We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rather disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
No. 11 Brunswick Street
Ranked #35 of 148 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Coupar Angus, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Rather disappointed”
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Had read quite mixed reviews of this hotel so we were cautious about booking but the majority were very positive so we decided to go ahead. Unfortunately we found ourselves in the disappointed camp. We stayed in one of the Georgian suites and do not feel the price reflected the quality. It is described as being designed by an interior designer but we found the battleship grey decor drab and depressing. The paint was peeling from behind the shutters in the bathroom and parts of the tile trim were missing from the splash back behind the wash basins. There were stains on the carpet in the bedroom. The bed was large and comfortable with crisp cotton sheets and there was a nice seating area in front of the TV.. The evening meal was very tasty and service was prompt without rushing us. I agree with other reviewers that the smell of breakfast permeated the hotel in the morning. The orange juice was watery and the preserves were in those little plastics containers you get in department store cafés. The location was fine for walking into the city. We would not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flinttstones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

987 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    561
    304
    85
    26
    11
See reviews for
118
612
55
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunstable, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Stayed here just before Christmas. We booked one of the suites, beautiful four poster bed, free standing bath. All very clean and felt luxurious.
We ate in the restaurant and had the best steak we've ever tasted, it was so good we ordered the exact same meal the following evening before we rushed to catch our flight! Breakfast was good quality meat and vey enjoyable.
Staff were very friendly and eager to help. We actually left a coat behind as we were in a hurry to catch our flight. We phoned the hotel and they very kindly posted it back to us in Bedfordshire, England and would not accept payment to cover the postage. We were very very happy with our stay and would happily visit again and recommend to friends and family visiting Edinburgh.

Room Tip: Suites are beautifully decorated and furnished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Josh K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prestwick, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Poor standard, expected more from it's write up. No apparent senior member of staff, only saw young (part time) possibly students looking after desk and cleaning rooms. Booked studio room for three female friends, only double bed made up had to ask several times for sofa bed to be made up and extra towels, pillows etc for 3. Good location but other hotels would be preferable.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2014 via mobile

Spent New year in Edinburgh stayed at No.11 in one of their Four Poster suites with its luxury bath, worth the money great size room, toilet on the small side so might be a problem for larger person. Great breakfast and always staff in attendance to see to any of your needs. Seen a deal on itson site and rebooked for two days. Some reviews say No.11 is not close to Princes Street not true less that 10 min from all the shops, numerous restaurants in area. You won't be disappointed with your stay

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 363 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We were given an Amazon voucher, as a Christmas gift, for a meal for two at no.11.
We arrived in good time, parking was plentiful, 7 pm in the Evening, and we were met by a very pleasant young blond haired girl who looked after us for most of our visit.
The Menu is not extensive, and we did have a bit of difficulty deciding on a main course, however our choice was made easier with the help of the young lady.
We both had starters, and my soup arrived cold. I told the waitress and it was taken away to return in a few minutes, better, but still not hot, hot. About 5 minutes later on, another guest was returning his soup, for reasons of "it was cold" so you have got to question, if the kitchen cannot even send out hot soup, especially after one being returned, how confident can you be with your meal? Main course was ok, however "exciting or plentiful" would not be two words that would go along with it. Sweet was possibly the best course out of the three, but even I can hardly go wrong with ice cream. Coffee and hand made truffles were offered to finish of our meal..
Overall, The voucher value was for £29, that was probably what the meal was worth. The discount value was £36.80p, and had we been paying the full asking price of £65.80p we would have felt extremely overcharged. Food was very average, service was very pleasant however the overall ambience of the dining room left a lot to be desired, although to be fair, in conversation with the waitress, it was apparent that the décor was in the process of being redone, so an observation, not a complaint.
If you receive/purchase a voucher, then what you pay is about the right price, the full value total, is way above what I would expect to pay for a meal of this quality/standard..
Pleasant experience, but would only return on a voucher deal basis..
As always any questions just write, always happy to help out.

Alistair...

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alistair A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Fantastic deal for overnight stay in the city. Very warm and welcoming staff and good, clean accomodation. Food was excellent and again was accompanied by great service -special thanks to Richard! We had a night out which resulted in a late night but again we received a warm welcome from Mark in the small hours. Shame we missed breakfast but worth enjoying the long lie as the bed was very comfortable with crisp, fresh linen. Perfect cure for January blues!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank twowheels2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dunfermline
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Stayed one night at no 11 through Amazon deal. Had great room in basement which had a little garden outside which was nice. Room and ensuite where fabulous and immaculately clean. We had afternoon tea, dinner and breakfast and all the food was delicious
Staff couldn't have been more helpful and they were so polite. I couldn't find my coupon at first but they looked it all up for me and there was no hassle at all. The hotel is only 5 minutes from John Lewis and the Playhouse so ideally situated. The only small (very small) downside was that you have to pay for parking but in Edinburgh city centre you have to pay anyway and it is cheaper at the hotel. Would definitely recommend and go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank j_gDunfermline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 148 in Edinburgh
301 reviews
New Town
Tigerlily Hotel
Tigerlily Hotel
#17 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,620 reviews
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#13 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Channings Hotel
#37 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,266 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Southside & Holyrood
Edinburgh City Hotel
Edinburgh City Hotel
#21 of 148 in Edinburgh
1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No. 11 Brunswick Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No. 11 Brunswick Street

Property: No. 11 Brunswick Street
Address: 11 Brunswick Street, Edinburgh EH7 5JB, Scotland (Formerly Clan Campbell Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — No. 11 Brunswick Street 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the timeless beauty and luxury of No 11 Brunswick Street. Contemporary, modern facilities within an elegant Georgian town house. The 10 individual bedrooms offer designer bathrooms with heated floors, fluffy bathrobes, luxury toiletries and Egyptian cotton bed linen together with sumptuous furniture and fabrics. Within a 12 minute walk from Edinburgh Waverly Station, No 11 provides easy access to Edinburgh’s tourist, cultural and business locations. Eat in at the hotel Brasserie, sample the vast range of restaurants on Leith Walk or fine dine in one of five Michelin starred restaurants within a mile of the hotel. With 24 hr reception we aim to provide welcoming, friendly service and an oasis of relaxed calm for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Hotel.de so you can book your No. 11 Brunswick Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
No. 11 Brunswick Street Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing