We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, nice rooms & great breakfast”
Review of The Rutland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Rutland Hotel
Ranked #12 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I stayed with 9 friends at this centrally located hotel. I researched quite a bit in advance and was not at all disappointed: Fantastic location and still no noise in the rooms. Breakfast was outstanding though I have to admit the service was pretty slow - we had to wait at least 30-45 minutes to get our orders served. We also used the private dining room of the in-house steak house which is highly recommendable. Staff was very efficient and friendly overall in both the hotel as well as restaurant. I would return anytime to The Rutland when I go back to lovely Edinburgh.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pierre_Corinna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

664 - 670 of 1,177 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

On this repeat visit, I had occasion to complain about one aspect of the room. The manager was informed and acted immediately by transferring us to a newly refurbished serviced flat adjoining the main hotel. And, wow, what a flat it was! The ultimate in luxury and modern design. Nor did we have to pay for this considerable upgrade; not that there is anything wrong with the rooms in the hotel proper.
There was no quibbling by the staff and we were treated with the greatest courtesy. After a brilliant sleep we we were indulged with a good breakfast which was included in the price. It may not have been cheap, because nothing is at Festival time, but it was good value.
Sadly, the excellent restaurant attached to the hotel, 'Kyloe', was full, so on this occasion we had to eat elsewhere.
We shall, of course, be back.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Stumbled across this hotel whilst struggling to get a wee night away to celebrate our 10 year wedding anniversary and i am so glad we did. Great location for the shops and a short walk away from the Castle. Room was a great size and very modern. On arrival there was homemade muffins in the room plus a bottle of Prosecco along with a lovely card to congratulate us on our anniversary. The room had ghd straighteners, hairdryer, iron and iron board. The bed was very comfy. The bathroom was a great size with a massive shower. Breakfast was gorgeous great selection to choose from. The car park was about 5 minutes walk away and you also get a discount from the hotel. Overall a brilliant stay and we would definitely return.

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Louise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

We booked this hotel due to it's location in the centre of Edinburgh and proximity to Edinburgh Castle. It could not have been more perfect...everything was within walking distance. Some incredible restaurants and bars are close by too, we tried Tigerlily and Panda Panda and loved them both.

The Hotel gave us a bottle of Proseco as we were celebrating a very significant birthday. The room has great amenities and free wifi, water and lovely soaps/lotion etc. Staff are attentive but not intrusive. It was a lovely stay, the only negatives were the shower was a bit temperamental coming on hot then cold, then just not powerful...but it was ok after a little time. The cost was also quite substantial at £225 for one night!!! It was a great stay though!

Room Tip: We liked the look of room 11 and 12...they have windows that face the castle and the best views from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank greenpanther30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We decided to have a visit to the Edinburgh Festival & got a deal at the Rutland in a junior suite. The staff are so friendly & helpful - room great. Only thing telly was not working but we were out at shows so not a problem but got free drinks to make up. Lovely breakfast too. Would recommend as it is so central to main Edinburgh events.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank VeryWeakTea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

The word Boutique hotel gets much overused. Get in a named designer, create something a bit over the top, and up go the prices. This hotel does justify the label. It is simple; really just some rooms with a couple of restaurants on the ground and first floor. There are no other facilities. The rooms are well designed, although it may not be to every ones taste - we did like it. The rooms are large, with wide windows so lots of natural light, and our room (11 i think) had wonderful views over the castle and Princes street. You can't open any windows, which i never like, so you have to rely on air-conditioning to create any air flow. somehow that does not feel very Edinburgh to me!!
staff are helpful and friendly; it is in a great location.
there was definitely an unfortunate odour around the central staircase and corridor - i think a lack of fresh air and/or something from the restaurants. Not nice.

Room Tip: Limited rooms, so ask!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SimonT962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

We stayed at the serviced apartment for my friends birthday. It was amazing, we had such a great experience. Firstly when we checked in the reception staff are really lovely and chatty, the room wasn't quite ready so they took us through to the bar and by the time we came back our bags were in our room. The apartment itself is a couple buildings up from the hotel so you have all the hotel amenities but it feels like your own little home in the city centre. The apartment itself is just stunning. Love the stylish and modern decor - it's quite eclectic, modern and finished to a really high standard with all mod cons. The bedrooms were lovely. The living area was brilliant for a girls night out we could sit around in our robes (provided) and have a few glasses of wine before getting ready. It's a very sociable apartment. The shower is great. There are nice little extras like a coffee machine, complimentary muffins (I think home made but could be wrong), and GHD straighteners. The place is just beautiful you don't want to leave! The check out isn't until 12 which is nice as you get a little bit extra time to chill than some other hotels. Would definitely recommend this place and will visit again

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 8184mand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,892 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,066 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 151 in Edinburgh
680 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#13 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,006 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rutland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rutland Hotel

Address: 1-3 Rutland Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#9 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#11 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £89 - £350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rutland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rutland Hotel is set right in the heart of the city centre at the west end of Princes Street boasting exceptional views of Edinburgh Castle. An elegant boutique hotel with twelve beautifully appointed guest rooms and 9 luxury serviced apartments. 5 are 2-bedroom and 4 are 1-bedroom, 2 with a private garden. Our guests comfort and enjoyment is at the forefront of our minds with Arran Aromatics toiletries and Nespresso coffee machines coupled with little curios and a well-stocked mini bar in every room. The Rutland Hotel is also home to Kyloe Restaurant and Grill - a glorious gourmet steakhouse and The Huxley, a friendly, homely bar serving great burgers & dogs with carefully crafted cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Rutland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland Hotel Edinburgh
The Rutland Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing