We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad at all!!”
Review of Regent House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Regent House Hotel
Ranked #129 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Newton Aycliffe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Not bad at all!!”
Reviewed 6 September 2011

Just stayed here with 4 other mates for lads weekend. When we arrived we were informed the family room was double booked but we were to be 'upgraded' into the Apartments. We went back out the hotel and in next door to the apartments and downstairs into what looked like a dungeon from outside!! We had nothing to fear though as it was perfect for a group of lads; 3 bedrooms, 1 bathroom, a nice sitting room with tele and a kitchen. We chucked the bags in and off we went out. This was our 17th year to E'boro so we know the City very well and the hotel is in a perfect position, onto Princes St if you want shopping, Rose St if you want bars and George St if you want something a bit nicer. Copious amounts of Guinness later, we returned about 7pm to chill for a couple of hours with a cuppa and the tele in the sitting room, which was comfy. Out we went again for the evening to the pubs/smart bars round George St area and ended up in the Jamhouse nightclub which is less than 5 minutes walk away from the hotel. Returning at 3.30am there's an all night chippy on the corner of the hotel which suited us lads. We all slept soundly and missed breakfast so I can't comment on that. We made some bacon growlers in the room and relaxed for late breakfast with the papers. We had a late train so we left the bags in the hotel and off we went for a stroll round the gardens in front of the castle and a nice walk to the Grassmarket....just in time for the pubs to open at 12 where we enjoyed the Irish bars and a top up of Guinness. We picked the bags up late and got to the station for the train. We would defo stop here again as it suited our needs, so give it a try...you might just like it!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Riley044
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    84
    61
    37
    40
See reviews for
67
64
33
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
Reviewed 1 September 2011

This comfortable guest house provided my teenage daughter and myself with a friendly base from which to enjoy the nearby festival venues. The location is brilliant but quiet which means (coupled with the incredibly comfy beds) a good night's sleep. The staff were helpful and smiley and offered us clean (new) towels each day. We have already recommended it to friends and will definitely return when lucky enough to get back to Edinburgh. Oh. and the breakfast was fresh and varied too.

Room Tip: Room 25 is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

we ceratainly only booked this hotel for its locality. their were four sharing it was cramped, no mirror, dirty curtains, and carpet, we complained to the manager who was very ignorant, and unresponsive, however the girls at brkfast were very helpful and nice, but the brkfast choice was not value for money, an egg was the only hot item available, along with tined fruite, no choice of tea ( early gray would have been nice ). A VERY TIRED HOTEL, WOULD RECOMEND..A GOOD OVERHAUL, A NEW BREAKFAST MENU, AND A CUSTOMER SERVICE COURSE FOR THE MANAGER , WHOM WE SAW ONCE, it was the tattoo week and i think that he was aware of this, hence the attitude.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spanishgail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 June 2011

bedroom was very small had sit on bed to let each other past and cupboard was off balance , no tea/coffe or kettle which is stated on website,bathroom was very tiny hardly room to move and the walls are very thin can hear everything going on in other rooms not gd at all , curtains very dirty and tv was over at door so no where to see it from angle of bed breakfast was awful for the price i reccommened anyone going here take a packed lunch and only book if absolutely no where else to go or if alone

Room Tip: book at least 2 months in advance lol
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cas72_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumfries, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 11 June 2011

Disgusting!! As a travelling salesman I have stayed in many Hotels and B & B's, this has got to be the worst ever!. A good breakfast sets you up for the day but all you get here is a bowl of cornflakes, an egg served on a saucer, not even any fruit juice. Basil Fawlty ran a far better establishment.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sally18564441
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 May 2011

We stayed here as we were taking part in the Edinburgh Marathon and availability was sparse. We arrived to find our "double room" was in fact a box with a double bed in. We had no room to walk round unless we put our bags on the bed, the single wardrobe could only be opened if you moved a chair out from in front of it and by doing so blocking the room door. When we asked the manager if that was the only room he had we got insults, arrogance and general patronising comments. He knew because of the marathon weekend that there were no more rooms to be found in the city and we were stuck. I would have turned round and left if we had a choice. The rooms are tatty and well worn, the maids do there best to make them clean and to be fair were a little more helpful than the manager who simply couldn't give a stuff. Breakfast was as described, if you don't like cereal or fried/scrambled egg then your stuffed. Avoid like the plague it's tatty, expensive, cramped and downright unpleasant !

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikelmas7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2011

Small miserable room , perfect for homeless / desperate . Dirty bathroom , flaky plasterboard , very dirty shower tray , bad decor , TV in unwatchable position, flimsy door locks, brocken window frame, patchy repair jobs everywhwere. The damp patches and milldew will appeal to those with a scientific interest in "cultures" . Also a great place to stay if you are a builder looking for work / hotel inspector looking for a huge challenge . The breakfast was amazing. They do both scrambled and fried eggs . Nothing else in fact dont even ask for poached or boiled egg as they cant do that (left recipe) . Location ideal and generally a good place to stay for that all in Trainspotting Experience.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Melly1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Hotel Twenty
#144 of 148 in Edinburgh
525 reviews
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#75 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,143 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Ballantrae Hotel
The Ballantrae Hotel
#127 of 148 in Edinburgh
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
The Place
The Place
#110 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,023 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
#123 of 148 in Edinburgh
760 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent House Hotel

Property: Regent House Hotel
Address: 3-5 Forth Street, Edinburgh EH1 3JX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Regent House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Regent House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Regent
Regent Edinburgh
Regent House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing