We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
£142
Expedia.com
£158
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
£158
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,602)
Filter reviews
1,602 results
Traveller rating
1,184
331
64
13
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,184
331
64
13
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews huxley bar jacuzzi bath castle view room ghd straighteners junior suite princess street bed apartment central location the ground floor eggs benedict princes st amazing hotel coffee machine perfect stay would highly recommend this hotel visiting edinburgh huntley
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
187 - 192 of 1,602 reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2019

We were disappointed at lack of apology after power failure for 4 hours, not their fault, but a suggestion of £20 charge for later check out, which we compromised at a trade off, due to lack of breakfast facilities.

Date of stay: July 2019
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BrunoMarques1, Manager at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2019

Hi David,

Thank you for your review.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay.

I do apologise for the incident on the morning you were leaving, as you mentioned we had no control over it. However, I can see that there was some misunderstanding when it comes to your late check-out request - there is of course a charge for a later check-out, however if you were impacted at all by the power issue we would've not charged you for this. My apologies that this was not dealt in the best way.

I hope you come back again soon, so we can turn this 4 star into a 5 star review!

Kindest regards,

Bruno Marques
Rooms Manager | The Rutland Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2019

We stayed as a couple for an event at the Castle and couldn’t have asked for any better. The hotel staff were so helpful and welcoming and the location of the hotel is so handy to everything!
Nothing is missed in the hotel, from the GHD hairdryer and straighteners to the bottles of water beside the bed. This hotel is a must!
We will definitely be back

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rubysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BrunoMarques1, Manager at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2019

Good afternoon,

Thank you so much for the kind review of our hotel - we are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kindest regards,

Bruno Marques
Rooms Manager | The Rutland Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2019

we were coming for our daughter's graduation and we were upgraded to this amazing apartment, beautifully decorated and very comfortable. I only wish we could have stayed a bit longer to enjoy it even more. Thank you to the very friendly staff!

Date of stay: July 2019
1  Thank Isabelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BrunoMarques1, Manager at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2019

Good afternoon,

A beautiful occasion deserves a beautiful apartment to go with, very happy that you loved it. Thank you so much for your kind words!

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kindest regards,

Bruno Marques
Rooms Manager | The Rutland Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2019 via mobile

This was our second stay at the Rutland. The apartments at this hotel really are fantastic. The staff also can’t do enough for you - they were amazing. The Huxley does a great breakfast too! We are looking forward to a third visit as this is the must stay hotel in Edinburgh & such a hidden gem

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank KarenA79
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BrunoMarques1, Manager at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2019

Good afternoon,

Thank you so much for the kind review of our hotel - we are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We also can't wait to welcome you back for the third time. And the fourth. And fifth! It's always a pleasure.

Kindest regards,

Bruno Marques
Rooms Manager | The Rutland Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2019

We could not have been happier at the Rutland. Not only was it lovely and in a brilliant location, but the staff was extraordinary. Our luggage was lost on the first day and every person at reception tried their very best to assist us. They were SO concerned and helpful, worried as if it were their own belongings! They really made the nightmare more bearable as we knew they understood our frustration. Bruno, Andrea, Juan and Julie, thank you!!! I would most definitely recommend the Rutland to anyone....a really wonderful stay!

Room tip: Upstairs room had a lovely view and beautiful windows.
Date of stay: June 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Dream817836
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BrunoMarques1, Manager at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2019

Good afternoon,

Thank you very much for your kind words, it is fantastic to hear that you have thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us!

It is a horrible situation to be in and I am pleased that we all helped as much as we possibly could to make a not good event more bearable.

I'll pass on your kind words to Andrea, Juan and Julia!

Hope to have you back soon.

Kindest regards,

Bruno Marques
Rooms Manager | The Rutland Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews