We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous little restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
No. 11 Brunswick Street
Ranked #35 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Fabulous little restaurant”
Reviewed 17 February 2013

We ate on fri 15th using a itson voucher. £25.00 for a 3 course meal and glass of wine. The menu was small but more than enough to choose from. The prices for bottled wine was very average. The food was nice, although the chef does like to have every meal on the same bed of salad with raw peppers. Unfortunately the only thing that lets this restaurant down is the time it takes for the food to come out the kitchen. We had to skip dessert as we would have been late for the theatre. The staff were extremely helpful and very apologetic for the fact we didnt get dessert. We were given our extra 2 glasses of wine free of charge. Brilliant location. The street lights on brunswick street could do with being brighter, but thats nothing the restaurant can change.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ikklela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    561
    304
    84
    26
    11
See reviews for
118
611
55
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

Well refurbished small boutique town house hotel ideally based for a trip to Edinburgh very close to the play house and not too far from Leith( an area with nice bars and restaurants)
My girlfriend and I had booked into a restaurant in town and had requested lunch on arrival instead of the dinner that came with the DBB rate and this was not a problem
The rooms were comfortable warm and punctual but we were only looking for a base
We would go back again if we needed a room after a night in Edinburgh
the pricing would be on par with a large bedroom factory style hotel but with this hotel you will get better service and better surroundings

Room Tip: Room 10 was a mini suite with under tyle heating and was at the back of the otel so very peacefull
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john7gm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
56 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2013

No 11 is a classy place - calm and subdued décor, well fitted rooms and calm dining room.

Location is an easy 2 minutes off Leith Walk and 10 minute walk off Princes Street. Parking is difficult - free street parking overnight and over the weekend - restricted and £6 per day during the working week.

Street is quiet - our room faced the street and we were not troubled by vehicle noise

Food is simple and good - nothing fancy - but there are a huge number of restaurants within 10-15 minutes walk.

Staff very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are a bit "compact" - double bed smaller than average and limited room for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013 via mobile

Really nice hotel, great appearance from the street and in the entrance hall. Nice warm welcome with the staff offering to carry our luggage to our room. Our room was small but perfect, with lovely decoration. Really well thought out in terms of space and facilities, offering a little bit of luxury...

Nice comfy beds, although the pillows were a little soft. Due to the nature of the building there was quite a bit of noise from the brasserie coming up the stairwell, but it didn't affect our sleep. Be aware though if you are a light sleeper.

Breakfast menu was good and varied, but this is where the hotel is also slightly let down. Not all of the breakfast was as hot as it should have been and we didn't get everything we ordered. Think this was down to just 1 person doing everything from taking orders to preparing the food to serving and cleaning tables. At breakfast on the second day there were more staff but was equally as unorganised as the first day. We did get everything we ordered but again the temperature of the food wasn't very consistent. This for us, let this lovely hotel down slightly...

Check out was equally unorganised and we had to wait a while to checkout, good job we were honest too as they thought we had only stayed just the 1 night not the 2 we had.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

Stayed for one night , 4th Feb 2013. Fantastic hotel. Well appointed rooms, great shower and a very comfortable bed. The dinner was delicious and the food beautifully prepared. The breakfast was great too and set us both up for the day. The staff were wonderful and nothing was too much trouble. If you want to explore Edinburgh or if you are on business then stay here!!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenmad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Stayed here after purchasing a voucher which included meal (with a glass of wine) overnight stay and breakfast.

Hotel was lovely, room was spacious and very comfortable and there were tea and coffee making facilities. We had a bit of a problem getting the temperature of the room to go up but got there in the end. Bathroom was lovely and underfloor heating a bonus!

We had lunch at the hotel which was delicious. Although our meal was pushed back half an hour it was very good and the staff very welcoming and friendly.

It wasn't the best weather so we didn't go out wandering Edinburgh and stayed in the hotel instead relaxing and watching tv, but on nicer day would have been good to do a bit of exploring round about.

There was a book and dvd library for all guests to pick from which was also a nice touch.

A great bargain indeed having bought a voucher and we definitely had our moneys worth!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashlie12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 29 January 2013

Stayed here with my boyfriend last Sunday night, and could not fault a thing! The staff were friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. We upgraded to a Georgian Suite and we were so glad we did! Beautiful room, very impressive. Food lovely too. Will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Room 5 is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missking1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 148 in Edinburgh
301 reviews
New Town
Tigerlily Hotel
Tigerlily Hotel
#17 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,619 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Channings Hotel
#37 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,266 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#21 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No. 11 Brunswick Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No. 11 Brunswick Street

Property: No. 11 Brunswick Street
Address: 11 Brunswick Street, Edinburgh EH7 5JB, Scotland (Formerly Clan Campbell Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — No. 11 Brunswick Street 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the timeless beauty and luxury of No 11 Brunswick Street. Contemporary, modern facilities within an elegant Georgian town house. The 10 individual bedrooms offer designer bathrooms with heated floors, fluffy bathrobes, luxury toiletries and Egyptian cotton bed linen together with sumptuous furniture and fabrics. Within a 12 minute walk from Edinburgh Waverly Station, No 11 provides easy access to Edinburgh’s tourist, cultural and business locations. Eat in at the hotel Brasserie, sample the vast range of restaurants on Leith Walk or fine dine in one of five Michelin starred restaurants within a mile of the hotel. With 24 hr reception we aim to provide welcoming, friendly service and an oasis of relaxed calm for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your No. 11 Brunswick Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
No. 11 Brunswick Street Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing