We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regent House Hotel in Edinburgh”
Review of Regent House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Regent House Hotel
Ranked #128 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
York
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Regent House Hotel in Edinburgh”
Reviewed 6 August 2012

Regent House Hotel - Edinburgh

I booked 2 rooms here. One for myself and a shared double for my mother and my daughter. My room was small but clean. The TV worked, and there were tea making facilities that I did not use. The carpet was a bit thread bare. My room had a bath room and toilet. When I turned the shower on it ran cold so I left it running for a while. After about 3 minutes it started to warm up and got very hot. After a bit of adjustment it worked fine and I had a good shower. The room itself was quite small.
The bedding looked in good condition and clean. We were told to keep our keys as one of the keys opened the front door.
The room my mother and daughter got did not have a bathroom or toilet. They had to share a bathroom/toilet with 3 other rooms on the same floor. They found it difficult to operate this shared shower.

In the morning we all went for breakfast, which is cold buffet style, so it is cheese cold meats etc. We were asked if we wanted toast and they did not really bring enough for 3 people. I probably could have asked for more. The bowl of tinned fruit only had peaches or fruit salad. Grapefruit would have been nice. We were asked what type of eggs we wanted. I must admit that I thought we were going to get a proper Scottish breakfast but out came a single egg on a tea plate. We were a bit disappointed with that. I ended up eating 3 yogurts as there was not enough otherwise. I have since checked the website and it is accurate. I should have checked better before booking. I found the overall service satisfactory. Location is very good and probably the only reason anyone would use this hotel.

Summary
I booked a room without a bathroom and did not realise. I booked a hotel that did not provide a proper Scottish breakfast and did not realise. The room itself was ok. The breakfast was disappointing and a bit of a let down. I have used many hotels and never quite been offered a breakfast like this.

Room Tip: Shop around and go for breakfast somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    90
    61
    37
    40
See reviews for
71
65
33
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
South Shields, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Very clean throughout hotel staff very polite and helpfull even booked our taxi vast range of breakfast more than adaquate room as i was a family of 2 adults and 3 kids was warm and well located and no noise from streets all in all was very happy with my stay.jacqueline nelson.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Algarvia, Portugal
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2012

My husband and I stayed there for three nights. The hotel is clean and is quiet but If you have a question to do there is nobody in reception to help you, We wanted to ask a few question about our trip to the highlands and my surprise was when I realised that the same girls (really nice and kind) who serve breakfast have to clean the rooms being receptionist at the same time!!!Runing up and down all the morning...Manager no show at all, we only saw him once, to pay on arrival. He needs to improve his way to run the hotel and take care about the customer service.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank loraport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2012

Conveniently located for tourism and shopping. Small room and bathroom, but that's pretty normal for that part of the world. No elevator, of course, and the stairs are really steep. Ok breakfast. Nice staff, but they're hard to find sometimes.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ProfSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

The room is cosy with clean sheets. The only problem we had was the confusing staircase leading to our 4th floor which was also quite narrow for big luggagges. The Manager and his staff are very friendly. Breakfast is good and the location of the hotel is ideal as its just walking distance to the town center.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jaya_81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 26 June 2012

I would give the place three stars, because it's not the cleanest place, but considering the location and price, it's acceptable. The problem is the level of disrepair. The lights are out in the stair well to the flat, and in the interior hallway of the flat. To make things worse, the carpet on the stairs has holes to catch shoes, and some of the steps are broken. Two (sober) people independently tripped in the stairs. One injuring her foot and requiring a visit to the hospital. The owner said it wasn't his fault, because it was somebody elses job to replace the light bulbs.

Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

I stopped here for 2 nights on the top floor with a front view window which was good, and it opened so that was an immediate bonus! They had a working TV which is nice when you don't feel like walking aound in the sun all day. Bear in mind im only 22 and have been well travelled the service at the check in was poor, I got looked at for a second as if to say Im not sure if i should give you a room. but then proceeded... Ive learnt that there is free wifi? Wasn't told about it so obviously missed out.

The kettle and tea facilities in the room were ok... however it looked like i had been left someone elses shaving cream on the tea tray?! WHAT?! unhygenic for a start! The light above the sink was broken so you had to stick your finger all the way in to turn it on (a bit dangerous) the toliet and shower were outside which I already knew. This was overly small but did it's job afterall it's a toliet! I used the shower once, too small and not very nice to be in wouldn't reccomend it. Although it was clean!

The handyman was laying on the stairs painting and there were no wet paint signs...?!
Also the fire extinguisher was missing from outside out room... promising if there was a fire.

SO THE NOT SO GOOD NIGHTS SLEEP! There was a boiler outside our room in a cupboard that just HUMMED and GROANED all night long, sometimes it sounded like an aeroplane taking off! NOT GOOD AT ALL...

Breakfast was a bit crap. 1 Egg and 2 slices of toast with no option for more. No beans or anything and a selection of cheese and ham... The service was a poor and we were greeted by a pointless host behind a counter? She didn't do anything!
There was also a very kind lad offering tea and cofee and egg but he could use a few more people skills I think it's a ok stay if you have nowhere else to stop.

Good for younger generations like myself. Nothing more.

Room Tip: Any room but the one next to the toliet, or on the top floor on the right! Just don't do it! Hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Broughton & Calton
The Ballantrae Hotel
The Ballantrae Hotel
#131 of 149 in Edinburgh
523 reviews
Hotel Twenty
#145 of 149 in Edinburgh
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#80 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,192 reviews
West End
Ritz Edinburgh
Ritz Edinburgh
#143 of 149 in Edinburgh
399 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent House Hotel

Property: Regent House Hotel
Address: 3-5 Forth Street, Edinburgh EH1 3JX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #128 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Regent House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Regent House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Regent
Regent Edinburgh
Regent House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing