We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow”
Review of The Rutland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Rutland Hotel
Ranked #9 of 149 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
west yorkshire
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wow”
Reviewed 21 April 2010

What can we say that hasn't already been said?
I agree with all the other great reviews. Brilliant location, fabulous rooms (stayed in room 2) with great add ons (GHD's, Vidal sasoon hairdryer, Korres toileteries) Professional staff delivering high customer service who ever and where ever you encounter them, nothing is too much trouble.
Breaksfast was lovely and of great value.
Restaurant food gorgeous (mussels and steak and rabbitt and pork pie and ham and eggs) The restaurant has a large wine list, unfortunately they didn't have our first choice, we quickly chose a second and were offered free bread for the inconvenience, we were happy with this. The manager then apologised and told us the wine was on the house, what a lovely bonus!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NessWY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,089 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    779
    253
    41
    11
    5
See reviews for
147
717
33
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (253)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne
1 review
Reviewed 19 April 2010

My girlfriend and I spent a sunday and monday night at the Rutland last week and cannot think of a thing that we were unhappy with. The hotel is relatively small, with only 12 bedrooms I think, but is very very central, being at the western end of Prince's St, therefore taxis , public transport were unnecessary. The hotel is situated directly above the Rutland Hotel which is used for breakfast for residents (and the general public - although v few came in early on). The bar is very chic and we spent our first night there and then went up to the restaurant which was quiet but very nicely / contemporarily decorated with a wide ranging menu. No complaints with the restaurant at all with very friendly staff. The room itself was on the second floor. I suppose one word of warning is that the lift only goes up to the first floor, but that didn't present us with any problems (despite my girlfriend's prematurely arthritic knees!). The room was very spacious with flat screen tv on the wall, very nice contemporary bathroom with shower over (the controls were a bit fiddly and took a bit of getting used to but fine when we did) and most importantly I'm told GHDs were in the room. If you don't don't know what they are ask your wife! Breakfast was also very nice in the bar, which wasn't at all odd to do. We've done it before in a v minimalist hotel in Paris - The Kube - so this was tame in comparison. Scottish cooked breakfast, scrambled eggs, eggs benedict were all top notch. One thing we didn't do was visit the club below, we'll save that til next time as we'll definitely be returning as soon a we get the chance! A lovely two days in a great location.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swifty110962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Andrews Fife Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2010

Was meeting family there to celebrate my Neices 21st. Spa bath, King bed, view of the Castle, very clean, amazing decor, dedicated helpful staff, food was of the highest quality. Restaurant, Bar, and Nightclub all rolled into one Unforgattable experience. Prices were reasonable and worth every penny. Unfortunately I only stayed 1 night but felt like a VIP. Centrally located for shopping and Rail travel with taxi rank on the doorstep. The Rutland has the Whole Package. Don't miss out. I'LL BE BACK.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JackzSpratz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
1 review
Reviewed 10 April 2010

Visited for a weekend break to get away following what felt like the longest winter ever. The hotel was excellent from the moment we arrived. Everyone we met was friendly and helpful. The room was lovely, clean and lots of thoughtful touches to make it homely. We were not disturbed once by nosie from surrounding rooms, doors banging or from the corridors. A lovely change from the sameness, impersonal chain hotes - highly recommended. We'll be back!!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SazLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2010

We stayed a The Rutland Hotel for Valentine's weekend and booked one of their suite (Room 12). The room was beautiful and very approriate for such a weekend with very dramatic red floral wallpaper and very stylish furnishings.
We had a single red rose & rose petals on our bed, and complimentary bottles of water & muffins on our arrival. The whirlpool bath with surround sound was very relaxing and a glimpse of the castle made our stay very special.
We did not eat at the hotel although the restaurant does get very good reviews. We had an exquisit meal in The Kitchin in Leith and would highly recommend this to anyone wishing something special...choose the Tom's Land and Sea Surprise Tasting menu for a real treat!
Edinburgh is a very compact city, easy to walk, especially on a nice sunny day when you can stroll along the beautiful streets and admire the stunning architecture & scenery.
The Rutland has a great location and we would definately stay at there again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Paulade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leicestershire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 March 2010

We have stayed in many hotels in this amzing city and I can easily say that the Rutland is easily our favourite. Our room was nice and spacious and the bed was perhaps the most comfortable bed in which I have ever slept! I would highly recommend the hotel to anyone

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thewoodhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
luton
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2010

checked out this hotel on trip advisor before booking and was'nt disappointed staff were very nice and friendly our room was very nice very trendy with all mod cons nice touch having ghd's in rooms all in all i would recommend the rutland

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gillLuton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#12 of 149 in Edinburgh
3,808 reviews
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,835 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#4 of 149 in Edinburgh
958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#25 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,123 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#10 of 149 in Edinburgh
1,360 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rutland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rutland Hotel

Property: The Rutland Hotel
Address: 1 - 3 Rutland Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#6 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#11 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#17 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rutland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rutland Hotel is set right in the heart of the city centre at the west end of Princes Street boasting exceptional views of Edinburgh Castle. An elegant boutique hotel with twelve beautifully appointed guest rooms and 5 luxury serviced apartments. Three are 2-bedroom and 2 are 1-bedroom, 2 with a private garden. Our guests comfort and enjoyment is at the forefront of our minds with Arran Aromatics toiletries and Nespresso coffee machines coupled with little curios and a well-stocked mini bar in every room. The Rutland Hotel is also home to Kyloe Restaurant and Grill - a glorious gourmet steakhouse and The Huxley, a friendly, homely bar serving great burgers & dogs with carefully crafted cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your The Rutland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland Hotel Edinburgh
The Rutland Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing