We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great detail oriented hotel!”
Review of The Rutland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Rutland Hotel
Ranked #9 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great detail oriented hotel!”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The Rutland Hotel was the second stop on our honeymoon and my wife and I couldn't be more pleased with the hotel. The hotel is detail oriented in every way - fresh bottled water every day, hair curlers, terrific toiletries, great coffee etc (with fresh milk rather than powdered creamer). Every staff member was warm, friendly and helpful - always offering to take care of things for us or finding ways to save us time.

We had breakfast each day downstairs at the Huxley and were given free rein to order anything off the menu and every item was delicious. We also tried their steakhouse Kyloe and had a terrific Cote de Boeuf - well worth it for a steak lover.

The location was super - just outside of both New Town and Old Town so it wasn't noisy at all. Getting to the airport was a breeze, the express bus is just a couple minutes away.

In the $240-400USD/night range I don't think you could do better in Edinburgh.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ecbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,071 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    765
    250
    40
    11
    5
See reviews for
142
707
30
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (250)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Very clean and quiet room, didn't know we were right in the centre of Edinburgh! Staff could not be more helpful or better dressed. We need to go back to try the steak house, but The Huxley was nice and relaxed with great food. Overall we came out feeling refreshed and very happy :D

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wat50n24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My husband and I enjoyed our stay at The Rutland Hotel. We had to drop luggage off early which was no problem at all. They kindly stored our luggage in safe place next to reception until we returned in the afternoon to check in. On check in we where shown to our room (castle room no 11). The muffins in the room where a nice surprise and the espresso machine easy to use. Our luggage was also sitting waiting for us. Lovely thick bathrobes and ironing board hidden in the wardrobe where a nice touch also. My ultimate love about this room was the white rococo style bed with its soft mattress that you just melt into. The bathroom was clean and spacious and the view of the castle from the room was lovely. Breakfast the next day was one of the best I have ever had. Everything was cooked perfectly and staff where very welcoming. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Edinburgh as it is situated in a perfect location.

Room Tip: Some rooms like number 11 are situated up an extra floor from the lift. I would recommend asking if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Volantra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Nice townhouse hotel in a central location. Our room was spacious with a large comfortable bed. Though located at a busy road junction and with bars nearby there was no road or street noise and even internally it was so quiet we would hardly have known there was anyone else staying - though I believe they were actually full. The little extras in the room and the complimentary bottled water all made it a little different to the usual chain hotels and we would happily stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I was so impressed with our room it was spacious and very modern and elegantly decorated. The staff were so friendly and happy to help.

On a side note, the added extra touches in the room don't hurt either, freshly baked muffins,proper coffee, a ghd straightener and the most lovely shampoo and conditioner.

We will be back

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeesaJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

I took my very picky partner here as a surprise for his 29th birthday and I can honestly say we were both incredibly happy with everything this hotel had to offer.
Service was excellent, very friendly and we were even shown around our room at arrival.
The room was beautiful and very clean. It offered a lot of extras such as GHDs (great for the ladies so ypu dont have to bring yours with you!), lovely wrapped fresh muffins on the bed, bluetooth speakers in the room which you can connect your phone/ipod to and even a complimentary bottle of bubbly free on arrival due to it being my partners birthday!
They have 20% off all food and drink in the downstairs bar (which we took advantage of) and offer 20% off a future stay which is sent via email after your visit.
I can honestly say I cannot wait to return!
Thank you to the Rutland and especially the two extremely helpful girls at the reception desk.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SLB0292
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lanarkshire
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed one night for an anniversary and were not disappointed. Room was lovely, very big with great views of the castle, great products in the large bathroom and ghd straighteners also in the room. Lots of extras in the mini fridge(at a cost though!) muffins were nice tough however extra for the tiny box of chocolates which I thought should have been included in room price.
Great bar on ground floor which serves a lovely breakfast in the morning, staff even brought our drinks to the room for us to enjoy whist getting ready to go out for dinner,husband went down to get a drink to bring to room and was told they would bring up for us, great service. Very central for bars/restaurants and shops. Very friendly and helpful staff, would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Superior room 11 had fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#10 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,767 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,819 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 149 in Edinburgh
930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,080 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rutland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rutland Hotel

Property: The Rutland Hotel
Address: 1 - 3 Rutland Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AE, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#11 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rutland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rutland Hotel is set right in the heart of the city centre at the west end of Princes Street boasting exceptional views of Edinburgh Castle. An elegant boutique hotel with twelve beautifully appointed guest rooms and 5 luxury serviced apartments. Three are 2-bedroom and 2 are 1-bedroom, 2 with a private garden. Our guests comfort and enjoyment is at the forefront of our minds with Arran Aromatics toiletries and Nespresso coffee machines coupled with little curios and a well-stocked mini bar in every room. The Rutland Hotel is also home to Kyloe Restaurant and Grill - a glorious gourmet steakhouse and The Huxley, a friendly, homely bar serving great burgers & dogs with carefully crafted cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Rutland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland Hotel Edinburgh
The Rutland Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing