We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Breakfast I have ever encountered”
Review of Regent House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Regent House Hotel
Ranked #129 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Bangor, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Worst Breakfast I have ever encountered”
Reviewed 14 January 2013

I stayed here for a lads rugby trip, two twin rooms were booked. Both were little more than closets. Beds were about 12" apart. As it was just guys we were not looking for airs and graces, just as well as there were none. On arrival at breakfast we were asked how we would like our eggs cooked, i asked for poached " sorry we dont do that here, fried or scrambled!" and when the eggs arrived It was a lone fried egg on a saucer. The continental meats were straight out off the packet and hadn't even been seperated. The "bathroom" shower was filthy and you had to run around in it to get wet. Had I stayed here with my wife I would be divorced. Stay away!!!!!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scott h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    84
    61
    37
    40
See reviews for
67
64
33
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bolton, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Stayed in the basement apartment owned by this Hotel (which is actually a B&B) for Hogmanay 2012/2013 with 5 friends.
First impressions were great, very excited to be in Edinburgh and please with the Modern decor and set out of the apartment.

The apartment was booked via Booking.com as was advertised as having an En suite which didn't exist. Also advertised that we would have a private bathroom which was correct but unfortunately we have no running hot water in the bath and the shower didnt work. This was reported almost immediately to the Receptionist and we were told a plumber would be coming out to fix it whilst we were out. (New Years eve day???? Very unlikely)

When we returned we still had no hot water. this was reported AGAIN and we were told that a "colleague" has replace a part (not a plumber) so they couldn't understand why it wasn't working.

5 Women unable to shower on New Years eve is less than ideal! The "colleague" then returned and removed the shower head, didnt fix the hot water problem. It was suggested we bathe in the sink???????? Are these people for real!!!!

We were given the option to use the STAFF shower room........................not the Hotel one!
So it was New Years Eve and we didnt want to dampen the evening and decided to tackle the shower problem the next day. We were told the owner was away in Germany (i think) and he available to speak with at 10am the following morning.

A friend went up to the Hotel and witnessed the receptionist being shouted at by the owner on the phone for interrupting him on New Years Day, she refused to speak with him and put the phone down. Apparently "He is always lime this"

When a friend explained our situation to the owner his response was "Well you didn't have to sleep on the street so what's your problem" CUSTOMER SERVICE AT ITS BEST wouldn't you say????
He then went on to say that he would refund us £30 between 5 of us for the inconvenience. Complete insult if you ask me! To say he was rude and unprofessional is an understatement.

Hotels survive on word of mouth and good reviews. Bad luck mate! This incident will be taken further and i can assure you that business will not be booming for you in the future if you continue with your stinking attitude towards customers!!!!!!!

On a whole Edinburgh was absolutely amazing and will definitely be returning.....................to a friendlier and well run establishment in the future.

May i add that none is this should reflect badly on the Reception staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fairy19844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Edinburgh hotels

London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 December 2012

I stayed for three nights at Regent House Hotel and loved it. The neighborhood was convenient for all that I wanted to see while I was in Edinburgh. I noticed several reviewers were not pleased with the breakfast but I found it to be fine.
The rooms are really clean and tastefully decorated with all that you need including free wifi.
My room and bathroom was clean and cosy.


The location is great, the price very reasonable ( Booked through booking.com only paid £50 for the room), and the staff is amazing!! Would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Qin Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2012

The room was bit small to our liking, but clean and comfy, meets all the basic requirements. Good quality hotel with a reasonably price. Staff more than willing to help travellers finding their way. No parking, but the staff explained to us where we can find one, really close to the hotel. The breakfast was pretty good with fresh fruits, croissants, muesli, yoghurt, cheese and salami, tea, toast, eggs, etc. The location is very central and close to the main tourist attractions, restaurants and pubs. Overall: good place to stay, perfect for exploring the city. I would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Very close to the main shopping area. The place is quiet oldy wordly which I liked.
We had a room on the first floor which I requested and it was quiet spacious, I wouldn't have liked have been on one of the upper floors as there is no lift.
The breakfast was basic but adequate, as many hotels these days do not include breakfast, or else at a huge price. There was a seperate electric heater which was needed as it was quiet chilly outside.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irishkiwi22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2012

The service was excellent and they were very hospitable. They were very helpful and generous. Room was a bit on the chilly side, but the beds were really comfortable and warm. Breakfast was nice and the location was perfect to all the attractions and coach station. I certainly will recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank waos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridge of Weir, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2012

This hotel was very good value for money. Me and my boyfriend paid £100 for the two nights for a double room with no bathroom but when we arrived we were given a room with a bathroom, double bed and two single beds so we had plenty of room and a bathroom which was even better value for money.
The room was lovely, had a very old fashioned feel which was really nice. The room was warm and cosy and very clean. The bed got changed daily and we were given clean towels.
The breakfast was reasonable, although their were not as many seats as i feel their could have been. Went for breakfast at 8.00, the time we had been told only to find the breakfast room full with a que of people waiting to be seated so we decided to take our breakfast to our room as we would not have had any otherwise.
The hotel is very close by to Edinburgh's attractions but far enough away that it was quiet and
peaceful to get a goodnights sleep.

Would come to this hotel again!

Room Tip: Book a room with en-suite as i noticed toilets on the landing are far away from the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolann g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Hotel Twenty
#144 of 148 in Edinburgh
525 reviews
Leith
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
Cairn Hotel Edinburgh
#76 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,142 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Ballantrae Hotel
The Ballantrae Hotel
#128 of 148 in Edinburgh
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
The Place
The Place
#110 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,022 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
#124 of 148 in Edinburgh
759 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Regent House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Regent House Hotel

Property: Regent House Hotel
Address: 3-5 Forth Street, Edinburgh EH1 3JX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #129 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Regent House Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Regent House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Regent Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Regent
Regent Edinburgh
Regent House Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing