We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No 'Health & safety'”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ardenlee Guest House
Ranked #269 of 393 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 November 2012

The official website illustrates that Ardenlee have 9 bedrooms (7 en-suite) but a group of us
were allocated to a separate building - No Wifi facility/No management on site/No information about the B&B/No instruction for emergency...
The bedroom had a very poorly spaced & fitted shower/WC room where one had to climb over the WC in order to get in & out of the shower...hardly any space to dry oneself, so in my case, I had to open the bathroom door to create more space while drying.
The shortage of the electric sockets meant that the electric kettle was plugged in to the socket by the bathroom door which was left on the floor = very dangerous!!
When I arrived, I could smell a cigarette smoke in the bedroom...It was after 4pm, so I guess it was by a member of the B&B staff.
Is it legal to run B&B in such condition??
* We used a organised walking holiday company where we had no control in choosing the
accomodation - It was very disturbing, and this walking holiday company should have inspected
the B&B properly!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KA040157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
There are newer reviews for Ardenlee Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2012

Really enjoyed our stay in the Ardenlee - very friendly and welcoming staff and well located for getting into the city centre. Excellent breakfast. Our double room on the top floor was a little cramped, but fine otherwise - very comfortable bed. Our (grown up) kids shared a family room which was huge, with a lovely bay window seat overlooking the street.
Definitley recomended for a weekend in Edinburgh

Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
1  Thank MandC56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2012

I stayed in Edinburgh for a long weekend and stayed in the owners other property, the Eyre, which is next door but one to the Ardenlee. My room was very poor the carpet was shabby and the room was dusty and not very clean. The bathroom was cramped and there was not a lot of room to put anything. The shower tray was not sealed properly in parts and there were large gaps around the edge. I would not stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

The Ardenlee was welcoming and the owners very pleasant and helpful. The room was spacious and very clean with comfortable beds and a good shower. The location was very quiet and we had a great nights sleep despite being in a city. Breakfast was lovely with lots of options and the staff were good at bringing (and refreshing) teas, coffees and toast.

Although it's close to the main attractions we used the bus to travel to Princes Street (to avoid walking up the hill!). Buses are frequent and the stop is just around the corner. £3.50 for unlimited all day travel is great value and made getting to and from the Ardenlee easy.

Overall excellent value for money and a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank J_UK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2012

We recently had the pleasure of spending five days at the Ardenlee. The hosts, Kay and Kenny, couldn't have been more welcoming and accommodating, including arranging two early breakfasts for us. The room was comfy and we especially appreciated the complimentary packets of hot chocolate and Walker's shortbread (the Rolls Royce of Scottish shortbreads) set out each day in our room. The guest house is well-situated for exploring Edinburgh as it's enough off the beaten track to get a good night's sleep, but within easy walking distance of Princes Street, the Royal Mile and other frequented spots, as well as practically next door to Stockbridge and great restaurants. We felt very much at home there and would be happy to return any time.

Room Tip: There is no lift, so if you have mobility issues, a room on the first floor would be the best choice...
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank calumet34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Found the Ardenlee in Fodor's Travel Guide; stayed here after spending three nights in a Holiday Inn Express on the Waterfront. We wanted to be closer to town Centre; it is only about a 15 minute walk (uphill) away. The owner's, Kenny and Kay, are extremely helpful with everything. They own two guest houses, the Ardenlee and the Eyre. We stayed in the Eyre, two doors down, which was no problem, except if you want to use the Wifi, you have to walk back up to the Ardenlee. We were given a family room when we really only needed a double, so we had plenty of room. The bathrooms are very small, but most are in guest houses or B & B's in the U.K. The coffee/tea tray also had Cadbury Hot Chocolate and Walker's Shortbread. The breakfast consisted of your choice of cold cereals, fruit (fresh strawberries, bananas, apples and grapes) and also a Hot Scottish Breakfast, eggs, bacon, sausage, mushrooms, tomatoes and beans. The area is quiet and there are restaurants within walking distance. We would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZZMorgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2012

Having stayed at Ardenlee in September 2011 with a minibus full of Americans, at the start and end of their tour I wanted to take my family. So we've just returned from our Scottish Tour and the top place we stayed was again the Ardenlee. Kay was as helpful as ever and always seems generous with the rooms giving more than was booked. The location is handy as it's in a quieter section of Edinburgh away from the main areas but only a short hop on bus/cab or 10-15 minute walk (which we enjoyed). The rooms are huge and well equipped (love the shortbread & hot chocolate!) & thought the ensuite in one room was compact it was perfectly serviceable.
The breakfast was amazing - porridge on offer and Full Scottish!
The family have already voted on another Ednibugh visit based at The Ardenlee for more than 1 night! Thanks again Kay

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard_A-Sandys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Ailsa Guest House
#185 of 393 in Edinburgh
49 reviews
Dene Guest House
#19 of 393 in Edinburgh
346 reviews
Eyre Guest House
#304 of 393 in Edinburgh
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Inverleith Hotel
Inverleith Hotel
#109 of 393 in Edinburgh
354 reviews
Alba House
#42 of 393 in Edinburgh
172 reviews
New Town
Castle View Guest House
Castle View Guest House
#70 of 393 in Edinburgh
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardenlee Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardenlee Guest House

Address: 9 Eyre Place, Edinburgh EH3 5ES, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #269 of 393 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £56 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardenlee Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Ardenlee Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardenlee Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Ardenlee Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing