We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
£156
Expedia.com
£173
Get rewarded with One Key
Hotels.com
£173
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,602)
Filter reviews
1,602 results
Traveller rating
1,184
331
64
13
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,184
331
64
13
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews huxley bar jacuzzi bath castle view room ghd straighteners junior suite princess street bed apartment central location the ground floor eggs benedict princes st amazing hotel coffee machine perfect stay would highly recommend this hotel visiting edinburgh huntley
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
182 - 187 of 1,602 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2019

I booked this hotel twice during my recent stay in Edinburgh. The first room was room 5, which had an excellent view of the castle. After a trip up north to the Isle of Skye, I returned to the hotel for my second stay and was delighted to hear they'd upgraded me to a better room at no charge. This room (6) didn't have as good a view of the castle, but was very large and nicely furnished. Everything was clean, the staff was polite and helpful, and overall I really enjoyed my stay and would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Edinburgh.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank pr0teu5
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BrunoMarques1, Manager at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2019

Good afternoon,

Thank you so much for the kind review of our hotel - we are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kindest regards,
Bruno Marques
Rooms Manager | The Rutland Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2019

Upon arriving at the hotel we were given an upgrade to a one bedroom apartment. It was a very lovely apartment with all the amenities, and exceptionally clean. The hotel stated it offered air conditioning, but it was not working during our stay. However, the gentleman at reception brought a fan up as soon as we rang. The staff was very pleasant and eager to please. Our arrival was late in the afternoon after a tour, but reception acquired a reservation for a nice table in the restaurant. The food was exceptional and the service great. The property is in Old Town and very close to most landmarks. It is surprisingly quiet to be so close to main streets of Edinburgh.

Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KissedbyWine
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BrunoMarques1, Manager at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2019

Hi there,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a fantastic review of our property!

I am glad you enjoyed your upgrade and that we exceeded your expectations - you are indeed correct the Air Conditioning is present in all of our hotel rooms, however our apartments only have central heating, as they are quite big and with the windows open it creates a nice draft that allows the apartments to cool off. I'm glad the fan helped cooling off during this very hot spell we had in Edinburgh.

We hope to welcome you back again soon!

Kindest regards,

Bruno Marques
Rooms Manager | The Rutland Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2019 via mobile

This is a repost from Hotels.com review.
Booked a 2 bedroom unit for a family of 5 for 3 day stay (it was unit 17-4) via Hotels.com

Unit was on the 3rd floor (2nd by European standards).
No elevator of course - we had to drag the luggage and the baby stroller up.
Unit had no AC despite the listing on Hotels.com.
When asked about AC the hotel bellman became uncomfortable and suggested that perhaps by turning on the heat (which was off) to about 10 degrees Celsius , it would magically provide AC. (It didn’t happen). I understand that Edinburgh is not a hot city and often does not need AC but the rooms were very humid and stuffy - felt much hotter than the outside temperature. Besides that, it’s just a dishonest listing - don’t list it if you don’t have it. Perhaps other units have it but certainly not this one. It was unbearable once temperature went up.

Overall, not very clean, not very nice.
Very disappointing overall.
No closet space in the main bedroom at all.
Rod in the middle of the room without hangers provided (bring your own)!
Not enough towels.
No drawers/storage space there either.
Definitely nothing special or deserving of excellent rating. Not worth the price.
There are much better hotels/residences for the price with better amenities in the area

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank ir14
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 July 2019

Stayed a couple of nights over a weekend with my wife.
Room was available on arrival and delighted to find we had been upgraded.
The receptionist was delightful, full of information and clearly explained the ins and outs about the hotel.
Our room was huge with a partial view of the castle and the top of Princes Street.
Because we were residents, we received 20% discount for the adjoining restaurant.
Despite being in a very busy part of the City, the room was very quiet and we both got good nights sleep.
Breakfast was included in our tariff and was delicious and ample on both mornings.
Summing up, a great hotel in the heart of a great City. Would certainly recommend and use again when we visit Edinburgh again.

Room tip: Room 6 for great views
Date of stay: July 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Royal-Archie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BrunoMarques1, Manager at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2019

Good afternoon,

Thank you very much for the lovely words and review of our hotel.

I am very happy to see you have thoroughly enjoyed staying with us and will make sure that your lovely comments are passed on to the team!

We all look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kindest regards,

Bruno Marques
Rooms Manager | The Rutland Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2019 via mobile

We stayed here as a group for my friends 50th birthday.
We had a 2 bed apartment and a room in the hotel. Lovely modern decor, and nice little touches in the room like GHD straighteners, bottled water etc.
The reception staff were very friendly and helpful, and our bags were carried upstairs for us as there was no lift in the apartment building.
Breakfast was very good, served in Kyloe restaurant.
I would stay here again as the location was perfect for being in the heart of the city.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2  Thank Isobeljackmummy
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
BrunoMarques1, Manager at The Rutland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2019

Good afternoon,

Thank you so much for the kind review of our hotel - we are thrilled that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kindest regards,

Bruno Marques
Rooms Manager | The Rutland Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews