We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ballantrae West End Hotel
Ranked #353 of 394 Edinburgh B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 March 2012

Booked this as a "Crash Pad" for my friends and I. I was a bit disappointed that I could only get 1 key for the room but there was no need to worry because even though I got split up from the rest of the group (They had the key) a member of the hotel staff let me in and was kind enough to let me into my room. The room was dated but the bed was very comfortable.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (174)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 174 reviews

Reviewed 20 December 2011

It seem;s difficult to find a B&B at the last minute in June so we were happy to have booked

Service: good no more. The room was large, clean and quiet. Breakfast: correct.

so my rating will be "good" between average and very good.

but I was not looking for the big hotel but a B&B simple and pleasant, to visit Edinburgh and I have no comparison with others.

15 to 20 minutes to walk to the center (castle).
There is a bus stop from the airport down the

Price : 170£ for 2 nights with breakfast and for two

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cestpasfaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Girls weekend away.
Clean but no frills in the rooms.
Breakfast was ok.
Hotel reception and bar clean tidy, lovely listed building.
A short taxi (if you have heals on) to town. But you can walk it in flats.
Parking the car was a bit of an issue but they did offer us a parking place at their other hotel.
Staff very helpful!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephh91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

OK so we booked on late rooms, but there was extra costs for breakfast, and we were told we'd have to park a mile away in an NCP for £12 a night. The room was at top of steep stairs and while clean the furniture was basic and the shower 'dribbled'. The staff spoke limited english, and strong smells of cooking emanated from the kitched from 7am on Sunday morning, into the bedrooms via the central stairwell. Glad we did the one night only and escaped as early as possible.

Room Tip: not the top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nordicstar284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We paid £291 and stayed in room number 9 which is supposed to be a "junior double"... the room was just big enough to fit a small double bed and that's it... we had an ensuite bathroom. For almost 300 pounds for 2 nights you expect some quality... Did we get any ? NOPE !!!! The bedroom was dirty, dust all over the place. We opened the old wardrobe and we could write our names on the inside , so much dust. The mattress must be at least 10 years old and you can feel every spring in it.... the shower does hardly work, hardly any pressure... after I discussed this, staff promised me to have a look at it... Did they ???? No they didn't.... we needed about 25 minutes to get rid of the soap on our bodies.

Sunday morning, we went for breakfast (continental breakfast)... what a laugh.... We each received 2 slices of toast and that's it. There were 3 cold meats (cheap ham, salami and something else that I didn't recognise), there were little prepacked pieces of cheese. If you were lucky you could find some "un-eadible" dried up croissants.....For a cooked breakfast you had to pay another extra 5£..... The second morning my partner slept a bid longer but went at 9.30 to the dinner room to look for a prepacked waffle but they were cleaning up already and so he couldn't get one anymore...

Checkout time is 11.00.. at 10.30 reception already phoned us to remind us and she told us that if we stayed longer we had to pay extra... UNACCEPTABLE !!!!!!!!

This is just a money squizing machine that loves to ripp-off honest travellers.... AVOID THIS DUMP AT ALL COST !!!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Kris F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2011

Near Haymarket train station. We booked a four bed room that was very big and quite clean with private bathroom with a good view on a garden. The hotel is very quiet even during the day. The staff was very kind and helpful. The city center is 15-20 minutes far from the hotel. There's a free Wi-Fi network but it didn't work in the room, but at the ground floor there's a well furnished hall with armchairs, sofas and bar.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bennywise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Dirty dirty bedroom! Carpet had not been hoovered, heavy curtains were covered in thick dust and cobwebs. The roof had a massive damp patch above the bed with paint and plaster crumbling from it.
We had no option but to stay in that room as hotel was fully booked as was every other hotel we tried to book in to.
The hotel has no lift facility and you are expected to carry your own luggage up several flights of stairs.
The hotel is situated in a quiet leafy neighbourhood overlooking a small park and is also 15 mins walk from Murrayfield and 15 mins walk from the Golden Mile. It has the potential to be a decent hotel if it were given a good scrub!!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OrlaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Broughton & Calton
The Ballantrae Hotel
The Ballantrae Hotel
#134 of 151 in Edinburgh
544 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
Ballantrae Albany Hotel
#127 of 151 in Edinburgh
815 reviews
West End
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Edinburgh City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Edinburgh Marriott Hotel
#89 of 151 in Edinburgh
1,613 reviews
Dakota Edinburgh
#1 of 4 in South Queensferry
2,016 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre Royal Mile
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ballantrae West End Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ballantrae West End Hotel

Address: 6 Grosvenor Crescent, Edinburgh EH12 5EP, Scotland (Formerly Afton Town House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #353 of 394 B&Bs / Inns in Edinburgh
Hotel Class:3 star — Ballantrae West End Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at the centre of Edinburgh, the Ballantrae West End Hotel is ideal for the festival, Edinburgh Tattoo, world heritage attractions, and only a few minutes walk from Princes Street, Haymarket Station, the International Conference Centre, and the financial district. Centrally located, in an elegant west end crescent, we are a small (eleven bedroom) family run hotel, able to offer you a friendly personal service, with an emphasis on traditional hospitality. There is also a comfortable residents' bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Ballantrae West End Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ballantrae West End Hotel Edinburgh, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing