We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely meal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
No. 11 Brunswick Street
Ranked #30 of 151 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We got given a voucher for a 3 course meal plus tea/coffee and truffles.

We both had a lovely meal, my OH had the soup to start and i had beetroot tartatin, then OH had the steak and i had the cod, and he had cranachan and i had the creme brulee, all meals were lovely and decent sized portions. Was a lovely wee restaurant with a nice atmosphere. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank steph0611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,043)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

749 - 755 of 1,043 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2014

I've been here twice to the restaurant, both on voucher deals. One was for anniversary and the food was wonderful, no problems at all with it. Second time was for afternoon tea, it was yummy. The hotel is in a good location quite near the Playhouse and parking outside. The staff are lovely and they don't keep coming to bother you during your meal, they just leave you in peace. I would always advise booking first as each time I've been it was busy. Looking forward to my next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdinburghSharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I was travelling on business and found that the internet was good and the overnight parking outside was very useful. The room was clean and tidy, the staff were all very nice and the breakfast was great.

Ask the owner about the floor in the hallway - really very interesting place!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BashBrannigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We stayed in this hotel and what can I say it was wonderful. Lovely room which was so clean and very spacious. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and couldn't be faulted they were lovely. Breakfast at the hotel was lovely as varied each day. This hotel is in a quiet area but only 10 minute walk from princes street which is very handy! Would recommend this hotel to anyone! 10/10

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caitlin-Ormond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We are regular visitors to Edinburgh to see our children at the University and have stayed in quite a few hotels. We were on the top floor at No. 11 in a (very, very) small double room. Bit of a food smell come breakfast-time, but quite. Comfortable bed and clean enough. Good TV, good wi-fi.

Good location but a change for us as we are usually nearer the University. Most places walkable from here - can recommend Valvona & Crolla's cafe nearby. Plus excellent - if wacky - the Gardener's Cottage just over the road from the hotel. Cumberland Bar excellent.

What let's the hotel down is an obvious intention to save as much money as possible, particularly at breakfast where the cheapest white sliced bread jostled with unbranded sauces, and cheap-rate butter and jam sachets. Cooked food was just about 'OK'. Cheap orange juice, stewed coffee - espresso or special-order coffee an extra. Communal areas are a bit shabby, again, as a result of cost-cutting. Staff OK.

Would not book for 'special occasion' but met our needs. Would avoid restaurant, particularly with good ones so near. Had a bit of a gripe over the bill, as our booking confirmation showed it had been pre-paid when in fact it had not (we are always booking things up months in advance, so had to trawl through the c/c statements). Resolved amicably enough, but beware.

Would not book again, but that's us.

Room Tip: Rooms at back have nice view and generally quiet. Check if some rooms HAVE a view - we could not wor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stevewake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

Couldn't believe we found such a fine boutique hotel, in heart of Edinburgh, at such superb value for money.
As well as the room being great, we found both the level of service and standard of food to be surprisingly high too.
Easy walking distance from playhouse, and Princess st for shopping and tourist attractions etc.
Couldn't fault a thing.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

My husband and I booked this hotel as a central place to stay following a night out in Edinburgh and were totally blown away when we arrived to discover we had been upgraded to a suite! The room was amazing - four poster bed, seating area and loads of space but it really was the bathroom that took our breath away... Arran aromatics toiletries, Roll top bath, double shower and his n her wash hand basins gave the suite a real sense of luxury!

The room was immaculate and the staff were polite and attentive, especially at breakfast the following morning.

Thank you for a stay that exceeded all our expectations.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MChristian23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#5 of 151 in Edinburgh
358 reviews
Broughton & Calton
The Glasshouse, Autograph Collection
Old Town
The Inn on the Mile
The Inn on the Mile
#11 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Dunstane Hotel
The Dunstane Hotel
#9 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,398 reviews
Hotel Ceilidh-Donia
#6 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,013 reviews
New Town
The Royal Scots Club
The Royal Scots Club
#17 of 151 in Edinburgh
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to No. 11 Brunswick Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about No. 11 Brunswick Street

Address: 11 Brunswick Street, Edinburgh EH7 5JB, Scotland (Formerly Clan Campbell Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Price Range: £69 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — No. 11 Brunswick Street 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the timeless beauty and luxury of No 11 Brunswick Street. Contemporary, modern facilities within an elegant Georgian town house. The 10 individual bedrooms offer designer bathrooms with heated floors, fluffy bathrobes, luxury toiletries and Egyptian cotton bed linen together with sumptuous furniture and fabrics. Within a 12 minute walk from Edinburgh Waverly Station, No 11 provides easy access to Edinburgh’s tourist, cultural and business locations. Eat in at the hotel Brasserie, sample the vast range of restaurants on Leith Walk or fine dine in one of five Michelin starred restaurants within a mile of the hotel. With 24 hr reception we aim to provide welcoming, friendly service and an oasis of relaxed calm for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your No. 11 Brunswick Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
No. 11 Brunswick Street Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing