We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful experience from start to finish.”
Review of The Rutland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Rutland Hotel
Ranked #12 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 April 2011

We stayed at The Rutland yesterday for our anniversary. All I can say is that it was phenomenal.

The staff were friendly, knowledgeable and helpful without ever being intrusive. The food at the restaurant was fantastic. The steak was among the best I've ever had and the post dinner cocktails expertly mixed.

Our room was beautifully designed and kept and the small details (a selection of fashion magazines, Rebus novels!) really gave it a special touch.

If you've never visited Edinburgh before the location is second to none - with castle views from the rooms, restaurant AND bar it's a fantastic base to plan your trip around.

I will certainly be visiting again and recommending it to friends and family.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dnanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IMRDEdinburgh, Public Relations Manager at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2011

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. We are always keen to hear feedback from our guests; I will let our Chefs know how much you enjoyed your steaks in particular! Thanks for recommending us as well, we certainly do have some great Castle views which are always popular! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards,
Imogene (Business Development Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,040 - 1,046 of 1,177 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2011

We stayed in this hotel in Spring 2011 and it was fabulous! We stayed in the Junior Suite, which was beautifully decorated, spacious and had a view of the castle. The jacuzzi bath is a nice touch, although the taps to work the bath and shower did need a degree to figure them out!

We stayed on their Royal Package which was good value and the front desk could not have been more helpful!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catgraceful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRutlandHotel, Manager at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2011

Fabulous - we are so happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay with us at The Rutland, thank you ever so much for your review.
We are sorry to hear that you found the taps challenging, however your valuable feedback means we are currently working on a solution.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Rutland very soon.

Kindest Regards

Liz Hodnett
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2011

its fab funky and fun! couldnt fault it , went for an aniversary treat and was well worth the splurge would definately stay again. staff excellent nothing was to much trouble.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lancstrav43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IMRDEdinburgh, Public Relations Manager at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2011

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're so pleased that you enjoyed celbrating your anniversary with us! We will pass your comments to the staff and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Rutland for 2 nights early March. We stayed in a gorgeous room which was cosy and welcoming from the freezing weather outside. Right from check in until departure we experienced great service, wonderful food and the most amazing memories of a truly stunning city. Special thanks to the most helpful lass on departure Saturday morning (12/3) when she kindly printed out Google Map instructions for our treachous driving advennture in the snow to Liverpool. Without her guidance I don't know where we would have ended up. We will be back and can't recommend the Rutland enough.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kez63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheRutlandHotel, Manager at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2011

Thank you for your extremely kind words regarding your recent stay with us. It means so much to to us and all feedback is passed onto the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Rutland in the near future and thank you for receommending us.

Kindest Regards

Liz Hodnett
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2011

The hotel is in a very central location with easy access to everything. We were in room 3 which was one of the standard rooms, although there was nothing standard about it. It was my sister’s birthday weekend and there was a birthday card from the hotel waiting for her on arrival. The water by the bed was complimentary and we got free shortbread and a paper every day. The shower was great and GHD straighteners and a hairdryer came as standard. The bed was extremely comfortable and there was no inter-room noise whatsoever. We couldn’t even hear the road works outside our window. Our only gripe is that on Friday and Saturday the nightclub comes alive and we could hear the music in our room.

The staff were amazing – nothing was too much trouble and the service was excellent in the restaurant (we didn’t have breakfast). My sister was ill on our check-out day and they extended our check-out time without fuss and without charge. THANK YOU SO MUCH!

I highly recommend this hotel to everyone as long as you bring ear plugs if you’re staying on a Friday or Saturday night. Note that we didn’t hear anything once we had them in and had a peaceful night’s sleep.

Overall it is a wonderful hotel, although if they could find a way to soundproof the music coming from the club it would be a perfect hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kouzya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2011

This was our first time in Edinburgh – What a dynamic city! Old, New, Gritty, Eclectic, Classy, Modern, Traditional - Our new favorite city! This Hotel complimented our experience perfectly. All the past reviewers are correct – this is a great little gem. The staff is friendly and very helpful. The first room we had was great but we thought it was a bit hot and did not think the a/c was working. When we called the front desk to tell them - they immediately changed our room – no questions asked. We were upgraded to a larger room with a view of the castle. The location was perfect – the red hop on and hop off bus stops right across the street. The castle and the Grassmarket Street are about a ten minute walk. Princess Street is at your doorstep with shops on one side and the gardens on the other. The bar is very modern and a nice place to unwind at the end of the day – but with so many great pubs in Edinburgh, it is really hard to want to stay at just one. Pick the Rutland – you will enjoy the experience.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank toohip2cool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2011

In many ways, this hotel has no business working as well as it does. Literally across the street from the 300-room behemoth of the Caldeonian Hotel, from the outside there seems little to attract customers. What happens when you actually get inside is difficult to describe. The lobby sets the scene well with a pair of extravagant, silver gothic chairs.
We stayed in room 11, listed as a castle view room and on the top floor of the hotel. The views of the castle, particularly at night were spectacular but at times it was difficult to drag your eyes away from the room itself. The gothic splendour is back in the form of an enormous bed and mirror but the bathroom is perfectly minimalist. Oh yes, and the complimentary muffins!
The restaurant is another marvel of decoration, complete with completely black marble bathrooms. Keep your eyes open for the 12' tall wingback chair in the bar area.
If you like your hotels with personality and glamour - you will not be disappointed with the Rutland.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtrs199
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,892 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,066 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 151 in Edinburgh
680 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#13 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,006 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rutland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rutland Hotel

Address: 1-3 Rutland Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#9 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#11 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £89 - £349 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rutland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rutland Hotel is set right in the heart of the city centre at the west end of Princes Street boasting exceptional views of Edinburgh Castle. An elegant boutique hotel with twelve beautifully appointed guest rooms and 9 luxury serviced apartments. 5 are 2-bedroom and 4 are 1-bedroom, 2 with a private garden. Our guests comfort and enjoyment is at the forefront of our minds with Arran Aromatics toiletries and Nespresso coffee machines coupled with little curios and a well-stocked mini bar in every room. The Rutland Hotel is also home to Kyloe Restaurant and Grill - a glorious gourmet steakhouse and The Huxley, a friendly, homely bar serving great burgers & dogs with carefully crafted cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Rutland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland Hotel Edinburgh
The Rutland Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing