We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lacked pzazz and real quality.”
Review of The Rutland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Rutland Hotel
Ranked #9 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Lacked pzazz and real quality.”
Reviewed 3 December 2012

The Rutland Hotel is set in a fantastic location less than a minutes walk from Princes Street and only a few minutes from many of Edinburghs lovely attraction and eateries.
We, as a family, booked three rooms and found them all to be clean but very cold on arrival.
In one room the TV was temperamental at best and the shower seal above the bath was broken which meant that the bathroom floor got soaked each time you had a shower. The other rooms were fine in this regard.
The lack of a residents bar was disappointing as it meant a family with kids under 18 are effectively confined to their rooms whilst in their hotel. Having swapped a few e mails prior to booking I did feel this could have been pointed out in the course of our correspondence rather than when we were headed for the public bar attached to the hotel.
Room service was prompt and mini bar well stocked. The in room snacks plentiful although fairly expensive for what they were.
The staff were very friendly and helpful. Overall the experience was a bit disappointing and the treat of a boutique hotel failed to live up to expectations.

Room Tip: There is no residents bar, but direct access to a public bar,which means that children under 18 are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GerryH10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,086 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    777
    252
    41
    11
    5
See reviews for
146
715
33
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2012

We stayed here one weekend at the start of November. The location is superb, we had a beautiful room, the staff were very friendly and the room service was exceptional. The free muffins were a lovely touch. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yummy_ch0c0late
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire M, Receptionist at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2012
Dear Yummy_ch0c0late,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of The Rutland Hotel.

We are so glad you had an enjoyable stay with us, and found all the staff very friendly.

I will pass on the message to the kitchen about the exceptional room service, they will be pleased to hear that.

We will look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Kind regards,

Hannah McKnight
Hotel Receptionist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2012

We stayed at the Rutland for a wedding for a couple of nights in September so didn't really have the chance to relish the room as much as we might have! The location of the hotel is great, everything within walking distance and despite being above a bar (very nice it was too), you could not hear this or the street below.
Our room was spacious and very opulent, I loved the muffins when we arrived and the staff at the front desk were really friendly, great with directions and tips.
Had we stayed a bit longer, I might have given it 5, but I just don't know if we made the most of it for the price, our own fault I guess!

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lib0405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2012

My husband and I had a wonderful visit to Edinburgh in mid-November and loved our 3 nights at the Rutland Hotel. The room was fabulous and the staff were all completely friendly and professional. We felt like we were visiting with good friends or family - but in a fantastic hotel in a fantastic city. Thanks for making our visit to Scotland perfect!

Room Tip: We stayed in the red brocade front room overlooking Princes Street and the tram construction. But we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy29494
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire M, Receptionist at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review, 18 December 2012
Dear Amy 29494,

Thank you for writing such a lovely review about your recent stay with us at The Rutland Hotel.

We are all very pleased we helped make your visit to Scotland prefect and hopefully you will be back to visit us again in the future!

Kind regards,

Hannah McKnight
Hotel Receptionist
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

We viewed The Rutland Hotel after being very disappointed in the hotel we were staying in. We were shown round the rooms by a member of staff who could not have been more attentive. The rooms were really beautiful and individually decorated. There was also the big plus point of having a jacuzzi bath in the room we chose.

We decided to check in and arrived the following day. All the members of staff were so friendly and had left us some complimentary gifts in our room (we were on honeymoon). It was in direct contrast to our previous experience. We visited in the hotel's restaurant that night and, again, the staff knew who we were and congratulated us on our wedding. The food also was excellent.

Overall, I could not recommend the hotel highly enough. I was everything we were looking for: it had character, warmth and a huge king sized bed.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polly C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire M, Manager at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Dear Polly, or rather, the new Mrs C!

I wanted to write and thank you both very much for taking the time to review The Rutland Hotel.

I'm delighted that you had such a nice time with us, and am only sorry we couldn't improve the weather any for the time you were here!

I'm very pleased that you found our staff to friendly and attentive - all our staff work very hard to put our guests first and foremost, and it's great to know that they have achieved this during your stay. I will make sure they all read your review too, so they can have your praise first hand!

Congratulations again, and hopefully we'll see you again, maybe this time next year.....

Kind regards,
Claire McGinnis
Rooms Manager
The Rutland Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2012 via mobile

From the welcoming smile at reception the service is excellent, a small boutique hotel with great interior design and a fantastic location, the steak bar is great has is breakfast in the morning, free wifi and water in the room top off a near perfect stay.

Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank LozKnowles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire M, Manager at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review, 26 November 2012
Hi there Mr Knowles,

Just a wee note to thank you for writing a review of The Rutland Hotel.

I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us enough to come back with your wife, and hope we'll see you both again soon!

Kind regards,
Claire McGinnis
Rooms Manager
The Rutland Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carnoustie, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2012

We rented The Rutland Apartment for 3 nights whilst in Edinburgh for our wedding. We cannot fault the Hotel, the staff, the Apartment and the attention to detail in any way. It's a fantastic location, an amazing apartment and the staff's friendliness made us feel very much at home. The apartment was spotless and well equipped, also quiet and cosy, which is surprising for it's location just off Lothian Road/Princes Street. We were made to feel very welcome by everyone, nothing was too much trouble. They even let us use the thrones in reception for a 'Posh & Becks' photo op! The private garden is a lovely addition to the apartment...as is the underfloor heating. We can't recommend The Rutland highly enough...and as for Kyloe, an amazing place for our wedding meal. Fantastic atmosphere, brilliant food and friendly, attentive staff. Thank you all for making our wedding weekend so memorable. A special thank you goes to Lynn Miller, who organised our stay and the meal, plus the cake, taxis, drinks, everything that we could possibly have wanted or needed, she missed nothing and made us feel so welcome and special. We will be back to both the hotel and the restaurant and bar and we will recommend them all whenever we can.

Room Tip: We stayed in The Rutland Apartment...so pick that :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clark-Brynolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claire M, Manager at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this review, 19 November 2012
Dear Lynn and Jacky,

Thank you both very much for your fantastic review of The Rutland Hotel and Kyloe, and for choosing to stay with us for your wedding!!

I'm thrilled that you found our staff to be excellent and the praise will definitely be passed on to all of them! As for Lynn - we are definitely very lucky to have her as our Events Manager - as you have experienced, she does an excellent job!

Again, thank you for your comments, and I hope we can welcome you back to stay with us again some time soon.

Kindest regards,
Claire McGinnis
Rooms Manager
The Rutland Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,805 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,833 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 149 in Edinburgh
957 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#26 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,120 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#10 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,358 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rutland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rutland Hotel

Property: The Rutland Hotel
Address: 1 - 3 Rutland Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#11 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rutland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rutland Hotel is set right in the heart of the city centre at the west end of Princes Street boasting exceptional views of Edinburgh Castle. An elegant boutique hotel with twelve beautifully appointed guest rooms and 5 luxury serviced apartments. Three are 2-bedroom and 2 are 1-bedroom, 2 with a private garden. Our guests comfort and enjoyment is at the forefront of our minds with Arran Aromatics toiletries and Nespresso coffee machines coupled with little curios and a well-stocked mini bar in every room. The Rutland Hotel is also home to Kyloe Restaurant and Grill - a glorious gourmet steakhouse and The Huxley, a friendly, homely bar serving great burgers & dogs with carefully crafted cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Agoda so you can book your The Rutland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland Hotel Edinburgh
The Rutland Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing