We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faultless, can't wait to go back!”
Review of Glenalmond House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Glenalmond House
Ranked #63 of 391 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Luton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Faultless, can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Picked this guest house as it's fairly close to the Corn Exchange (as we were going to a concert) while not being too far from the city centre. We were made very welcome and were even presented with a map with bus timetables to help us get around. Our room was spotless, beautiful and comfortable. They even printed us off instructions for getting to the Corn Exchange! Breakfast was delicious with fantastic choice of cooked options plus selection of fruit, cereal and yoghurt.
Highly recommend this 4 star rated establishment - personally would give them 5 stars. Will definitely stay again.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenalmond, Owner at Glenalmond House, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Rachel,

Thank you for the lovely review. we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    39
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
55
123
14
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dromore. Co Down
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

When the website used the words "delightful luxury accommodation" my mind instantly thought of a state of great elegance and comfort. Sadly with these expectations in mind I was badly disappointed. For classic double room read very small room with minimal space with big prices and an en-suite which is absolutely tiny. There was a space (hole) between the en-suite and the wall to hang clothes up. I would have been embarrassed to offer this room to anyone never name charge high prices. The breakfast and range was very good. There are better value places in Edinburgh and closer to the city centre. I am only sorry that I was tempted by the word "luxury".

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MountainmanDromore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenalmond, Owner at Glenalmond House, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at Glenalmond House, and you found the room you booked unsuitable.

We work very hard to make all our rooms as comfortable as possible for our guests, and we take great pride in the quality of the rooms and furnishings, as well as the service we provide.

It is true that some of our rooms are small, but this is reflected in the price. The last thing we want is for guests to be surprised or disappointed in the size of their room when they arrive. We do our best to meet customer expectations by providing full details of the rooms on our website, including stating that the classic rooms are small and providing clear photographs of all the rooms. Our more expensive rooms are larger and so will be more comfortable, with extra seating and a fridge, but all our rooms are furnished to the same standard. For those guests that want to spend time in the guest house and would like more space to relax, we do have a lovely guest lounge that is open 24 hours a day.

We are always open to constructive comments regarding the rooms and the service we provide. It is how we know what customers want from us and how we can continuously improve our business. Unfortunately, in this case, we were not made aware that you were unhappy with your room. Had you talked to us, you can be sure that we would have made every effort to resolve things to everyone’s satisfaction. It is frustrating for us that we were not allowed this opportunity at the time it mattered most – when you were here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

As you may have noticed, Edinburgh is not a cheap city to stay in. I came across this bed and breakfast in the Rick Steves guidebook and boy am I glad I did! It was such a cute place to stay and the room was so cute and fancy with a four poster bed decorated in a victorian style...as is the rest of the house. It was only about a mile walk to the center of town so it was close, but far enough away where we didn't have to drive right through the center to get there. Jimmy was so welcoming when we got there! We left super early the next morning as well which was not an issue for them. I would definitely recommend this hotel...great value in an expensive city!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmmmmkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenalmond, Owner at Glenalmond House, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review. We really appreciate it and we are also very glad that you found us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmichael, California
Level Contributor
28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I stayed at the Glenalmond House for 3 nights before joining a tour of Scotland. It is located in a very convenient area, busses run constantly on Mayfield Gardens. for 3.5 pounds you can get an all day pass and ride around to all of the important sites in Edinburgh. The room was nice, the bathroom modern, the bed comfortable, the breakfast just fine. The hosts were very helpful. All in all, this is a great place to stay. My room was quiet, facing the back, I could not hear the busy street out front.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cathym736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenalmond, Owner at Glenalmond House, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Hi Cathy, Thanks for the review - much appreciated. We hope you enjoyed your tour and have fallen in love with our beautiful country
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

They say people make a holiday and Jimmy and Fiona are such great hosts that you're enjoying yourself before you're in the door. So cheery and welcoming that you know things will be great. We had an overnight here to attend a friend's wedding and Jimmy and Fiona could not have been more helpful. Plenty of parking out front, a lovely bedroom with four poster bed and a superb cooked breakfast to see us off the next morning. We didn't get a chance to use it, but the back garden looked very welcoming and I could well imagine sitting outside there in the summer. We took a taxi into town (about 10 minutes) but there were also loads of buses. Everything about the place was spotless and it's certainly at the top of our list for a return visit to Edinburgh.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back which I would guess was quieter and it also had a lovely view onto the gar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mearnsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenalmond, Owner at Glenalmond House, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thanks so much for taking the time to review your stay with us - glad it was a good one. See you next time you venture across country.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We found Glenalmond House in one of our tried & true travel books written by a popular travel author. This is a great find! We travel a lot & it's always a plus to find a place that is comfortable, immaculate & good value for money. The breakfast is a perfect selection in a sunny front dining room with several tables. There is also a great lounge with wifi & Laptop if you haven't brought yours alone. All the rooms are lovingly decorated with a bathroom & comfortable bed. Every day our room was freshened & tidied up. Jimmy & Fiona went out of their way to make bookings, offer suggestions & answer any questions. Highly recommend, you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Great location, immaculate, very helpful.Perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenalmond, Owner at Glenalmond House, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time out to write this lovely review. We really appreciate it. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and we hope to see you again when you are up in Scotland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We stayed for two nights at the weekend and were hugely impressed by Glenalmond. The property is furnished beautifully - our deluxe room with mahogany furniture and a four-poster bed felt very luxurious.

The hosts were superb. Fiona, in particular, ensured we had all the information we needed to make our stay in Edinburgh enjoyable. The breakfasts were delicious and very filling, too - no need for a big lunch. The tea and coffee in the bedroom was also a nice touch, as were the Kit Kat chocolates.

The property is within walking distance to the centre of Edinburgh, albeit about 25-30 minutes. Taking the bus is easy, too - it stops almost right outside and an all-day pass costs just £3.50.

All in all, a fantastic stay. We'd definitely stay again and recommend Glenalmond to anybody else travelling to Edinburgh.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper, perhaps avoid rooms at the front of the property. The traffic noise c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NCoppack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
Kingsway Guest House
Kingsway Guest House
#13 of 391 in Edinburgh
485 reviews
0.0 mi away
Auld Reekie Guest House
Auld Reekie Guest House
#52 of 391 in Edinburgh
145 reviews
0.0 mi away
23 Mayfield
23 Mayfield
#2 of 391 in Edinburgh
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Barony House
Barony House
#4 of 391 in Edinburgh
687 reviews
2.4 mi away
Kew House
Kew House
#7 of 391 in Edinburgh
809 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lauderville Guest House
Lauderville Guest House
#39 of 391 in Edinburgh
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenalmond House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenalmond House

Property: Glenalmond House
Address: 25 Mayfield Gardens, Edinburgh EH9 2BX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #63 of 391 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenalmond House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glenalmond House is a Victorian 4 star rated guest house, with many original features. Private car parking is free, and there is free Wi-Fi available throughout the guest house. For that special occasion, why not book one of our beautiful deluxe en-suite rooms with queen-size 4-poster or Rococco bed. The extensive breakfast menu includes the traditional Scottish with haggis, scrambled egg with Scottish smoked salmon and many vegetarian options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Glenalmond House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenalmond House Hotel Edinburgh
Glenalmond House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing