We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
No. 11 Brunswick Street
Ranked #29 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2011

We stayed here in August of this year. The room was huge and spacious. The area lovely, close to restaurants, etc. Owner was very accomodating and friendly, free WI FI, comfy beds, lovely breakfast....well recommended!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roustabouter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,082)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

962 - 968 of 1,082 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2011

John and Ursula run a lovel guesthouse, and are themselves friendly and helpful. Clan Campbell is very convenient to central Edinburgh (10 minute walk to the Royal Mile), perfect for festival attendees or at other times. Ideal as well because it is in a quiet Georgian street so you get a good nights sleep. Breakfast is great (try the haggis). John recommended a great pizza house for my last night (La Favorita), 5 minutes walk away on the Leith Walk. Worth it just to see the waiting staff at work - a real slice of Italy. Food was excellent. I will be back to Clan Campbell again, next time with my wife.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thughe01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

We stayed here for a weekend in June.
A little quirky, but on the whole a positive experience.
What we loved: The MASSIVE size of the rooms, the GRAND (If a little faded grandeur) feel of the whole place.
We stayed in the family room (because it was the only one left). You could have got an entire Clan in the room, never mind a family.
Beds were good. Massive wooden window shutters, (clearly original as one didn’t shut without falling apart) were impressive. Furniture OK. You could walk out of the windows onto the Balcony outside. Very impressive Balcony / hallway / staircase / rooflight.
Bathroom was OK. It was a shame how the ensuite cut into the grandeur of the room, but obviously the Hotel was designed and built before ensuites were deemed a pre-requisite. (But better this than not have one).
Breakfast had to be ordered the night before on a tick list, which we thought a little unusual. The quantity of the breakfasts were staggering, you would not leave the Hotel hungry. Quality was good.
Overall, we were pleased with the stay, we thought for what we got, and the excellent location, it was good value.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sofyengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
industria, Owner at No. 11 Brunswick Street, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2011

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. As the building was originally a townhouse without bathrooms (1822) and subsequently turned into a hotel- when installing the bathrooms we wanted to be as least as intrusive as possible. What we came up with in the room you were in was the best possible combination in order to retain the full Georgian period features.
We feel that by having the pre-order forms for breakfast -this has led to a better service for our guests. A delicious full cooked breakfast delivered to your table on time- unlike some larger hotels where you get a flustered waitress taking numerous orders, leading to a long wait and probably not the breakfast you ordered.
We look forward to your next visit
John and Ursula.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2011

First time in Scotland for us, got a great taste of Edinburgh staying here. Loved the old building with high ceilings and the vast space of the family room. Proper beds (double & 2 singles) instead of the usual sofa bed kids have to suffer. Loved the breakfasts, really set us up for the long day at the Edinburgh festival. Can't wait for next year!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaggieBee93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2011

We found The Clan Campbell Hotel by pure chance, when hunting for a place to stay in Edinburgh on the Internet. We have now been home less than 24 hours, but we're already looking forward to our next stay. The staff is very friendly, the rooms are comfortable, and the breakfast ... well, you won't need any lunch!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2011

The rooms were huge! The bed extremely comfortable, for a small B&B it had everything we needed or wanted. It is very close to the old town, just a 15 minute walk. It rained all the time we were there and coming from overseas we did not bring umbrellas, but not to worry there was a selection by the front door to use.
For breakfast they asked that you fill out a form the night before as to what you would like. They had lots to select but you could also add "special requests".
That is what I really liked about Clan Campbell, they thought of the little things that would make our stay so pleasant.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elaine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Myself and my husband have stayed at this hotel a number of times and each time have been really impressed. It is an old building and the interior has been decorated sympathetically. We have usually stayed in the very roomy ground floor bedroom behind the lounge / bar area. The bedroom has always been very comfortable and clean over looking the garden.

Breakfast is spot on, a very big and hearty Scottish start to your day. Although I think my eyes were bigger than my belly, but I had to try everything on offer.

I can't wait to go back to this hotel and book one of the family rooms for the kids. The location is just great for the city as its in walking distance and a nice safe part of the city. (BTW, if you want an evening meal in the area, we thought the Ghurka Grill was fantastic)

Well done Clan Campbell !!!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank miacattiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 151 in Edinburgh
373 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#8 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,423 reviews
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#5 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Old Town
The Inn on the Mile
The Inn on the Mile
#13 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,216 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#3 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No. 11 Brunswick Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No. 11 Brunswick Street

Address: 11 Brunswick Street, Edinburgh EH7 5JB, Scotland (Formerly Clan Campbell Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £68 - £254 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — No. 11 Brunswick Street 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the timeless beauty and luxury of No 11 Brunswick Street. Contemporary, modern facilities within an elegant Georgian town house. The 10 individual bedrooms offer designer bathrooms with heated floors, fluffy bathrobes, luxury toiletries and Egyptian cotton bed linen together with sumptuous furniture and fabrics. Within a 12 minute walk from Edinburgh Waverly Station, No 11 provides easy access to Edinburgh’s tourist, cultural and business locations. Eat in at the hotel Brasserie, sample the vast range of restaurants on Leith Walk or fine dine in one of five Michelin starred restaurants within a mile of the hotel. With 24 hr reception we aim to provide welcoming, friendly service and an oasis of relaxed calm for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your No. 11 Brunswick Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
No. 11 Brunswick Street Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing