We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Barony House Book Direct
Nearby Hotels
US$1,032
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$156
Autograph
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
US$144
US$134
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$286
US$276
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Murrayfield Hotel and House(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$159
US$142
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Scotsman Hotel(Edinburgh)
US$193
US$148
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$110
US$80
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Malmaison Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$121
US$116
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apex City of Edinburgh Hotel(Edinburgh)(Great Value!)
US$135
US$127
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$115
US$107
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (766)
Filter reviews
766 results
Traveller rating
686
69
6
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
686
69
6
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bcraigmillar castlehosts paulservants quarterscity centrearthur's seatgreat hostsfrequent busesa short bus rideguest houselovely guesthouselocal attractionsbreakfast was excellentroyal milelittle touchespoached eggsbreakfast room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
424 - 429 of 766 reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We have just returned home from a two day stay in Barony House and would just like to praise it highly to anyone looking for a bed and breakfast in Edinburgh. Its a beautiful Victorian house situated not far from the bustle of the town, we had a lovely en suite room overlooking a very pretty garden, - beautifully clean and with a most comfortable bed. In the past we have always stayed in group hotels - ie Thistle, Ramada, Jurys etc. but will definitely return to Barony House in the future and recommend it to our friends and family. Our room was fully equipped with everything you could wish for, including small decanter of sherry, a lovely touch - buses are plentiful right outside but its a pleasant walk into town and not far. The breakfast in the morning was simply wonderful, a great selection and everything piping hot and all for a most reasonable rate. There was even wine glasses provided if you wished to take a bottle of wine back to your room. Book this guest house if you are looking for a nice place to stay in Edinburgh at a good price. You will not regret it. Hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Room 1 overlooks the rear of the house as the main road would probably be quite busy, it was very quiet.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grannytofive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happyhomeEdinburgh, Owner at Barony House Book Direct, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Thank you so much for your review it was a delight to have you in the house and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2013

We had the attic family room, it was very spacious, clean.
The only downside was having to lug our bags up 4 flights of stairs.

The breakfast was sumptuous and very good value, kept my teenagers going until lunch.

the hosts were friendly and helpful

The only down side is that this property is a good 20 minute hike from the station which was a bit of a hike from the station and not close to any restaurants.

But would stay again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Akrish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
happyhomeEdinburgh, Owner at Barony House Book Direct, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

I think you have reviewed our previous guesthouse as we no longer have an attic room or 4 flights of stairs. I have sent you a note with the name of the guest house I think you stayed at. so that you can check.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

This was our third visit, but my fourth, this year, so you can tell, hopefully, we love the place. Not only the place but the owners who 'run the place'. Lovely rooms, top quality breakfast, and everything you need from a beautiful B and B. Your glass of sherry and a short bread biscuit, in your room, is only the start of the experience. My previous review says it all. Bev back in November and we hopefully back to stay with Suzie and Leonard in December. We can't wait. Bev and Fraser.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bevandfras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

We recently stayed at this small hotel in Edinburgh for one night. Check in with the Spanish manager was easy and the room was ready for us. The room was very small but was clean and comfortable. Unusually however, we had a room with the bathroom across the hall. Although we had a key for this bathroom which was solely ours, this is very unusual. I found the hotel far too warm though and we slept with the window open all night to keep it cool enough. Parking was one block away on the street but was easy to find although a little distant. The buses in Edinburgh however only take the exact change which we did not have an so ended driving down to Princes Street instead. Breakfast in the morning was superb. It was hot and of very good quality. The only problem I could therefore state was its distance from the town centre.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zappafan5797
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2013

I've stayed a couple of nights in Barony House in Edinburgh , mid September.
The location is easy to find even without navigation.The house looks excellent and i've enjoyed a warm welcome from the house manager, Fernando.He gave us good hints about the city.
The room was large and with a lot of light, and silent during the night.
Perhaps the only shortcoming was on the TV treception, but it seemed to be an external issue with DVB.And when you came to visit a city why waste time with TV.
The breakfast is somehow order based, but everything was fresh and at the precise time.
The parking in front of the house may be reserved but there is no problem there is plenty of parking space free in the neighoborhood.
I would gladly come again and reccomend warmly to anyone.
The price was more than reasonable for the services offered.

Room Tip: Book an en-suite room.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Winter1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews