We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel with brilliant staff”
Review of The Rutland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Rutland Hotel
Ranked #10 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful hotel with brilliant staff”
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The Rutland is absolutely gorgeous, our room (junior suite) was stunning. I chose the rutland as the hotel to take my fiancé to on the night of our engagement and it did not disappoint, with views of Edinburgh castle, tremendously helpful staff this hotel is the perfect place for that special night! Highly recommend!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dtesdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,033 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    733
    245
    39
    11
    5
See reviews for
131
690
27
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

The Ruthland is in the perfect location, very warm and welcoming staff, and nothing is a problem. The rooms are very comfortable and very individual I would recommend this hotel as one to stay in for that special weekend away.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glen_k91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Having decided on the last minute for a first time trip to Edinburgh it came down to choosing between staying at The Rutland or The Crowne Plaza. My husband and I were both so pleased we opted for this hotel. We booked our room just the night before arriving and I can't fault the receptionist who dealt with my booking on the phone.

On arriving at the hotel we found its entrance to be..... well, easily missed! Heading into reception, it was clean and welcoming and the receptionist on duty was the lady who I'd spoken to on the phone the previous evening and again I couldn't fault her - very friendly and professional We were checked in quickly and shown to our room.

We stayed in room 12 which we found to be clean and spacious with a castle view, albeit from a very small window. The bed was huge and I have to say the linen and covers were of high quality which all contributed to two of the best nights sleeps I've had in a long time!

The added touches in the room didn't go un-noticed. The muffin's made for a tasty snack, the fresh milk in the well stocked mini fridge was a welcomed accompaniment for the tea and coffee tray. My husband enjoyed playing his music through the rooms Bluetooth system. The usual amenities were also present - fluffy towels and robes, safe, hairdryer, toiletries and even GHD's! In terms of the room we would certainly rate that as very nearly a 5, but the shower wasn't great. Although clean, the sealant around the shower tray was black and was in desperate need of replacing. The water pressure wasn't brilliant either which was a little disappointing as the bathroom itself certainly looked the part and I had high hopes!

The other slight glitch with our room was the noise from what we assumed was the air conditioning unit although we're not convinced it wasn't the hot water system. It was certainly running and gurgling water in the morning as opposed to the constant hum of the air con unit. Anyway, this was the only noise issue we encountered in our room. Being on a busy street, with a busy bar and restaurant below we can't believe we didn't hear a thing!

The main thing we thought lacking which is certainly a given in all other luxury hotels that we have stayed in, is a turn down service. A little touch that would have given the stay that extra luxury feeling.

The staff we encountered either on reception, in the bar or restaurant or just walking to or from our room in the corridors, were all polite and friendly.

We ate in the steak restaurant which was very good. Both the food and the service was excellent even though a little pricey it was worth a visit. We certainly had no complaints and we're both fussy eaters!

Breakfast was included in our room rate and we ate both mornings of our trip in the bar. On the first morning waiter service was attentive and quick but there was a delay in our food coming out. Second morning, we didn't have any issues. Quick and efficient and no complaints on the food on either day.

We felt that overall its a very good hotel with the possibility of it being excellent. A little attention to the detail in the rooms, such as the shower sealant wouldn't go amiss. Attention is definitely needed to the front entrance as its certainly difficult to spot even when looking for it! I do appreciate that the hotel may be limited with what can be done to the exterior with planning laws as it is a listed building, but I'm sure there is room for improvements, it just looks tired from the outside once you know its there!

We wouldn't hesitate to stay again, and would hope that the hotel management take on board the comments and don't overlook the little things as they have, in our opinion, got the basis for this being a fabulous boutique hotel in an excellent location.

Room Tip: Wouldn't go wrong with room 12 but there is a flight of stairs to contend with!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lad4495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Location: out of the way of the noise. A short walk through the gardens to north bridge. A hop off the airline bus (£7 return)
Staff: could not be more helpful and polite
Room: stayed in a junior suite (6 with castle view)& a standard room. Both excellent. Bluetooth to play music throughout the room. Great coffee machine and pods. Jacuzzi bath and shower worked well. Nice shampoo & shower gel (bring your own conditioner, unless you want to condition with what smells and feels like soap). But they do provide a Vidal hair dryer and GHD hair straighteners!
Breakfast: in the Huxley bar downstairs, great choice and pretty good food. Smoothies are very nice, and good coffee. And a view of the castle if you sit in the alcove.
Wifi: excellent
Would recommend this place to a friend and would return again.
Hotels restaurant - well worth a visit!

Room Tip: Room 6 has great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betnat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Room was very nice, staff friendly and in a brilliant location only a 10min walk to the Castle.

Hotel staff were very friendly and willing to help with any questions we had. Within easy walking distance of all the main attractions

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank tom2810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

We took a short break to Edinburgh at the beginning of June, and wanted to spoil ourselves a little bit. After reading the reviews on here we decided on the Rutland, and we weren't disappointed. Arrival was made easy by friendly staff who were very helpful. We mentioned it was a special occasion, and when we got to our room there was a bottle on ice. A really nice thought. The room was plush, with a huge bed, just what we wanted. Breakfast in the Huxley was delicious, and we really enjoyed our stay. Location was great, staff were great, we will definitely return. Thanks guys .

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank slysativa .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LEEDS UK
Level Contributor
114 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We stayed at the Rutland Apartment which is a few doors down from the main hotel/bar and was a great location, very quiet even though bedrooms face the street, the apartment is a basement conversion but very bright and airy. The modern decor and facilities are excellent.
The Kyloe restaurant was good, fantastic steaks and you get -20% off the bill.
The attached Huxley bar was busy and vibrant early evening.

Room Tip: 2 bed Apartment for families is good choice but it has 1 x king and 1 x double.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MANINAFRICA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,780 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
5.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#25 of 147 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
West End
Waldorf Astoria Edinburgh - The Caledonian
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rutland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rutland Hotel

Property: The Rutland Hotel
Address: 1 - 3 Rutland Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#7 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#11 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rutland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rutland Hotel is set right in the heart of the city centre at the west end of Princes Street boasting exceptional views of Edinburgh Castle. An elegant boutique hotel with twelve beautifully appointed guest rooms and 5 luxury serviced apartments. Three are 2-bedroom and 2 are 1-bedroom, 2 with a private garden. Our guests comfort and enjoyment is at the forefront of our minds with Arran Aromatics toiletries and Nespresso coffee machines coupled with little curios and a well-stocked mini bar in every room. The Rutland Hotel is also home to Kyloe Restaurant and Grill - a glorious gourmet steakhouse and The Huxley, a friendly, homely bar serving great burgers & dogs with carefully crafted cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Rutland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland Hotel Edinburgh
The Rutland Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing