We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location.”
Review of Barony House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Barony House
Ranked #2 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Lovely room overlooking a nice garden but would probably try and get a higher room next time as we like to sleep in and we were close to the breakfast room. The owners were really nice & I love the added touch of sherry in the room, I didn't think I'd like sherry but I've got a taste for it now! Breakfast was yum & I think I ate my own body weight in banana bread each morning. Location is perfect for hopping on the buses right into the centre, not too far to walk either as we did that too one night.

Room Tip: Upstairs garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jenny m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (762)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

433 - 439 of 762 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2013

it is very easy access to, and all the bus lines are to and from city center, even late at night the bus are quite convenient. leo and susie are very easy to communicate, though I was late and missed their call for confirmaiton, they were there waiting for me and offering me great help on direction and settling down. they are very well managed and are very homey at the same time, the dinning room design was gorgeous and food are even better. my room was tidy and delicate, all the facility couldn't be more clean and ready for using. all in all it turns out to be a very nice stay though i wish i could stayed there longer, hopefully next time.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
Thank ymmspeaking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happyhomeEdinburgh, Owner at Barony House, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2013

Thank you for your lovely review. We are so glad that you enjoyed staying with us at Barony House and your trip to Edinburgh.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

The house has everything above average standard. (Rooms, location, service, price) room facing back have very nice garden view. Quite a number of buses at doorstep going up the street to city center. Only one thing: the house is spelling a lot of rules which other B&Bs do not do so. Eg:cannot use dinner room cutery for picnic, cannot bring back take out food.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Summsum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happyhomeEdinburgh, Owner at Barony House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2013

I am really sorry that you think that Barony House has a lot of rules.
We only have two that I can think of, we do ask you not to take cutlery from our dining room as we have found in the past we do not get it back but to compensate for this we provide complimentary plastic cutlery in each room which you can take away with you. We do not allow carry out food to be brought in, this is true, this is because very few of our guests would like to be shown into a room which smells of curry or pizza, I think most people would agree.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Scott ,who was filling in for owners, was the friendly and knowledgable person who greeted us on the first day. The room was clean, bright and comfortable. The breakfast selection was good, piping hot and very delicious. It was a good walk into the city, about 30-40 minutes and about half that to the town restaurants, we can recommend the Reverie. However, city buses stop very close to the Barony and are 1.50 for single trip or 3.50 for a day pass.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PLSOntario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2013

The room we had was very nice. The en-suite bathroom was retrofitted, but well done. We had plans to buy a day pass for the city bus, but ended up simply walking everywhere we went unless we had our baggage in tow. It's very well located. My only complaints were having to put in our breakfast menu selections the night before and the fact that the breakfast room was all locked up once breakfast was over. They had a nice little library of books in the breakfast room that was inaccessible in the afternoon. Too bad. Overall it was a nice little b&b.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

My husband and I arrived at Barony House and were greeted warmly by the innkeeper (who was actually filling in for the owners while they took a short break themselves). Scott was welcoming and helpful, however, and made it easier for us to navigate around the city.

The room itself was beautiful - on the ground floor, set towards the back of the house near the garden, beautifully furnished with a king bed, a proper desk for when you want to use the free wifi and a vaulted ceiling. The bed, as it turns out, was a little too soft for us to be completely comfortable, but it was fine for our one night stay.

Breakfast was very scrumptious - porridge, toast, quality bacon, hash browns, stewed tomatoes, juice and fruit tea.

The location was great - easy access to the city center along a main road that was well-serviced by buses and could have just been walked, if you were so inclined.

We would definitely stay at Barony House again, if the opportunity arose.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barbra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Just returned and had to say everything was excellent, first day I had to leave early and Scott was so kind to pack a breakfast for me to take and then this morning's breakfast was excellent. Lovely clean comfy room, extra special touches in room of sherry and shortbread. Will be returning next time for pleasure.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
Thank Hayley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,882 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,047 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23 Mayfield
#4 of 394 in Edinburgh
982 reviews
94DR
#5 of 394 in Edinburgh
571 reviews
Kew House
#7 of 394 in Edinburgh
864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barony House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barony House

Address: 20 Mayfield Gardens, Edinburgh EH9 2BZ, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £90 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Barony House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Book directly with Barony House. Barony House is a lovely Victorian terraced villa, retaining its traditional appearance with some wonderful original cornice work and elegant high ceiling rooms. We are located on a main road which takes you straight into the city centre, only 1.6 Miles away. Catch a passing bus or take a leisurely 29 minute stroll passed the many stunning Georgian and Victorian buildings. Turn left up Edinburgh's cobbled Royal Mile to Edinburgh Castle or carry on to the famous Princes Street. The famous Arthur's Seat, the largest hill in Holyrood Park, is a 19 minute walk away. A flat-screen TV and tea and coffee making facilities are provided in each of Barony House's light and airy rooms. Toiletries and a hairdryer are also included. Most rooms have an en-suite bathroom. Freshly brewed tea and coffee with a buffet breakfast are served in the elegant dining room. Free Wi-Fi can be accessed throughout the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Barony House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barony House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing