We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One word to describe this hotel ......... AMAZING!”
Review of The Rutland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Rutland Hotel
Ranked #12 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 January 2011

I stayed at this hotel with my partner in January 2011 for 3 nights as a surprise for his birthday :-)

On arrival the hotel staff could not have been more helpful and friendly, and the check in process was very quick, and we were then shown to our room.

The room all I can say is WOW! I chose the Castle View Room, and it was as every bit as spectacular as the pictures on the website and the other reviews I had read on here. The room is a very good size, and has everything you could need available, from an ironing board and iron to GHD hair straighteners! There is tea and coffee facilties in the room and you are provided with fresh milk everyday, along with lovely butter shortbread biscuits :-)

The bathroom was very big, with a big bath and an over bath rainfall shower and there was always lots of hot water. Nice range of complimentary toiletries, especially the hand soap and nice big towels.

The room had a large flat screen tv on the wall and the room has surround sound speakers in the ceiling. This means you can ut music on and listen to it through the speakers in the bathroom! All controlled from a pad on the wall.

As for the bed, it was HUGE! We both agreed it was the most comfortable bed we had ever slept in and found it a struglle to get out of bed the first morning. We did manage to get out of bed and made it down for breakfast in the Rutland Bar. Nice simple breakfast selection, and all that we choose was delicious and of a high quality.

Throughout the stay the staff were friendly, courteous and efficient. Working myself with the general public it was refreshing to receive such excellent service.

Would we stay again? Try and stop us! I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel whatsoever.

Well done Rutland Hotel for an excellent product and service.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drew5791
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,177)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,052 - 1,058 of 1,177 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2011

wonderful friendly staff, fantastic food, great amenities, its the little touches and attention to detail that makes all the difference

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank boo_bootoyou_betty0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2011

Just a short stroll from Princes Gardens this little boutique hotel with a lively bar and a modern restaurant waited for us with a big surprise. We had booked a junior suite for a decent price and were upgraded to “the apartment”. Though situated in a classic Scottish basement this gem turned out to be quite huge and full of love to details. Everything had a brand new feel. From the full and open kitchen with a 4 stool bar to the large sofa in the good sized living room. Large flatscreen with satellite, dishwasher, Nespresso machine, micro wave, modern stove, tea making facilities, etx., etc. All in perfect condition. A perfectly clean and very modern bathroom, a closet with washing machine and two nice bedrooms one with a king the other with a queen. Very comfy both. And so quiet we could not believe. Princes street away two minutes. Castle twenty minutes. All by foot. If the very welcoming and friendly receptionist would have figured out how to get me the internet access code for the apartment during our 48 hour stay the hotel would have been perfect. Wireless worked in the hotel itself. Overall the best hotel experience for a long time.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2011

The Rutland is lovely - it's in a great location at the end of Princes Street, it has sumptuous décor (including large, thrown-like chairs dotted around the corridors), the staff are friendly, and our room was a great size with a cool walk-in shower.

But, there's a problem. It has a bar that's open until 3am. It's in the basement and we were on the third-floor, and it kept us awake. It seemed, naturally, worse at the weekend.

I have a real problem with not being able to sleep at a hotel due to their own music. Clubs are meant to stimulate you until the small hours of the morning; hotels are meant to be restful. They are not natural partners.

This also led to my one complaint with the staff - with who I believe was the manager. On checking out he asked, out of courtesy, how the stay had been. I said the hotel was lovely, but that we'd been kept awake at night from the bar. He unfortunately laughed this off, which grated.

So there you go, a great hotel with a noise problem at weekends.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Number23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2011

My boyfriend and I spent 3 nights at The Rutland for Hogmanay 2011 and had a fantastic time. One of the reasons I decided upon the hotel (aside from it's gorgeous décor and central positioning) was that as soon as I called the Reception to enquire about room facilities they were exceptionally helpful and friendly, even offering to hold the room for me for 24hrs despite the booking being over one of the busiest times of year for Edinburgh.

We travelled to Edinburgh via train and walked to the hotel from Waverley station - the walk was roughly 15mins and very pleasant as you go straight along Princes Street Gardens and past a few sights, including Edinburgh Castle, which looms in the distance. We arrived at the hotel and were greeted warmly by the receptionist, who asked us to take a seat while someone came to show us to our room. A minute later another member of staff arrived to carry our bags and take us up to our room. The service was excellent throughout and my boyfriend commented that he has never been shown around a room with such attention before, as she pointed out how to work certain facilities in the room such as the surround sound speakers and the thermostat. A few minutes later our mini tour of the room was done and we were left to explore on our own. There were rose petals and muffins on the bed, along with a welcome letter and complementary tickets to The One Below late bar on NYE, nice personal touches I felt.

The room (number 4, an executive suite) was absolutely stunning and a great size, more space than we needed! The décor was lovely, very modern and decadent but not overpowering. The bed - I could write a whole chapter about that bed - was the most comfortable I've ever slept in and kept us cosy and snug in the cold winter weather (although the whole hotel was lovely and warm). The lighting around the bed was pretty cool; there are many different lights around the room which is perfect for creating whatever mood you're after, although getting used to the switches takes a while! The room was cleaned and tidied thoroughly every day, regardless of what time we left (sometimes after 12 midday).

The bathroom was great, large and with a rainfall shower that had very decent pressure and temperature control. Didn't have any trouble with flooding the bathroom but I can see what people mean when they say the glass shower screen is a little too short for the shower, although it certainly increases the aesthetic appeal of the bathroom and wasn't a problem for either of us.

The facilities in the room and the little extra touches were what really made our stay special. The surround sound system is great, and the sound proofing of the room is impressive as we couldn't hear our neighbours or the busy street outside, despite facing straight onto it (fab views). The digital thermostat was especially appreciated in the middle of winter, as we were able to keep our room toasty and it doesn't go off when you leave as some do, so you don't have to come back to a freezing room. The coffee making facilities were simple and effective, replenished every day. You also get fresh milk in the fridge, much nicer than powder or UHT.

The location of the hotel is perfect for everything - shops, nightlife, restaurants and sights are all within easy walking distance. The hotel bar is fab and The One Below is okay too. We had breakfast on our last day and that was lovely, we had much more that we could actually eat as it was all included and the staff encouraged you to order as much as your allowance permitted (up to £10 worth of food in addition to tea/coffee and juice).

Overall, I have nothing but good things to say about this hotel and it's staff, it really made our stay extra special. Perhaps the best thing I could say to give you an impression of how great we thought this hotel was is, that despite being in a city as interesting as Edinburgh, we struggled to leave our hotel room before 12pm every day and missed it just as much as the city when we left.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

Right at the end of Prince's street, so the ideal location to explore Edinburgh. The staff couldn't be more helpful, and room was spacious with all the little touches there.

Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank carolinebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2010

This is a boutique hotel in the perfect location. It sits between the Old & New Towns at the base of Edinburgh Castle. We could walk everywhere! While the description I read says it's on a busy corner, you don't hear any city noise from the rooms. The rooms are very modern with all the high end amenities you need and want but a bit on the small side- not really an issue since very little time is spent in the room. The bathrooms are large and modern; a luxury after having traveled through the Scotland countryside. The Rutland Bar is a happening place with a cool vibe and a busy after-work crowd. The hotel staff was very helpful and friendly and gave us the award for a group traveling with the most luggage! They promptly helped us carry everything to our rooms. This is the kind of place that is intimate yet modern, friendly and welcoming with a perfect location. A far cry from the chain hotels throughout any city and a place that offers a uniqueness that often makes a vacation!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingwannabe13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,892 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,066 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 151 in Edinburgh
680 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#13 of 151 in Edinburgh
4,006 reviews
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh George Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rutland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rutland Hotel

Address: 1-3 Rutland Street, Edinburgh EH1 2AE, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#9 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#11 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £89 - £350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Rutland Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rutland Hotel is set right in the heart of the city centre at the west end of Princes Street boasting exceptional views of Edinburgh Castle. An elegant boutique hotel with twelve beautifully appointed guest rooms and 9 luxury serviced apartments. 5 are 2-bedroom and 4 are 1-bedroom, 2 with a private garden. Our guests comfort and enjoyment is at the forefront of our minds with Arran Aromatics toiletries and Nespresso coffee machines coupled with little curios and a well-stocked mini bar in every room. The Rutland Hotel is also home to Kyloe Restaurant and Grill - a glorious gourmet steakhouse and The Huxley, a friendly, homely bar serving great burgers & dogs with carefully crafted cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Rutland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rutland Hotel Edinburgh
The Rutland Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing