We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort and hospitality at a price you can't argue with.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ardenlee Guest House
Ranked #296 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 May 2013

I have been a long term resident at the Ardenlee and can highly recommend it if you are visiting Edinburgh. The rooms are spacious, the breakfasts good and the hospitality excellent - all this at a very competitive rate.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nomadic72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2013

I stayed in room 6 of the Ardenlee Guest house for a few weeks last summer when I was in Edinburgh for work. All I can stay is that it was beautiful, breakfast was amazing, and the location is perfect for exploring Edinburgh. Kay who runs the guest house is lovely and so helpful. I would return if I ever needed somewhere in Edinburgh again!

Room Tip: Room 6 was great for me! Very large room, also facing the back of the building so nice and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

A group of 8 of us had a wonderful 4 day, 3 night stay at this guest house, close to the main streets (8 mins walk) there are still lots of roadworks going on in Edinburgh town, ready for the tram service in 2014 so you have to walk everywhere, which suited us perfectly. Fabulous stay and definitely recommend. Breakfast - excellent, Customer service - excellent

Room Tip: Our room was quiet and our 3 sets of friends said the same but Eyre Road is quiet anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JuHaHe66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013 via mobile

Two day stay on business . Very welcoming and ticked both boxes of a good stay for me which are good shower and tea/coffee facilities!
Had a excellent selection for breakfast.
Very good value for money. Would defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank junglebee07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

This B&B is in an excellent location.
It took us (and my partner has a hip condition and cannot walk fast) less than 10 mins to get from the room to Queens Street.
The room was excellent value for money. Clean, tidy, spacious, and very comfortable.
The only fault i can find in our room was the water pressure in the shower was almost non existant but I find in beautiful old buildings that are tough to update, these things tend to suffer.
This does however pale into insignificance because Kay & Kenny were really welcoming, the B&B was updated with many modern touches but kept the quaint and beautiful features that this house was originally built with.
The breakfast was lovely and the girls they have working there are also very helpful and pleasant.
I cannot recommend this B&B enough. We will be using it as our base each time we visit the city.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 50birthdaygirl_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2012

A group of women on a walking holiday with WalkingWomen stayed at Ardenlee in early October this year. The feedback was that the B&B was comfortable, good value for money and the breakfasts were excellent. Several people said they would return.

Ignore the review called 'No Health and Safety' That is simply untrue!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WW2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

I recently just visited Edinburgh again.I stayed at the Ardenlee Guest House. It was fantastic. The staff were amazing. It was very good value for money. It is a beautiful Victorian building with lots if character. It was clean, comfortable and so friendly. I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikef08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,423 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Dene Guest House
#21 of 394 in Edinburgh
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ard-na-said
#14 of 394 in Edinburgh
382 reviews
Fraoch House
#9 of 394 in Edinburgh
781 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Inverleith Hotel
Inverleith Hotel
#117 of 394 in Edinburgh
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ardenlee Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ardenlee Guest House

Address: 9 Eyre Place, Edinburgh EH3 5ES, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Hotel Style:
Ranked #296 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Price Range: £48 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardenlee Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HotelsClick so you can book your Ardenlee Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardenlee Guest House Hotel Edinburgh
Ardenlee Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing