We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spectacular!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Rutland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Rutland Hotel
Ranked #10 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Arlington, Virginia
2 reviews
“Spectacular!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2012

My daughter and I stayed at the Rutland for three days recently and I would go back in a heartbeat…everything about our experience was stellar. We were a bit lost driving in from the airport and the manager, Claire, guided us by phone and then came out and flagged us over, helped us in with our bags, printed out maps and directions, etc and generally made us feel at home and pampered from the very beginning. She is a delight - the hotel is very, very lucky to have her. The room was lovely, very clean, fresh muffins awaited us, all the services were smooth and well-thought out. I plan to return to Edinburgh soon and there is no other hotel I would consider staying in - it's that wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    720
    238
    38
    10
    5
See reviews for
126
681
27
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kendal
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

Isobel on the front desk is absolutely fantastic at her job. From phoning to book the room to a parting Thankyou email she is thorough and professional and makes you feel really looked after. Hotels like this can appear snooty but her down to earth approach really made our stay! Thanks Isobel!
The hotel itself is gorgeous, beautifully decorated on the quirky side with lovely touches like Aaran Aromatics products, Fresh bottle of milk for your tea, fluffy bathrobes and GHD straighteners.
We ate in the hotel restaurant which has a great atmosphere and the food is faultless, I think booking in advance is recommended. The bar staff were entertaining and professional and the cocktails were stunning.
The only let down in our opinion was the breakfast. The actual food itself was beautiful, but the attitude and arrogance of some of the breakfast staff spoiled it for us. Simple service basics like remembering the customers actual order and getting orders out in the correct order would make the breakfast the same standard as the rest of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AbandRhys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

Have known about The Rutland for many years but never had occasion to visit it, but now wish I had. It is a 'Little Gem' . Well docorated and with great attention to detail in both the rooms and in the service delivered. Although this trip was as a couple and most of my hotel stays are business, this would fit the requirements of both.
At the junction of Princes Street and Lothian Road, you cannot get a better location for shopping and dining.
The one standout feature? Staff managed to be engaging, friendly and professional without crossing the line to cheesiness.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BSEK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
379 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

We booked the apartment for three nights as a base for our weekend break, with friends from the other side of the country. It turned out to be the absolutely perfect way to meet up with old friends, a bedroom each and a lovely living room and garden to chat and relax. The kitchen can be used as well if so inclined!
The apartment is really a basement flat with fairly steep steps off the road about 100 yards from the main hotel, inside a very nicely decorated lobby with two bedrooms either side. One is slightly bigger than the other but good sizes. The bathroom is well appointed and obviously, along with the rest of the place, recently re-furbished.
We had a couple of issues on the first night, the lights tripped out when the outside light was switched on and the shower drain was party blocked - we reported these and all resolved by the time we returned from dinner.
Breakfast was not included but for £10 seemed quite reasonable although we didn't take it at the hotel as Rose street (the foodies street!) was so close we found a couple of nice little cafe's for food.
Bed linens are top quality, beds a little hard but the fixtures and fittings are nicely chosen.The location is great with rail, taxi and bus links close by.
I have marked it down for several reasons, no spare loo rolls - 1/2 a roll for 4 people and we inevitably ran out with no spares, our bill was wrong and needed to be resolved - the 20% off food taken at the Kyloe restaurant had not been done - do some guests pay the full amount without realising? I bet they do. We also felt the lounge should have another sofa, why only 3 comfy seats for an apartment for 4??
All in all we really enjoyed our stay here and throughly recommend it - especially for two couples.
Top Tip for visiting Edinburgh - Leave the car in the park and rides and bus or train in. There is no parking at a reasonable price and roads chaos with the tram works.

Room Tip: If there are two couples - get the Apartment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North-East England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

We had 3 rooms for the weekend at this hotel to celebrate my retirement. We could not have been made more welcome. Every one of the reception staff that we met over the weekend greeted us like old friends and went out of their way to help us in any way they could. The rooms we had were spacious and comfortable (2 executives and a junior suite) and contained everything we needed. It was in an extremely convenient location near Princes Street and although there were road works going on outside we were not disturbed at all. Breakfast was a la carte, although it was possible to book bed and breakfast for £10pp extra on the room rate. There was a reasonable variety of dishes and what we had was well cooked and tasty. We would not hesitate to recommend the Rutland and would certainly choose it if we were to visit Edinburgh again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ValNorth_EastEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
155 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2012

As a very regular visitor I know really outstanding hotels are in surprisingly short supply in Edinburgh. Whilst I love Tigerlily I keep returning to the thought that they are resting on their laurels too much due to a lack of quality competition. Although the location lacks the buzz of George St there are lots of things I like about this place. The room was refreshingly creative but not so over designed to make impractical as a living space. Very competitively priced for an establishment of this quality.

The restaurant is outstanding great food in a relaxed atmosphere on a par with many of the areas best restaurants. Also breakfast in the bar the following morning was excellent.

A few little things they could improve on, as has been pointed out previously the entrance is not exactly easy to find a couple of simple signs by the bar door would help, but you would never make that mistake a second time. 1/3rd size bottles of Champagne in the room are nice, just a shame they don't fit in the mini bar, I mean you just wouldn't would you!

Only stayed once so far and then in a simple room but I was impressed with the accommodation (other than the bathroom where domestic fittings appear to have been used that are clearly not living up to the rigours of commercial use, specifically a somewhat broken spa bath and a distinct lack of hot water).

I will need to stay once or twice more to check the consistency but if they can keep this up our corporate deal may be moving.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ianx1london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
173 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights after reading trip advisor reviews. It is in a good location - 15 minute easy walk from Edinburgh Waverley station at the end of Princes street and with good views of the castle. There are major road works all around but the rooms are completely sound proof. We were in a standard room (2) which was a good size, with a comfortable bed and a nice bathroom with a spa bath. The hotel has gone out of its way to be welcoming with free wifi, fresh milk in the fridge and welcoming muffins, however the milk was completely rancid within 24 hours and the muffins were like cannonballs!
The staff were all friendly and helpful, especially Isabel on reception.
The rooms are not cheap - we paid £143 a night room only.
You can have breakfast in the Rutland Bar which is part of the hotel. We did this on day one and although once again the staff were very good and the bar is very comfortable, the quality of food and service is much better at Ryans bar just across the road. We also had Mojitos at the Rutland bar one afternoon and they were just glasses of crushed ice. I have had Mojitos all over the world and have never felt as ripped off as I did about those served at The Rutland.
The Rutland is a pleasant place to stay in Edinburgh and I would stay there again but I cannot give it the 5 stars that some trip advisors have.
Tip - take the train to North Queensferry and walk across the Forth road bridge - amazing views. You can then either walk back and catch a return train or walk through South Queensferry and catch a return train from Dalmeny. Well worth it.

Room Tip: Some rooms have castle views. Avoid room 1 next to lift, stairs and banging doors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MAXINEOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
murray w, General Manager at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review, 4 October 2012
Dear MAXINEoxford

many thanks for your comments regarding your recent stay at The Rutland - please accept our apologies for the elements of your experience that where not satisfactory - your comments have been passed on to & discussed with our management team in an effort to enusure no such issues in the future.

we look forward to welcoming you back to The Rutland very soon.

regards

M Ward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#11 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#24 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rutland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rutland Hotel

Property: The Rutland Hotel
Address: 1 - 3 Rutland Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#11 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rutland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rutland Hotel is set right in the heart of the city centre at the west end of Princes Street boasting exceptional views of Edinburgh Castle. An elegant boutique hotel with twelve beautifully appointed guest rooms and 5 luxury serviced apartments. Three are 2-bedroom and 2 are 1-bedroom, 2 with a private garden. Our guests comfort and enjoyment is at the forefront of our minds with Arran Aromatics toiletries and Nespresso coffee machines coupled with little curios and a well-stocked mini bar in every room. The Rutland Hotel is also home to Kyloe Restaurant and Grill - a glorious gourmet steakhouse and The Huxley, a friendly, homely bar serving great burgers & dogs with carefully crafted cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Rutland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland Hotel Edinburgh
The Rutland Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing