us have the rooms for the same price which was very kind. WiFi worked well enough to keep everyone happy and connected.

Glenalmond house is only a few minutes from the center of Edinburgh by bus and there is a stop just a few feet away. The bus rides were easy but bring exact change! You can walk to the center of town in about 30 minutes if you are ambitious. Lots of shops and restaurants along the way. We rented a car on the last day and parking out front of Glenalmond House was no problem. Rosslyn chapel is a short distance away if you have a car. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Auggie721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
AmarAgua Guest House
#51 of 444 in Edinburgh
388 reviews
Sandaig Guest House
#41 of 444 in Edinburgh
742 reviews
Auld Reekie Guest House
#48 of 444 in Edinburgh
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Kew House
Kew House
#6 of 444 in Edinburgh
784 reviews
Sherwood Guest House
#29 of 444 in Edinburgh
269 reviews
Edinburgh Sixteen
#92 of 444 in Edinburgh
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenalmond House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenalmond House

Property: Glenalmond House
Address: 25 Mayfield Gardens, Edinburgh EH9 2BX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenalmond House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glenalmond House is a Victorian 4 star rated guest house, with many original features. Private car parking is free, and there is free Wi-Fi available throughout the guest house. For that special occasion, why not book one of our beautiful deluxe en-suite rooms with queen-size 4-poster or Rococco bed. The extensive breakfast menu includes the traditional Scottish with haggis, scrambled egg with Scottish smoked salmon and many vegetarian options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Glenalmond House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenalmond House Hotel Edinburgh
Glenalmond House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing