We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B”
Review of Glenalmond House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glenalmond House
Ranked #61 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 July 2014

A chance find (though we did check on Trip Advisor), a great B&B close-ish to the centre of town. A twenty five minute walk or a couple of minute by bus from just outside the house.
We enjoyed just about all the options on the breakfast menu and they were all good, even if you did have to choose the evening before. The room we had, on the ground floor, was very comfortable and well furnished. The bathroom was good and very clean. Very friendly hosts, Fiona and Jimmy, who where also very helpful in planning our sightseeing. The whole house has been beautifully restored, to a very high standard. Great place to be based for time in Edinburgh. We will return!

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room which was excellent, but we got the impression from other guests all the...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandRKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenalmond, Owner at Glenalmond House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you very much for taking the time to review Glenalmond House - we really appreciate it, and are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (248)
There are newer reviews for Glenalmond House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 248 reviews

Reviewed 5 July 2014

The property's website and Rick Steves' recommendation easily convinced our travel party of four that the Glenalmond House should be our Edinburgh headquarters for five nights. Upon meeting our hosts, Fiona and Jimmy, we knew we had made the right the decision. We were welcomed at 11 AM from the airport and were surprised to find that our rooms were ready, something we greatly appreciated, but hardly expected. The website contained explicit directions to the B&B from the airport, and we were delighted to find that our hosts welcomed guests early and would store baggage until rooms could be cleaned, thus allowing travelers to begin their exploration of the city. The city bus was our main mode of transportation to the city, and Fiona provided us with information and maps to enable us to travel freely in the city. Breakfasts were huge and expertly prepared; we would highly recommend Jimmy's omelet. The rooms compared favorably with others in size on our trip and were always clean. On the morning we were to depart Edinburgh, Jimmy was kind enough to call a cab, which was cheaper than the one we took from the airport. Should we ever return to Edinburgh, we would not hesitate to book rooms at the Glenalmond House.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dbjayhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenalmond, Owner at Glenalmond House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at Glenalmond House and that we were able to help in making your visit to Scotland special.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

A terrific B&B with large rooms, comfy beds, great varied breakfast, and even a lounge to hang out in. We had 2 rooms as we have 3 teenagers and were just delighted with our stay. A short bus ride gets you into town where all the action and great pubs are located. A true gem.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenalmond, Owner at Glenalmond House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Hi Linda, It was a pleasure to meet you all and we are really happy that you enjoyed your stay here. Thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. See you next time

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I've read many reviews of this B & B and had high hopes. Unfortunately, things didnt work out as I had hoped during my stay there. Rick Steves book recommended this place, as did tripadvisors reviewers. We just did not feel that this was a comfortable place to stay. For example, you need to order your breakfast the night before by 8pm...and dont be late, or you wont get your tea! Every question I asked the owner, I felt was an annoyance. With only one house key to share, it was difficult not to ring the bell to be let into the house...and my husband was reprimanded.." where is your key?" It actually got comical ....we could only laugh at the very unfriendly hostess. Every part of the stay was calculated. Yes, you could use their phone , but it would cost 30p. Yes you could have a mini bottle of wine or a bag of nuts, but you best write down your room number so they could add it to your bill. Our room was not very clean...when I looked up at the chandelier, there were cobwebs....and when I went to plug in our adapter, the baseboards were very dusty. Location was not as we had hoped for either. We like to wake up early and walk to town for a coffee.....this was quite a distance to the Starbucks, or any other coffee shop. We did walk around the neighborhood, and to one side, it was lovely....but to the other side, it was a bit sketchy. You need to take a 10 minute bus ride to get into the Royal Mile area. So, we would not recommend this B & B , nor will we return here.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jwilkins23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenalmond, Owner at Glenalmond House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at Glenalmond House.

We were upset to hear that your room was not as clean as you would have expected, as we do pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our guest house. We would have addressed it immediately if you had told us about it when you were here, but you chose not to mention it. You can be sure that we have now thoroughly addressed this issue and revisited our staff training and cleaning regimes.

We also appreciate the opportunity to make some clarifications on the other things you said you were not happy with:

The quality and size of our breakfast menu is a main attraction of our guest house, and one of the reasons that we have many repeat customers. We are a small establishment and the only way we can offer this extensive menu is if we know what guests want the night before, so that we can get ourselves organised and do any last minute shopping if required. If we did not so this, then we would either have a very large amount of waste, which is not good for the environment or for keeping our prices down. Alternatively, we could reduce the menu to a manageable size, but we would only be able to offer one type of cooked breakfast. There is a lot of feedback in our reviews, and it definitely points to us keeping a wide choice, despite the small inconvenience of filling in a menu the night before. Further to this, we can say that we have never refused anyone a breakfast because they were late with or did not hand in a breakfast menu, and would not dream of doing any such thing.

We offer all guests an extra set of keys if they think they may not be together at all times, and this is reiterated in the Guest Information folder in your bedroom. We also tell you at check-in, that you should make sure you take your keys with you when you go out, so that you can always get in again. This is because occasionally we do have to go out of the house – there are only the two of us on duty 24/7, and we do everything – it is not like a large hotel where there are lots of staff and a receptionist on duty at all times. If we were out when someone came back without a key, then they would not be able to get into the guest house until we returned. This would not be good, so we try our best to make sure this doesn’t happen - although we are always contactable wherever we are. If you felt we were short with you when we had to let you in sometimes, then we sincerely apologise.

We offer many complimentary things at the guest house, some of which other places may charge you for. These include car parking, WiFi, a hospitality tray in your room with a generous amount of coffee, tea, hot chocolate and chocolate biscuits – no need to go out for coffee as you can make it in your room at any time - and a bottle of water. All the luxury Scottish made toiletries in the bathrooms are also complimentary.

We do have a payphone in the lobby, which has free taxi numbers pre-programmed for the convenience of our guests. Any other calls you want to make will be charged only at the rate we have to pay for them. The payphone is almost never used these days as nearly everyone has a mobile phone, so it is not as though we are making money from it – it is really just another service we are happy to provide for our guests. We are pretty certain that anywhere you stay will charge you if you use the phone in your room to make a call. Public payphones everywhere else in Edinburgh are not free either and are charged at 30p minimum – ours is set at 20p minimum.

The availability of additional drinks and snacks in our guest lounge, is another service we provide for our guests. Nobody has ever expected these items to be included in the room price, and we do explain how it works when we check you in.

We can’t do anything about the location of Glenalmond House – sorry. Being close, but outside the city centre is one of the attractions, as mentioned by many of our guests – a chance to get away from the noise and bustle of Edinburgh after a busy day sightseeing. There are plenty of excellent cafes, pubs and restaurants just a few minutes walk away from the guest house, so you don’t have to go into the city all the time – it can make a nice change. The area is beautiful, with outstanding Victorian architecture and leafy avenues to walk around – we love living in this delightful area of Edinburgh. You are only a mile from the Royal Mile, so it is still very convenient and the local buses are excellent. We show clearly where we are located, and you can check if there is a Starbucks nearby easily by an online search before booking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Picked this guest house as it's fairly close to the Corn Exchange (as we were going to a concert) while not being too far from the city centre. We were made very welcome and were even presented with a map with bus timetables to help us get around. Our room was spotless, beautiful and comfortable. They even printed us off instructions for getting to the Corn Exchange! Breakfast was delicious with fantastic choice of cooked options plus selection of fruit, cereal and yoghurt.
Highly recommend this 4 star rated establishment - personally would give them 5 stars. Will definitely stay again.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenalmond, Owner at Glenalmond House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Rachel,

Thank you for the lovely review. we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. It was a pleasure and we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

When the website used the words "delightful luxury accommodation" my mind instantly thought of a state of great elegance and comfort. Sadly with these expectations in mind I was badly disappointed. For classic double room read very small room with minimal space with big prices and an en-suite which is absolutely tiny. There was a space (hole) between the en-suite and the wall to hang clothes up. I would have been embarrassed to offer this room to anyone never name charge high prices. The breakfast and range was very good. There are better value places in Edinburgh and closer to the city centre. I am only sorry that I was tempted by the word "luxury".

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MountainmanDromore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenalmond, Owner at Glenalmond House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

We are very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay at Glenalmond House, and you found the room you booked unsuitable.

We work very hard to make all our rooms as comfortable as possible for our guests, and we take great pride in the quality of the rooms and furnishings, as well as the service we provide.

It is true that some of our rooms are small, but this is reflected in the price. The last thing we want is for guests to be surprised or disappointed in the size of their room when they arrive. We do our best to meet customer expectations by providing full details of the rooms on our website, including stating that the classic rooms are small and providing clear photographs of all the rooms. Our more expensive rooms are larger and so will be more comfortable, with extra seating and a fridge, but all our rooms are furnished to the same standard. For those guests that want to spend time in the guest house and would like more space to relax, we do have a lovely guest lounge that is open 24 hours a day.

We are always open to constructive comments regarding the rooms and the service we provide. It is how we know what customers want from us and how we can continuously improve our business. Unfortunately, in this case, we were not made aware that you were unhappy with your room. Had you talked to us, you can be sure that we would have made every effort to resolve things to everyone’s satisfaction. It is frustrating for us that we were not allowed this opportunity at the time it mattered most – when you were here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

As you may have noticed, Edinburgh is not a cheap city to stay in. I came across this bed and breakfast in the Rick Steves guidebook and boy am I glad I did! It was such a cute place to stay and the room was so cute and fancy with a four poster bed decorated in a victorian style...as is the rest of the house. It was only about a mile walk to the center of town so it was close, but far enough away where we didn't have to drive right through the center to get there. Jimmy was so welcoming when we got there! We left super early the next morning as well which was not an issue for them. I would definitely recommend this hotel...great value in an expensive city!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmmmmkay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glenalmond, Owner at Glenalmond House, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review. We really appreciate it and we are also very glad that you found us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
0.1 mi away
Kingsway Guest House
Kingsway Guest House
#12 of 393 in Edinburgh
502 reviews
0.0 mi away
23 Mayfield
23 Mayfield
#4 of 393 in Edinburgh
966 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alba House
Alba House
#42 of 393 in Edinburgh
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lauderville Guest House
Lauderville Guest House
#31 of 393 in Edinburgh
206 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sherwood Guest House
Sherwood Guest House
#36 of 393 in Edinburgh
298 reviews
0.0 mi away
Barony House
Barony House
#2 of 393 in Edinburgh
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glenalmond House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glenalmond House

Address: 25 Mayfield Gardens, Edinburgh EH9 2BX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #61 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £84 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Glenalmond House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Glenalmond House is a Victorian 4 star rated guest house, with many original features. Private car parking is free, and there is free Wi-Fi available throughout the guest house. For that special occasion, why not book one of our beautiful deluxe en-suite rooms with queen-size 4-poster or Rococco bed. The extensive breakfast menu includes the traditional Scottish with haggis, scrambled egg with Scottish smoked salmon and many vegetarian options. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Travel Republic (UK), Lastminute, Hotels.com, LateRooms and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Glenalmond House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glenalmond House Hotel Edinburgh
Glenalmond House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing