We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for visiting Edinburgh”
Review of Glenalmond House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Glenalmond House
Ranked #59 of 392 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Great place for visiting Edinburgh”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We found Glenalmond House in one of our tried & true travel books written by a popular travel author. This is a great find! We travel a lot & it's always a plus to find a place that is comfortable, immaculate & good value for money. The breakfast is a perfect selection in a sunny front dining room with several tables. There is also a great lounge with wifi & Laptop if you haven't brought yours alone. All the rooms are lovingly decorated with a bathroom & comfortable bed. Every day our room was freshened & tidied up. Jimmy & Fiona went out of their way to make bookings, offer suggestions & answer any questions. Highly recommend, you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Great location, immaculate, very helpful.Perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenalmond, Owner at Glenalmond House, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time out to write this lovely review. We really appreciate it. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to see you again when you are up in Scotland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    39
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
55
123
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We stayed for two nights at the weekend and were hugely impressed by Glenalmond. The property is furnished beautifully - our deluxe room with mahogany furniture and a four-poster bed felt very luxurious.

The hosts were superb. Fiona, in particular, ensured we had all the information we needed to make our stay in Edinburgh enjoyable. The breakfasts were delicious and very filling, too - no need for a big lunch. The tea and coffee in the bedroom was also a nice touch, as were the Kit Kat chocolates.

The property is within walking distance to the centre of Edinburgh, albeit about 25-30 minutes. Taking the bus is easy, too - it stops almost right outside and an all-day pass costs just £3.50.

All in all, a fantastic stay. We'd definitely stay again and recommend Glenalmond to anybody else travelling to Edinburgh.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, perhaps avoid rooms at the front of the property. The traffic noise c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCoppack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Welcomed into the home of the owners. Two lovely and friendly people. Made us feel completely at home - especially Jimmy (who was always nearby with a smile & looking to help out)
Lovely house, location near Edinburgh city centre & Arthur's seat/Holyrood.
Easy to get to, well situated.
Room clean, bed very comfortable & breakfast was excellent. Can't ask for more than that

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank The-Largest-Hobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Having had a great experience 2 years ago at this guest house we booked it again for our visit to Edinburgh. Jimmy and Fiona have decorated since we were last there and to a very high standard and spotlessly clean. Great to be able to park your car off the street and have easy access to buses that take you into the heart of the city. An excellent menu for breakfast which is served up beautifully. Thanks again for the warm welcome and a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014 via mobile

I cant anything but excellent one of the best B & Bs we have stayed in i would score it higher if I could just everything about the house is stunning we went with friends both bedroms were spotlessly clean the lounge and dinning very well decorated. The only thing about rating a stay so highly is when we go back will we be ablevto book in.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANDERSONSCAIFY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Congleton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 February 2014

lovely decorated Victorian guest house, we stay in room 8 which was a deluxe room with a four poster bed free Wi-Fi ,free parking ,extensive breakfast menu ,nothing to much trouble . easy access to the city by bus or walking about 20 mins

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gateshead, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Chose this B&B when our usual hotel was fully booked and we were not disappointed..
The service was first class and nothing seemed a bother, there was a good choice for breakfast which was cooked to perfection and plenty of it.
The standard double room was very clean and had everything you would want although a bit on the small size but not a problem for our 2 night stay.
Car parking was good and ideal to leave the car for the weekend especially with the excellent bus service from just across the road.
Thank you Jimmy for a very enjoyable stay.
Hope to return soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
Kingsway Guest House
Kingsway Guest House
#12 of 392 in Edinburgh
485 reviews
0.0 mi away
Auld Reekie Guest House
Auld Reekie Guest House
#53 of 392 in Edinburgh
145 reviews
0.0 mi away
23 Mayfield
23 Mayfield
#2 of 392 in Edinburgh
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Barony House
Barony House
#4 of 392 in Edinburgh
687 reviews
2.4 mi away
Kew House
Kew House
#7 of 392 in Edinburgh
809 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lauderville Guest House
Lauderville Guest House
#35 of 392 in Edinburgh
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenalmond House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenalmond House

Property: Glenalmond House
Address: 25 Mayfield Gardens, Edinburgh EH9 2BX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 392 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenalmond House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glenalmond House is a Victorian 4 star rated guest house, with many original features. Private car parking is free, and there is free Wi-Fi available throughout the guest house. For that special occasion, why not book one of our beautiful deluxe en-suite rooms with queen-size 4-poster or Rococco bed. The extensive breakfast menu includes the traditional Scottish with haggis, scrambled egg with Scottish smoked salmon and many vegetarian options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Glenalmond House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenalmond House Hotel Edinburgh
Glenalmond House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing