We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simply Excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of No. 11 Brunswick Street

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
No. 11 Brunswick Street
Ranked #37 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Prestwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Simply Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

We booked this hotel through laterooms.com with a deal for dinner, bed and breakfast at quite short notice as we had tickets for a show. Unfortunately my wife took ill on the morning we were due to travel and we had to rearrange for 2 weeks later - the staff at the hotel could not have been more helpful in altering the date and didnt charge us anything for their hassle.
When we got there the hotel was easy to find with plenty of parking at the front which is free at weekends.
The hotel has recently gone through a modernisation process and it is fantastic. Our double room was large, modern and spotlessly clean - as was the bathroom. There plenty of small classy touches which really make a difference.
Our dinner was excellent with a good choice of all 3 courses, plenty of food on the plate and breakfast was superb as well.
The staff were all amazing, from the wonderfully warm welcome to the chap at dinner who arranged our sweets to be delivered to our room after we returned from our show at 11pm!
Thoroughly recommend this hotel - we will definately be back!

Room Tip: There are a lot of stairs - book the first floor if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

910 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    522
    275
    79
    23
    11
See reviews for
112
555
52
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 February 2013

We stayed for one night following the Rugby International.The room was wonderfully spacious, and luxurious. We would recommend , and will return next time we are in Edinburgh.Our bathroom was spacious, and had twin sinks, and options of two shower heads.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bella6364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2013

Booked for 13th/14th February 2013 using Groupon voucher. Took some time and several calls to actually get a reply and make the booking. When I did get through, the staff member was very helpfull and allowed me to reserve a table on Valentines night instead of the 13th which was part of my deal. This was much appreciated.
On our arrival we received a warm welcome initially. As we booked in, the staff member took a telephone call and remarked to the caller that "Groupon had been the bane of his life for the previous ten days". This sent out a very negative message to us. My point is that if a business wishes to advertise on discount sites to generate cash flow, then they should anticipate a short term spike in trade and appreciate when customers decide to purchase such vouchers rather than bemoaning the fact that it has incresed their workload. The member of staff also remarked that they had only recently employed a chef and that he had been doing the cooking up to that point.
We stayed in a junior suite (room 9) which was absolutely beautiful and felt very luxurious.
Breakfast was freshly prepared and offered a wide range.

Now comes my biggest issue. There were five couples in the brasserie on the 14th. We placed our order and a full one hour later were presented with our main courses. Unfortunately we had not been served our starter. The female waitress was very apologetic and we were given a complimentary bottle of wine which was very generous. Overall the food was fine and could not be faulted. It did concern me that with only 10 diners the kitchen appeared not to cope.
During our wait for our food, a male waiter attempted to open a bottle of wine by screwing the corkscrew through the foil seal on top of the bottle. He was corrected by the female waitress who showed him how to removethe foil before uncorking the bottle.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and thought the building, room, clealiness and facilities to be excellent. What let it down was the obvious training needs with the kitchen and some of the waiting staff. In high season, some of the tarriffs can be up to £350 per night. This cost simply does not equate to the standard of service that was offered. Simply being friendly does not match up to such a price despite the beautiful surroundings hence my title of "could do better".

I am sure that things will improve given time.

Room Tip: Room 9 was rear facing and there was no noise whatsoever. A great nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

We ate on fri 15th using a itson voucher. £25.00 for a 3 course meal and glass of wine. The menu was small but more than enough to choose from. The prices for bottled wine was very average. The food was nice, although the chef does like to have every meal on the same bed of salad with raw peppers. Unfortunately the only thing that lets this restaurant down is the time it takes for the food to come out the kitchen. We had to skip dessert as we would have been late for the theatre. The staff were extremely helpful and very apologetic for the fact we didnt get dessert. We were given our extra 2 glasses of wine free of charge. Brilliant location. The street lights on brunswick street could do with being brighter, but thats nothing the restaurant can change.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank ikklela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bathgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

Well refurbished small boutique town house hotel ideally based for a trip to Edinburgh very close to the play house and not too far from Leith( an area with nice bars and restaurants)
My girlfriend and I had booked into a restaurant in town and had requested lunch on arrival instead of the dinner that came with the DBB rate and this was not a problem
The rooms were comfortable warm and punctual but we were only looking for a base
We would go back again if we needed a room after a night in Edinburgh
the pricing would be on par with a large bedroom factory style hotel but with this hotel you will get better service and better surroundings

Room Tip: Room 10 was a mini suite with under tyle heating and was at the back of the otel so very peacefull
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank john7gm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

No 11 is a classy place - calm and subdued décor, well fitted rooms and calm dining room.

Location is an easy 2 minutes off Leith Walk and 10 minute walk off Princes Street. Parking is difficult - free street parking overnight and over the weekend - restricted and £6 per day during the working week.

Street is quiet - our room faced the street and we were not troubled by vehicle noise

Food is simple and good - nothing fancy - but there are a huge number of restaurants within 10-15 minutes walk.

Staff very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are a bit "compact" - double bed smaller than average and limited room for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2013 via mobile

Really nice hotel, great appearance from the street and in the entrance hall. Nice warm welcome with the staff offering to carry our luggage to our room. Our room was small but perfect, with lovely decoration. Really well thought out in terms of space and facilities, offering a little bit of luxury...

Nice comfy beds, although the pillows were a little soft. Due to the nature of the building there was quite a bit of noise from the brasserie coming up the stairwell, but it didn't affect our sleep. Be aware though if you are a light sleeper.

Breakfast menu was good and varied, but this is where the hotel is also slightly let down. Not all of the breakfast was as hot as it should have been and we didn't get everything we ordered. Think this was down to just 1 person doing everything from taking orders to preparing the food to serving and cleaning tables. At breakfast on the second day there were more staff but was equally as unorganised as the first day. We did get everything we ordered but again the temperature of the food wasn't very consistent. This for us, let this lovely hotel down slightly...

Check out was equally unorganised and we had to wait a while to checkout, good job we were honest too as they thought we had only stayed just the 1 night not the 2 we had.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,250 reviews
New Town
Tigerlily Hotel
Tigerlily Hotel
#23 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#8 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Channings Hotel
#31 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,202 reviews
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#18 of 150 in Edinburgh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No. 11 Brunswick Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No. 11 Brunswick Street

Property: No. 11 Brunswick Street
Address: 11 Brunswick Street, Edinburgh EH7 5JB, Scotland (Formerly Clan Campbell Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — No. 11 Brunswick Street 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the timeless beauty and luxury of No 11 Brunswick Street. Contemporary, modern facilities within an elegant Georgian town house. The 10 individual bedrooms offer designer bathrooms with heated floors, fluffy bathrobes, luxury toiletries and Egyptian cotton bed linen together with sumptuous furniture and fabrics. Within a 12 minute walk from Edinburgh Waverly Station, No 11 provides easy access to Edinburgh’s tourist, cultural and business locations. Eat in at the hotel Brasserie, sample the vast range of restaurants on Leith Walk or fine dine in one of five Michelin starred restaurants within a mile of the hotel. With 24 hr reception we aim to provide welcoming, friendly service and an oasis of relaxed calm for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your No. 11 Brunswick Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
No. 11 Brunswick Street Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing