We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Rutland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Rutland Hotel
Ranked #9 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Lee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2012

We viewed The Rutland Hotel after being very disappointed in the hotel we were staying in. We were shown round the rooms by a member of staff who could not have been more attentive. The rooms were really beautiful and individually decorated. There was also the big plus point of having a jacuzzi bath in the room we chose.

We decided to check in and arrived the following day. All the members of staff were so friendly and had left us some complimentary gifts in our room (we were on honeymoon). It was in direct contrast to our previous experience. We visited in the hotel's restaurant that night and, again, the staff knew who we were and congratulated us on our wedding. The food also was excellent.

Overall, I could not recommend the hotel highly enough. I was everything we were looking for: it had character, warmth and a huge king sized bed.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire M, Manager at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Dear Polly, or rather, the new Mrs C!

I wanted to write and thank you both very much for taking the time to review The Rutland Hotel.

I'm delighted that you had such a nice time with us, and am only sorry we couldn't improve the weather any for the time you were here!

I'm very pleased that you found our staff to friendly and attentive - all our staff work very hard to put our guests first and foremost, and it's great to know that they have achieved this during your stay. I will make sure they all read your review too, so they can have your praise first hand!

Congratulations again, and hopefully we'll see you again, maybe this time next year.....

Kind regards,
Claire McGinnis
Rooms Manager
The Rutland Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,011 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    720
    238
    38
    10
    5
See reviews for
126
681
27
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
178 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2012 via mobile

From the welcoming smile at reception the service is excellent, a small boutique hotel with great interior design and a fantastic location, the steak bar is great has is breakfast in the morning, free wifi and water in the room top off a near perfect stay.

Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank LozKnowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire M, Manager at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Hi there Mr Knowles,

Just a wee note to thank you for writing a review of The Rutland Hotel.

I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us enough to come back with your wife, and hope we'll see you both again soon!

Kind regards,
Claire McGinnis
Rooms Manager
The Rutland Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

We rented The Rutland Apartment for 3 nights whilst in Edinburgh for our wedding. We cannot fault the Hotel, the staff, the Apartment and the attention to detail in any way. It's a fantastic location, an amazing apartment and the staff's friendliness made us feel very much at home. The apartment was spotless and well equipped, also quiet and cosy, which is surprising for it's location just off Lothian Road/Princes Street. We were made to feel very welcome by everyone, nothing was too much trouble. They even let us use the thrones in reception for a 'Posh & Becks' photo op! The private garden is a lovely addition to the apartment...as is the underfloor heating. We can't recommend The Rutland highly enough...and as for Kyloe, an amazing place for our wedding meal. Fantastic atmosphere, brilliant food and friendly, attentive staff. Thank you all for making our wedding weekend so memorable. A special thank you goes to Lynn Miller, who organised our stay and the meal, plus the cake, taxis, drinks, everything that we could possibly have wanted or needed, she missed nothing and made us feel so welcome and special. We will be back to both the hotel and the restaurant and bar and we will recommend them all whenever we can.

Room Tip: We stayed in The Rutland Apartment...so pick that :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clark-Brynolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire M, Manager at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Dear Lynn and Jacky,

Thank you both very much for your fantastic review of The Rutland Hotel and Kyloe, and for choosing to stay with us for your wedding!!

I'm thrilled that you found our staff to be excellent and the praise will definitely be passed on to all of them! As for Lynn - we are definitely very lucky to have her as our Events Manager - as you have experienced, she does an excellent job!

Again, thank you for your comments, and I hope we can welcome you back to stay with us again some time soon.

Kindest regards,
Claire McGinnis
Rooms Manager
The Rutland Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mansfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

We had an absolutely fantastic time staying at the Rutland for two nights, there was no way we could really fault it. Lovely friendly staff, and the room we stayed in (10) was just gorgeous, right at the top of the hotel with fantastic views over the city. It was a real treat to stay there and we would definitely recommend it to anyone wanting a romantic getaway in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire M, Manager at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2012
Hi Lucy,

I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your romantic getaway with us at The Rutland!

I hope you'll be able to come back and stay with us again sometime soon, and we'll try to get you in the same room again!

Kind regards,
Claire McGinnis
Rooms Manager
The Rutland Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2012

I had one night in Nov on business, forgot my toothbrush, was a bit ditzy and the staff were amazing. Friendly, genuinely interested in what I was doing. I dined in the steak house next door, slightly pricey but great steak. Fantastic location and we were lucky enough to get a parking spot right outside the door! Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reeny18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire M, Manager at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Hi there,

Just a wee note to say thank you for your comments!

I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we can welcome you back again soon (we've got spare toothbrushes at reception, just in case!).

Kind regards,
Claire McGinnis
Rooms Manager
The Rutland Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

Perfect location in the hear of Edinburgh with easy walking to all sites in Old and New Town, excellent & friendly service, great food for both breakfast and the Kyloe restaurant & wonderfully individual rooms

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMH1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire M, Manager at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Hi folks,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review for your stay!

I'm pleased you like the location of the hotel - it is very handy for most things in the centre of town.

I hope we can welcome you back again some time soon,
Kind regards,
Claire McGinnis
Rooms Manager
The Rutland Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2012

I have just come back from an overnight stay in this hotel. The hotel itself is in an excellent location with really nice rooms. I was welcomed by extremely friendly reception staff who couldn't have done more to make my stay enjoyable.
My only negative comment was that the hotel is located above quite a trendy city centre bar, and the member of the bar staff who served us (I wished I'd got his name) was one of the worst I've come across. When I asked the waitress for 2 coffee's we were served 2 black coffee's. Instead of asking the waitress for some milk I went up to the bar to ask for some milk, only to be greeted with this smart a~*!! who seemed to think serving people was beneath him who responded with "I didn't know you wanted milk with your black coffee's".It just goes to show that despite everything else being so nice, my most lasting memory was my anger with this guy behind the bar. So my advice would be stay at the hotel, it is great, and if using the bar only deal with the table waiting staff, but avoid bothering the guy behind the bar for such trivial things like milk as this really upsets him.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Weegieswinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire M, Manager at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review, 13 November 2012
Hi there,

Firstly let me thank you for taking the time to write a wee review for us - I'm very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us overall, and that you found the majority of our staff to be helpful.

I must, however, apologise for the comments made to you by the member of bar staff you mentioned - this is certainly not the kind of service that we aim to provide, and the relevant member of staff has been made aware of his actions.

I hope you will come back and stay with us again soon, and we can demonstrate the kind of service that we pride ourselves on!

Many thanks,
Claire McGinnis
Rooms Manager
The Riutland Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 150 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#23 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rutland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rutland Hotel

Property: The Rutland Hotel
Address: 1 - 3 Rutland Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#11 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rutland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rutland Hotel is set right in the heart of the city centre at the west end of Princes Street boasting exceptional views of Edinburgh Castle. An elegant boutique hotel with twelve beautifully appointed guest rooms and 5 luxury serviced apartments. Three are 2-bedroom and 2 are 1-bedroom, 2 with a private garden. Our guests comfort and enjoyment is at the forefront of our minds with Arran Aromatics toiletries and Nespresso coffee machines coupled with little curios and a well-stocked mini bar in every room. The Rutland Hotel is also home to Kyloe Restaurant and Grill - a glorious gourmet steakhouse and The Huxley, a friendly, homely bar serving great burgers & dogs with carefully crafted cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Rutland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland Hotel Edinburgh
The Rutland Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing