We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would definitely return - great customer service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ardenlee Guest House
Ranked #197 of 444 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Would definitely return - great customer service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2013

A group of 8 of us had a wonderful 4 day, 3 night stay at this guest house, close to the main streets (8 mins walk) there are still lots of roadworks going on in Edinburgh town, ready for the tram service in 2014 so you have to walk everywhere, which suited us perfectly. Fabulous stay and definitely recommend. Breakfast - excellent, Customer service - excellent

Room Tip: Our room was quiet and our 3 sets of friends said the same but Eyre Road is quiet anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JuHaHe66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    57
    20
    11
    5
See reviews for
25
50
16
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013 via mobile

Two day stay on business . Very welcoming and ticked both boxes of a good stay for me which are good shower and tea/coffee facilities!
Had a excellent selection for breakfast.
Very good value for money. Would defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank junglebee07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

This B&B is in an excellent location.
It took us (and my partner has a hip condition and cannot walk fast) less than 10 mins to get from the room to Queens Street.
The room was excellent value for money. Clean, tidy, spacious, and very comfortable.
The only fault i can find in our room was the water pressure in the shower was almost non existant but I find in beautiful old buildings that are tough to update, these things tend to suffer.
This does however pale into insignificance because Kay & Kenny were really welcoming, the B&B was updated with many modern touches but kept the quaint and beautiful features that this house was originally built with.
The breakfast was lovely and the girls they have working there are also very helpful and pleasant.
I cannot recommend this B&B enough. We will be using it as our base each time we visit the city.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 50birthdaygirl_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2012

A group of women on a walking holiday with WalkingWomen stayed at Ardenlee in early October this year. The feedback was that the B&B was comfortable, good value for money and the breakfasts were excellent. Several people said they would return.

Ignore the review called 'No Health and Safety' That is simply untrue!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WW2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

I recently just visited Edinburgh again.I stayed at the Ardenlee Guest House. It was fantastic. The staff were amazing. It was very good value for money. It is a beautiful Victorian building with lots if character. It was clean, comfortable and so friendly. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mikef08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plockton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2012

I stayed in Ardenlee Guest House on a previous occasion in the summer and I really enjoyed the friendly atmosphere, great breakfast and the really convenient location so much that i returned there with my husband and friends on another visit to Edinburgh. As the Aedenlee was booked up we were all staying in Eyre Apartment which is also part of the owners property. Again we had a really comfortable stay and enjoyed superb breakfasts next door at the Ardenlee and were looked after very well by the pleasant staff who supplied tea/coffee and toast in abundance. On both occasions the owners have been very welcoming. Would I stay there again? .........Most definetly! JB

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JB56898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2012

The official website illustrates that Ardenlee have 9 bedrooms (7 en-suite) but a group of us
were allocated to a separate building - No Wifi facility/No management on site/No information about the B&B/No instruction for emergency...
The bedroom had a very poorly spaced & fitted shower/WC room where one had to climb over the WC in order to get in & out of the shower...hardly any space to dry oneself, so in my case, I had to open the bathroom door to create more space while drying.
The shortage of the electric sockets meant that the electric kettle was plugged in to the socket by the bathroom door which was left on the floor = very dangerous!!
When I arrived, I could smell a cigarette smoke in the bedroom...It was after 4pm, so I guess it was by a member of the B&B staff.
Is it legal to run B&B in such condition??
* We used a organised walking holiday company where we had no control in choosing the
accomodation - It was very disturbing, and this walking holiday company should have inspected
the B&B properly!!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KA040157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
Halcyon Hotel
Halcyon Hotel
#127 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Ailsa Guest House
#168 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 44 reviews
Dene Guest House
#20 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Eyre Guest House
#318 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Mingalar
#87 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Leith
Hanover House Hotel
Hanover House Hotel
#144 of 444 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardenlee Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardenlee Guest House

Property: Ardenlee Guest House
Address: 9 Eyre Place, Edinburgh EH3 5ES, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #197 of 444 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardenlee Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Ardenlee Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardenlee Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Ardenlee Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing